Help : Win 98 + good, simple firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by doctormac, Aug 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. doctormac

doctormac Registered Member

Dear Folks

As most of you are the experts in security software, I'm coming to you to ask for your advice.

I'm running Windows 98se, therefore the well-known free firewalls like Comodo, PC Tools Firewall, Ashampoo and Online Armor won't work for me.

Up to now, I've been using the Kerio 2.1.5 firewall (which, by the way, is exactly the same as the Tiny firewall) However, I'm reading that there are now better firewalls to be had.

I did install NetVeda but have no idea how to configure it (I'm not a computer expert) so would appreciate something more suited to my (limited) intelligence!

SO ... what I'm looking for is a FREE firewall that offers pretty decent security, runs on Win98se, and above all is VERY simple to configure.

I'd really appreciate your help and suggestions.

Thanks folks.

Dr. Mac

2. doktornotor

doktornotor Registered Member

Kerio 2.1.5. Jetico Personal Firewall v.1 still works on W98 but definitely isn't very simple. Honestly I'd suggest to install Linux on such old boxes, W98 has vulnerabilities that no firewall will fix.

3. Fajo

Fajo Registered Member

Vulnerabilities that are no longer exploited eather as everyone now days codes for the NT OS.

you could also look at old versions of Zone Alarm I recall them running light on 98 and are easy to configure. I'm not sure if OA or Comodo works on 98 but might be worth a look.

4. twl845

twl845 Registered Member

It might be easier to drop $100 for the XP upgrade, and possibly add some RAM. Or this could be a good excuse to get a new computer. A decent one is about $700 these days. :D

5. Sully

Sully Registered Member

If I remember right, and this may not be the case, the original Outpost v1 Free was for 9x. It is still a good basic firewall IMO.

Sul.

6. YODA

YODA Registered Member