help pls, am i infected?

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by zombix, May 21, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zombix

    zombix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Posts:
    24
    I was watching a live stream for diablo 3 and i was attacked by 2 forms of malware one being a trojan.

    Im using eset smart security 5 and did a smart scan immediately and the scan found no threats. I deleted the malware from quarantine, then booted into sysrescue 5 and did a smart scan and no threats were detected.

    So should i be worried? Is it still possible that my pc could still be infected?

    thx
     
  2. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,953
    Location:
    USA
    It sounds like Eset did its job, but i'm sure Eset staff will be by soon to assist you. You could try using some additional on-demand scanners such as Hitman Pro, and Malwarebytes to see if they find anything while you wait.
     
  3. zombix

    zombix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Posts:
    24
    Ok right when i clicked on this post to read it iexplorer crashed and there was a white page with red x saying that internet explorer was protecting my pc from malware...
     
  4. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Also check your running processes and see if anything is running that dont belong and did you run the system inspector of ESS.
     
  5. zombix

    zombix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Posts:
    24
    i ran fullscan malwarebytes and it found nothing.... i ran sysinspector and there is nothing listed....
     
  6. zombix

    zombix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Posts:
    24
    ok i ran sysinspector and there is one process that is maroon deep red. what should i do about it it says risky?
     
  7. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,953
    Location:
    USA
    Run Hitman Pro to, and see if it finds anything. Malwarebytes is great, but its strength is in targeting a specific category of malware. Hitman Pro scans for a broad range of malware.
     
  8. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Can you kill that process off from running and does it show where its directory is located.Also what cutting Edgetech said about Hitman Pro. Its sounds like ESET did most of its job but perhaps something slipped past and is pretty common for any 1 security app to single hand tackel all the nasties.After you get it solved, I would just suggest a layered defense and a good software Image program to recover.

    ESET may further assist you and may want to see the sysinspector log.
     
  9. dwomack

    dwomack Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Posts:
    588
    Agreed. If you're still having issues, it would definitely help to Submit a Support Request with us and include a SysInspector Log in your request.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.