[Help] Spyshelter kill my IE

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by molhopicante, Jun 28, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. molhopicante

    molhopicante Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    112
    I instaled the trial version of spyshelter premium.

    After restart the computer, i was unable to start IE.

    I unistaled spyshelter but the problem remains.

    I need help to solve this problem.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    describe a bit more what happens. Are there any other issues you noticed?
     
  3. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Did you try system restore?
     
  4. molhopicante

    molhopicante Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    112
    Hi.

    Thank you for your answers.

    Unfortunately i have the system restore disabled. :oops:

    I'm using Windows XP and KIS + SAS for security.

    The only thing i did after installing SS was tried to start IE.

    As I could not start IE, immediately uninstaled SS and tested IE again.

    It was a matter of minutes.
     
  5. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Do you have any other browsers on the computer?
     
  6. molhopicante

    molhopicante Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    112
    No but i can install it if was necessary.

    Now i'm using my laptop.

     
  7. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,301
    Location:
    England
    Did SS give a popup when you first tried to use IE?

    Have you had a look in your Windows Event Viewer to see if anything is listed there?
     
  8. molhopicante

    molhopicante Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    112
    No.

    I didn't any popup.

    I can't see anything about IE in Windows event viewer.

    Now i will install SS in my laptop an see if there is some problem or not.

    I'm using Vista in my laptop.
     
  9. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.

    Before you install it do a restore point in case the same thing happens.
     
  10. molhopicante

    molhopicante Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    112
    Thank You.

    I did it.

    SS working great in my laptop with vista. (untill now...)


     
  11. mrgigabyte

    mrgigabyte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Posts:
    125
    i have the paid version
    after reading this i figure i would try opening ie since most of the time i use firefox and have not had any problems
    everything is ok with my machine i open ie and spyshelter had the popup for ie and i hit the allow button and remember my answer
    maybe you answer something with a deny if i am not sure on the answer i hit the details to see more on how to answer hope that helps you
     
  12. molhopicante

    molhopicante Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    112
    Reinstaled SS again in my desktop and now he give me the popup:

    "Windows cannot access the specified device, path, or file. You may not have the appropriate permissions to access the item."

    (Translated from my language).

    In my laptop SS works without problems.
     
  13. molhopicante

    molhopicante Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    112
    Problem solved.

    I don't know why but when i installed SS, somehow, something happened with KIS.

    Disabling KIS protection, IE works again.

    As my KIS licence expires next month an i'm not very satisfied with him, i uninstalled KIS and instaled a ESET-SS trial and next month i will buy 2 licenses.

    I will buy 2 SS licences to, because i feel they complement ESET and i was testing it all day in my laptop and i liked a lot.

    I'm feeling more protected.

    So i will have ESET+SS+MBAM+SAS running.

    Do you think i have to much security programs running i my PC?

    Thanks again to all.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.