help this cant be good

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by Mr.Blaze, Jul 1, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    hmmmm im not sure but i reconfig tds cause i think i saw more optiond and well look.


    that cant be good it saying files dont exsist


    [Blaze - I edited out your IP from the Image - Dan]
     

    Attached Files:

  2. bibbe

    bibbe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Posts:
    86
    Location:
    Sweden
    Same thing happened to me

    bibbe
     
  3. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    but those files do exsit just not in that folder

    Windows Task Switcher TASKMAN C:\WINDOWS
     
  4. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Just tried the CRC scan on mine: XP Pro.

    19:08:45 [CRC32] Started - verifying 29 files ...
    19:08:45 [CRC32] File doesn't exist: C:\autoexec.bat
    19:08:46 [CRC32] Test finished.

    Yes, the second line is correct there is no aoutoexec.bat used in XP just a 0 byte entry.

    Bibbe are you running W98 or WME?
     
  5. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    im runing win me is this normal or is tds missing the files on scan looks like it looking in the wrong places
     
  6. bibbe

    bibbe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Posts:
    86
    Location:
    Sweden
    Yes Pilli I am running ME, but I had no problems with the old version

    bibbe
     
  7. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    OK, Blaze can you edit your pictures IP addy out please. I have to go out and don't have time.

    I am wondering if it is a W98 / WME thingy?

    Must fly ....
     
  8. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Try to locate the files on your system.
    Then in TDS > Edit Fiels > CRCfiles.txt correct the path to the files; as you can see in FanJ's instruction in the stickies about CRC you can add more files at wish to be controlled.
    http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=7200
    So don't worry yet.
    HTH
     
  9. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Hi folks,

    Due to my birthday (see here ) I didn't look into this one nor installed the new TDS-3 at the moment.
    But I was just going to post about that it might be a good idea to backup your crcfiles.txt just in case....

    I apologize to you all for not getting earlier at this issue.
    I guess I will install the new TDS-3 in one of the following days; again: I'm really sorry to you all that I didn't look at it earlier :oops:

    I myself will backup my whole TDS-3 dir before installing the new version.

    Regards, Jan.
     
  10. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    :D hi budy will thx to your crc postings i think i fixed ir

    looks like for my windows me
    ; System files list for CRC32 testing
    %WINDIR%\win.ini
    %WINDIR%\system.ini
    %WINDIR%\explorer.exe
    %WINDIR%\regedit.exe
    %WINDIR%\taskman.exe
    %WINDIR%\NETSTAT.exe
    %WINDIR%\DRWATSON.exe
    %WINDIR%\rundll32.exe
    %WINSYSDIR%\systray.exe
    %WINDIR%\taskman.exe
    %WINSYSDIR%\icmp.dll
    %WINSYSDIR%\regsvr32.exe
    %WINSYSDIR%\netapi.dll
    %WINSYSDIR%\ntdll.dll
    %WINSYSDIR%\wininet.dll
    %WINDIR%\winsock.dll
    %WINSYSDIR%\wsock32.dll
    %WINSYSDIR%\ws2_32.dll
    %WINSYSDIR%\shell.dll
    %WINSYSDIR%\shell32.dll
    %TDSDIR%\tds-3.exe

    that what crc file should look like

    if there stuff missing here a short explanation

    16:14:16 [CRC32] Started - verifying 29 files ...
    16:14:17 [CRC32] File doesn't exist: C:\autoexec.bat imposiable to correct
    16:14:18 [CRC32] File doesn't exist: C:\WINDOWS\System\cmd.exe x does not exsit on win me but there are other files that end with cmd but no cmd.exe
    16:14:18 [CRC32] File doesn't exist: C:\WINDOWS\System\netstat.exe x %WINDIR%\ change directory %WINDIR% instead of %winsysdir%
    16:14:19 [CRC32] File doesn't exist: C:\WINDOWS\System\drwatson.exe x %WINDIR%\ change directory %WINDIR% instead of %winsysdir%
    16:14:19 [CRC32] File doesn't exist: C:\WINDOWS\System\drwtsn32.exe x- does not exsit on win me
    16:14:20 [CRC32] File doesn't exist: C:\WINDOWS\System\rundll32.exe x %WINDIR%\ change directory %WINDIR% instead of %winsysdir%
    16:14:20 [CRC32] File doesn't exist: C:\WINDOWS\System\sysedit.exe x- does not exsit on win me
    16:14:21 [CRC32] File doesn't exist: C:\WINDOWS\System\taskman.exe x %WINDIR%\ change directory %WINDIR% instead of %winsysdir%
    16:14:21 [CRC32] File doesn't exist: C:\WINDOWS\System\taskmgr.exe x- does not exsit on win me
    16:14:22 [CRC32] File doesn't exist: C:\WINDOWS\System\winlogon.exe x- does not exsit on win me
    16:14:22 [CRC32] File doesn't exist: C:\WINDOWS\System\regedt32.exe x- does not exsit on win me
    16:14:23 [CRC32] File doesn't exist: C:\WINDOWS\System\netmsg.dll x- does not exsit on win me
    16:14:24 [CRC32] File doesn't exist: C:\WINDOWS\System\winsock.dll x %WINDIR%\ change directory %WINDIR% instead of %winsysdir%
    16:14:25 [CRC32] Test finished.
     
