Help on wireless encryption

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by adrianyujs, Dec 29, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. adrianyujs

    adrianyujs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Posts:
    138
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    Hi! I currently purchase Aztech DSL600EW and I don't know what is the password to connect to the modem? Can sombody help me?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Arup

    Arup Guest

    Modems are usually shipped with the default of admin:admin as login and password which you should change as soon as you can get into the modem admin.
     
  3. adrianyujs

    adrianyujs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Posts:
    138
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    No!!! Please see the picture. I can log in to the modem, but i want to connect to wireless modem, but need password, i don't the encryption password, even i insert "6c 51 e7 92 2c 01 f9 b5 66 3a 34 d2 f0" as password, but wrong.
     
  4. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Have you completed all the setup required on the modem/router?
    Have you configured the client properly?

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
  5. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    The password should be optional. All you should need is the encryption key on both ends, on the wireless end and also on the router end.
     
  6. adrianyujs

    adrianyujs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Posts:
    138
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    Yes, all setup properly already.
     
  7. adrianyujs

    adrianyujs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Posts:
    138
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    But if i use 64bit and password is "hello" and it can be connected to wireless. But if i use 128bit, i can't change to encrypt to hello and the key is ASCII, so, i think 128bit is "e4 fd hb sc da ga" and what is the word?
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    You can't use "hello" for the encryption key. Look at the screen. It tells you you need a 10 digit hex key for 64 bit, and a longer one (26) for 128 bit and so on. "hello" won't work. Just follow the example on the screen. This is not a password, but a hex encryption key. Two different things..
     
  9. adrianyujs

    adrianyujs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Posts:
    138
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    I tried, "hello" word can be use, and when i connect to wireless using "hello" as password, its connect successfully. But for 128bit, in Hex, can't be connect. Any software that i can convert Hex to word?
     
  10. adrianyujs

    adrianyujs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Posts:
    138
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
  11. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    Hmmm, ok, for 128 bit how about trying a 13 letter word. Might work.. Otherwise I have no idea...
     
  12. adrianyujs

    adrianyujs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Posts:
    138
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    Cannot, it give this message: Invalid WEP Key 0 ...Reverting to previous configuration
     
  13. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    Ok, then all that's left is a 26 digit hex code. Make one up. Something like:

    AA AE 1D AB 1B 2E 2D and so on till you hit 26 characters. Or find an online conversion utility and have it convert some 13 character word to hex for you. Then input it on both ends..
     
  14. adrianyujs

    adrianyujs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Posts:
    138
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
  15. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    The clients do not support 128 bit WEP? Have you checked for updated drivers?

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
  16. adrianyujs

    adrianyujs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Posts:
    138
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    I'm using laptop, Acer TraverMate 290 and the driver is updated already, it is built in wifi.
     
  17. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    What encryption options does the laptop have?

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
  18. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    Try putting a 13 character word in there again for the 128 bit key, but also click the little box on the right beside it that says ASCII. See if that works.
     
  19. adrianyujs

    adrianyujs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Posts:
    138
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    It can be done, can be connected, but what i want is the Hex, how to find the password?
     
  20. adrianyujs

    adrianyujs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Posts:
    138
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    Problem solved, i email to Aztech, and they give this message to me: Make sure during the time when you enter your WEP encryption key on your wireless card, you don't include the <space> in between the WEP keys.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.