help needed...

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by scaredsh!tle55, Mar 30, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. (hope this is right forum 4 this?) have always used dial-up n no probs w/most firewall configs. trying dsl now, n can't connect w/norton, sygate n mcafee(NOT at the same time of course) ! have tried 2 allow the dsl app, but doesn't seem 2 show the right 1 ? NOTE-i have NO trusted apps(though i tried 2 allow the dsl) 2 access the net. is there a combo of apps i need 2 allow 4 this? the only way i can get online is 2 disable firewall ! VERY counterproductive! any help is greatly appreciated(please reply in "idiots english" 4 me, as i am not a techie!)!
    TIA

2. Pieter_Arntz

Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

Could you tell us a little more about the way you set up the connection?
    Are you connecting through an external modem ?
    Did you make new rules or are you applying the same ones as for dial-up?
    What OS are you using?
    Anything you feel that it might be related could help.

Regards,

Pieter

3. using XP-home. tried mcafee, norton, sygate(which all worked fine w/dial-up). tried creating rules(including allowing "all" !). nothing. sorry i didn't reply sooner, had 2 reinstall OS w/factory supplied "ghost"disk, just 2 get back online! hope u can help? thanx in advnance.

4. Pieter_Arntz

Hi scared,

Did you disable the XP firewall?
    Rightclick the connection icon > Properties > Tab Advanced > Uncheck Firewall

HTH,

Pieter

5. root

root Registered Member

Hi. Since you reinstalled the image, have you installed another firewall yet?
    Please keep in mind, only one firewall INSTALLED on a machine at a time. If there were any other firewalls installed before, you need to make sure they have been completely removed and the registry cleaned if you know how to use jv16 power tools or something like that.