Help needed analyzing WireShark capture file

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by rookiez, Jun 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rookiez

rookiez Registered Member

Hi,

I would appreciate it if someone could help me analyze a capture file that I saved with WireShark.

Lately, our throughput has dropped from our backup server. We have a separate network team that manages Cisco switches and routers. They claim that utilization is low on the switches, but they see packets being dropped or lost. They claim it's the server.

I have done everything possible on this backup server which is running a HP DL380 hardware. I have upgraded firmware, drivers, NICs, etc. I have installed wireshark and used the Expert Info feature. The Expert Info feature shows that I have been getting a lot of bad tcp checksums, TCP duplicate ACKs, TCP previous segment lost, TCP out of order, and TCP fast retransmission.

I have no experience with WireShark and unfortunately our network team can't interpret the capture file. Can somone please assist and provide advice as to what may be the cause of the problem and the reason in dropped throughput.

Thanks in advance for any advice that can be provided.

Attached Files:

• 1.JPG
      1.JPG
      File size:
      130 KB
      Views:
  2. Mrkvonic

Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

Hello,

Could you please tell us what the layout of the network is?

LAN?
    What OS?
    Does it have a DHCP / DNS server?
    Did you introduce anything new to the network lately?
    Do you have firewalls controlling the network traffic?
    Do you use any traffic shaping software?
    What is the size of the MTU?

Could you please check the routes from and to the backup server?
    Could you please ping / traceroute the backup server?
    What is the Metric of your routes to the server?
    Does the problem occur equally for every host trying to access the server?

Do you have access to any Linux terminal?