  11. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,875
    Location:
    New England
    I think a quote from Charles Dickens - "A Christmas Carol" explains this the best:

    "It's only once a year, sir. It shall not be repeated. I was making rather merry yesterday..."

    :D
     
  12. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Heya Blaze, buddy,

    Well, with a combined effort, combined with the always very much helpfull guys of DiamondCS, we'll get it all sorted out quickly :)

    Cheers, Jan.
     
  13. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    :D

    Wayne and me should get an agreement:
    never publish an upgrade around the end of June :D :D ;) :)
     
  14. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,875
    Location:
    New England
  15. Gavin - DiamondCS

    Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Yep customising the crcfiles.txt is the thing to do, we might script TDS-4 to generate a list based on your OS instead first time you run TDS-4.. shouldn't be hard :)

    Happy Birthday to Jan ! :D
     
  16. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    :Dwill yeah thats all good but most newbs wil scratch there head now in the old tds i didnt have that prob

    about the only thing im concern with is
    CRC32] File doesn't exist: C:\autoexec.bat imposiable to correct at all and it does indeed exsist where it says it does

    but no mater what you do it wont locate it

    you will always get this CRC32] File doesn't exist
     
  17. teachypeachy

    teachypeachy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Posts:
    30
    Hello,
    I am having so much trouble here. I just posted a message on the Worm and Visrus board and this is also one of the things I speack of that happened to me.
    When I ran TDS3 it showed that my files were missing also. Just like what was shown on your post.
    I need help because I read all of the replies to this message. But I haven't a clue at to what you all are talking about and how to fix my problems. Please see my other post on the Worms and Virus board. Hopefully someone can help me! :oops: :'(
     
  18. Dan Perez

    Dan Perez Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    1,495
    Location:
    Sunny San Diego
  19. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Hi Teachypeachy, welcome!
    Let's first help with the general parts in the other thread Dan posted above, after we can go back to TDS here, to avoid double postings and confusion!
    If you like to look at TDS, you have here on top of the TDS forum a nice thread about a basic configuration, with screenshots to look step by step.
    For the scanning part i would in this case check every available option and the worm slider on highest sensitivity. TDS > System Testing > Scan Control .
    Before you actually scan, make sure you get the most recent update from the TDS site,
    http://tds.diamondcs.com.au/radius.td3 and just drop that file in your TDS directory, and (re)start TDS to do your full system scan. Possible alerts from that we would like to see here:
    if there are alerts in the bottom console, (alerts window) right-click one of them and save to text. This is saved to the Scandump.txt file in the TDS directory, so you can easy find and copy it here.
    Be aware TDS is for trojans and worms, so don't expect it to find viruses.


    For the missing files i guess you mean the CRC scan, which might be just pathnames you can change manually if you locate the place of the missing files on your system. MrBlaze posted some about files on an ME system.
    This moment i would concentrate on the possible alerts from your scan and on what is asked in the other thread.
    From there we go further first to have your system clean!
     
  20. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    hi teachypeachy i can help you out if you have windows me i dont know about xp or win 2000 but it you have same operating system ill show you step by step how to fix yours

    its actualy perty easy all that it is really is copy and paste

    so ill do a little tutorial on how you can fix it if you have windows me

    ill also use spell check on my peply so you can read it clearly cause my spelling sucks lol
     
  21. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Ho Blazey, it is win98se which doesn't differ too much from the ME system.
    You mean for the CRC part.
    Dan is on it in the other thread to first identify the system and what's running and missing, if necessary do more cleaning, after rebuilding and configuration of the programs, so there is still some to do.

    And she's on a HP system, i read recently before doing file updates (windows, IE, etc) one needs a special patch from the HP site, not sure if that is for all windows version on HP or maybe only XP for example.
     
  22. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    :Douch lol i hate complicated lol i have enough grey hairs from stress lol i wonder how much grey you guys got from one seesion with me lol.

    i go all natural

    i prsonaly like loreal paris
    feria multi faceted shimmeringb colour 21
    to keep my natural look lol :D
     
  23. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    We're all BALD blazey!
     
  24. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    :D lol i wasnt bald eccept my newb pic with the evill inside lol

    if i ever go bald im make sure im buff so i look like Mr.clean with a hoop earing lol
     
  25. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    So your smiley is your own portrait!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.