Help: USB Wireless Adapter problem

Discussion in 'hardware' started by fce, Jun 1, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fce

    fce Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Posts:
    758
    i have a problem with USB wireless adapter (i think the brand is linksys).

    my friends house have two PC. I configure their wireless router to have password. The problem is after i change the set up of wireless router, the other PC with USB wireless adapter cannot connect to the main router after i change the setup by putting password.

    Initially it can connect when the main router have no password, but after i put a password it cannot connect. I uninstalled the USB wireless adapter and install it again, same problem.

    I remove the password on the main router, but the same proble it cannot connect to the main router.

    any body have idea how i can fix the problem?
     
  2. FiOS Dan

    FiOS Dan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Posts:
    86
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Do you mean a password to access the router settings or a password for the wireless access point? If you mean the latter, then you have to enter that password into the settings of the USB wirless adapter.
     
  3. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    This from the Linksys site is for XP, but there's also a "how-to" link for Vista users in the 2nd note at the top.

    philby
     
  4. tipstir

    tipstir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    SFL, USA
    Every time you change the password in the router you have to change it in the wireless laptop otherwise you won't be able to logon to the wireless network. USB WNIC are kind of trouble prone because if it doesn't have a vent for heat to escape then it will overheat.
     
  5. fce

    fce Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Posts:
    758
    the problem is i can't find the wireless network (main router) when i try it on the other computer the one with USB wireless adapter.
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2009
  6. FiOS Dan

    FiOS Dan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Posts:
    86
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Uh oh...that has nothing to do with passwords. When you right-click on the systray icon for your wireless adapter and then click on "View Available Wireless Networks" you do not see your own router? o_O
     
  7. fce

    fce Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Posts:
    758

    yes thats right. But it was happen when i changed the main router password, after that i can't see any "view available wireless networks" on the other PC with USB Wireless Adapter.

    thats why i uninstall and reinstall the USB adapter software....same problem.
     
  8. FiOS Dan

    FiOS Dan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Posts:
    86
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Is "Broadcast SSID" enabled in your router settings?
     
  9. fce

    fce Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Posts:
    758
    yes. before i change the password setting the other PC (with USB Wireless Adapter) CAN connect to the main router.
     
  10. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Assuming the brand is Linksys (you really need to know this), then it could be that Windows is not throwing up any networks because you have Linksys s/w that does the job instead.

    Take a look here and check if the Linksys Wireless Network Monitor is on the machine.

    philby
     
  11. fce

    fce Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Posts:
    758
    yes it linksys because the image on your link is the same when i check the PC with USB wireless adapter.....

    were getting nearer :D
     
  12. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Is the SSID presenting itself here?

    Capture.JPG
     
  13. fce

    fce Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Posts:
    758
    yes, the SSID is almost the same showing on the image (but with different SSID name for main router), but when i try to connet, it won't connect with error message (i forgot the error message).
    also there's another icon for network (for XP windows network?)....do i need to disable it so that the linksys USB wireless adapter will work or it doesnt matter?
     
  14. FiOS Dan

    FiOS Dan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Posts:
    86
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, CA
    What happens if you highlight the entry for your router on that screen and click "Connect"?
     
  15. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    OK, now we're back to what you originally said about a "password" and what the other posters asked regarding what you meant by that...

    What happens if you hit "connect" for the relevant SSID?

    Are you asked for a WEP/WPA/WPA2 key?
     
  16. fce

    fce Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Posts:
    758

    i forgot the error message (almost a month now). but when i google the error message when i repairing the connection problem that time, the solution it says in one of the forum (i forget also the forum link) is to uninstall/reinstall the USB wireless adapter software which i did but with no luck.
     
  17. fce

    fce Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Posts:
    758
    i also forget, but i think NOT. i got an error message when i hit "connect".

    btw on the link you posted, where i can get the WEP Key 1, is that a default value or i need to get that on Main Router info?
     
  18. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    I'm not sure I can go much further then...

    You should be able to just hit "connect" and input the security key if your network adaptor is installed and working correctly (check under device manager).

    Hope you get this resolved - at least now you know why Windows wasn't detecting the SSID.

    philby
     
  19. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Sorry...we crossed.

    If you are not asked for any key, then your friend's router hasn't been secured.

    If you are asked for a key, then (s)he should know what it is.


    Without knowing the exact error message, I'm afraid I'm out of ideas...

    philby
     
  20. FiOS Dan

    FiOS Dan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Posts:
    86
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, CA
    :doubt: ...frustrating lack of information.
     
  21. fce

    fce Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Posts:
    758
    tomorrow i'll post the error message....thanks guys!
     
  22. fce

    fce Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Posts:
    758
    i asked my friend to connect using the step-by-step procudure posted by philby. but its different error message now compare when i do the connection, i remember there is E001 error message (?) but not sure the exact error message.

    anyway, he email me this error message...

    " Cannot associate with the access point "

    "You are connected to the access point, but the internet cannot be found"
     
  23. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    I'll say.

    fce - you need to get serious about getting the needed information explicitly stated if you want to have any chance of success.

    You need to provide a precise statement of all the hardware involved and how it is configured. Do not skip any details. Start at the modem and move back.

    On password vs WEP/WPA/WPA2 - you need to know, not think - which is it?

    What is the complete set-up? Is the wireless unit being used as a router or a simple access point?

    Did you change any other settings (examples might be MAC filtering, static vs dynamic addressing, etc.).

    What addresses show up on the adapter cards if you examine their properties (or do a simple command line ipconfig/all)?

    You need to stop this piecemeal game of 20 questions and do a comprehensive information dump taking into account this and previous posts. Then we might have a shot at helping you, otherwise there's simply not enough firm information on the table to really even start. Screenshots help - block out private info as needed.

    Blue
     
  24. fce

    fce Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Posts:
    758
    i'm serious of fixing this problem, i'm not wasting my time just to post this thread here. It's just I really don't know
    what to do or what to ask a question to find what are the problem. Now, some of
    the member posted some question/answer it give me an idea what to ask or perform next time
    when i visit my friends house.

    this is the problem Blue thats why i'm posting this thread, i dont know what configuration i need to know and how to get
    that configuration so that i can give you enough information to help me.

    i disable the Main Router password since the USB wireless adapter can't connect....initially i
    set up WEP, but since the USB wireless adapter cannot connect to Main router i disable the main
    router password....now there's no password but still the USB adapter cannot connect to main router.


    the Main Router is used by another PC which the USB wireless Adapter is connected.
    I dont know what simple access point means, my freinds house have 2pc. One is use by his father (Main router) and the other one is on my friends room (the one with USB wireless adapter)

    No.

    I'll try this next time when i visit my friends house.

    Blue, if i'm knowledgable on this matter I wont ask this question here and waisted your time and my time.

    Thank you for your time though.
     
  25. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Hello again

    Reading the above, I'm still not sure I understand your set-up.

    It might be similar to mine - I have a router that 2 machines go through for internet access and file sharing.

    Have you tried resetting the router to default and starting again?

    I don't know about Linksys devices, but with my Netgear I just use a pen to press a little recessed button on the router.

    You could then try to connect to the (unsecured) network on both machines before setting up security again.

    philby
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.