Help, I've Got Google Paranoia

Discussion in 'privacy general' started by Brandonn2010, Feb 21, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,849
    It could be my neurotic-ness, but most likely it's the articles about Google circumventing privacy features in Safari and now IE. I want to know if there is a way I can use Google's search engine, without them saving my IP, etc.

    Also, we have Comcast and a router that uses NAT I believe, so does the IP recording even matter?
     
  2. marktor

    marktor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Posts:
    143
    Use Google Search without IP logging at this website
    https://www.startingpage.com/


    And being behind a router does nothing to protect your online identity. Your IP address is your identity online. So to answer your question. Yes it matters.
     
  3. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    If you're on Firefox you can activate DoNotTrack and also install AdBlock Plus, which has an implementation of DoNoTrack. If you're on Chrome just use ABP.

    You should also block 3rd party cookies. There should be a setting in your browser for that.

    If you can use something like NoScript or ScriptNo just blacklist the Google adsense and tracking stuff. I use ScriptNo to block social widgets like "like" and "+1" things that track users.
     
  4. Pinga

    Pinga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Posts:
    1,420
    Location:
    Europe
  5. pandorax

    pandorax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Posts:
    330
    Use Google Chrome. There will be no paranoia anymore :D
     
  6. Palancar

    Palancar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Posts:
    1,594
    All of the suggestions above are a help to you.

    Personally I hate data collection from my web surfing. I am one of those that assign great merit to using a VPN for all my surfing. They are cheap or free and then google never sees your IP, and in fact your ISP doesn't see where you surf so they can't collect a database on your habits either. They only see you connect to a VPN and then you are gone from their view. By moving among VPN servers you don't really create anything useful for google and the many others out collecting stuff on you.

    I do the above for privacy and not security. There is some security added too, but its mostly about privacy since I am not doing anything online I am worried about.
     
  7. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,849
    I should have mentioned I use Chrome and want to stay with it. I already adjusted its settings as instructed earlier. I already use AdBlock PLUS with Fanboy's list, EasyList, and malwaredomainslist. I just added Disconnect, but what exactly does it do? Would it be safe to use Google search now? I've tried Startpage but the results aren't the same as Google's.
     
  8. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
  9. Warlockz

    Warlockz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Posts:
    642
    If you dont want anyone to log your real ip your going to have to use a VPN or a proxy, you need a VPN though if you dont want your ISP to see or log your traffic.

    Startpage does not record your ip or search history so you may benefit from that? but when you click on the site your going to visit it is clear as day to your isp unless your using a good VPN which encrypts domain names ect.

    Google Chrome has many privacy issues, they have built in trackers in their browser, just like their retarded Toolbar, Google Chrome is from Google so your Google Browser is going to make Google Money from all the data they collect about you. their are alternatives like IRON that leaves out all the tracking bullcrap that is included in Google Chrome. but if your using a VPN none of that would really matter unless your visiting sites like facebook which has your real name all over it.

    If you use comcast you might want to go into your comcast settings and unclick domain helper, then use another DNS Service provider like OpenDNS NortonDNS, or ComodoDNS ect.
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2012
  10. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,849
    @Hungry Man - Won't HTTPS Everywhere keep my antivirus from scanning the web, or will it still stop malware once it tries to get on my PC?

    @Warlockz - I don't want Google to track my IP, but any additional privacy measures are good. Also, is there an add-on that would let me use a proxy? What's a good proxy to use? Plus, I already set up Norton DNS in our router months ago.
     
  11. JimboW

    JimboW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Posts:
    209
    I think the best you can do if you use chrome and want to use Google to search is search using https://encrypted.google.com, Use Fanboys Enhanced tracking list to take care of Doubleclick and Google Analytics etc. and you could even block Google cookies from being set by adding [*.]google.com to “manage exceptions” and setting it to block. As well as what’s already been suggested, HTTPS Everywhere and blocking 3rd party cookies. I’d even untick the other things under the privacy settings except malware and phishing protection.
     
  12. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    Your AV should still work fine.
     
  13. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,849
    Ok. It sounds like I'm set then. Thank you all.

    However, I believe the HTTPS Everywhere is slowing my page loading speeds noticeably.
     
  14. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    HTTPS shouldn't slow things down too much.
     
  15. Warlockz

    Warlockz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Posts:
    642
    I don't use Google Chrome but I Found Proxy Switchy at the Chrome web store looks pretty easy to use.

    As for a proxy, their are basically millions of them it all depends on what your planing to use it for? you should search for a proxy forum if that is the rout you are trying to take and learn as much about proxy's and how to properly use them so your doing it correctly ect

    If it was me I would invest in a good VPN service which is more secure than some free proxy, but in the end it depends on what you are using it for.
     
  16. inka

    inka Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Posts:
    406
    I expect "DoNotTrack" is a cruel joke.
    Hi, my name is Ben Dover. Here's my (plugin GUID, browser fingerprint, whatever) now please don't track me.

    = = = = =

    "Disconnect" plugin failed to install to a WinXP sandboxed firefox v10, and similarly failed to install to firefox v9.xx under Debian.
    I unzipped the xpi to see what the plugin is SUPPOSED to do.
    Could be a design flaw; could reflect intent to force-feed necessary plugin updates ~~ in any event, it's not "extensible". Instead of just being coded to block domains X,Y,Z (twitter, facebook, google) the plugin contains (depends on) presence of 2 supplied icons per targeted domain. Omigosh, if we enable the user to arbitrarily self-select targeted domains, we can't keep 'em on the hook...

    The Disconnect plugin's developer has been quite the blogosphere attention whore.
    You call this plugin a burger?!? Where's the beef?
    The concept for the disconnect plugin is NOT novel
    (ref: http://priv3.icsi.berkeley.edu/ )
    and, subsequent to 10+ months of hype, hasn't been adequately debugged / stabilized.
    -=-
    loose ends:
    Brian Kennish
    ref: http://likeplusone.org ~~ link labeled "work for WebMynd" leads to a 404 page (webmynd.com/jobs.html)
    -=-
    WebMynd? WebMynd?!?
    Google it. A year or so back, "webmynd" claim to fame was
    search widget that records, eternally, your search history.... ouch
    -=-
    http://angel.co/disconnect
    check out self-professed byline ~~ "The Symantec of privacy."
    (ooooh, that'll instill trust in the reader, eh)
    -=-
    byoogle.blogspot.com/
    (no, not daily, as claimed in the masthead. and not great)
    -=-
    http://code.google.com/p/byoogle/ let's play follow the bouncing ball?
    googlecode-hosted support "forum" for disconnect plugin (moved to guthub?)
    dangling, unresponded bug reports
    (abandoned group was never closed)
    -=-
    So, IMO, the scenario went something like:
    Angel investor, clueless about the history of "webmynd", hands 'em grant money.
    Disconnect is released (and hyped) as "built-with" webmynd product...
    ...and clueless investors are hit up for additional fundage (approx $1MM to date).

    EDIT:
    The "home" page for the googlecode project does provide notice "This repository is deprecated" along with links
    (that the page wasn't my entrypoint when I followed the Google search results link)
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2012
  17. Warlockz

    Warlockz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Posts:
    642
    :thumb: +1
     
  18. Pinga

    Pinga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Posts:
    1,420
    Location:
    Europe
    That I can live with. The lack of transparency surrounding the project is something I find harder to swallow ;)

    My current setup is a cocktail of Blocker - the only one that properly filters sites such as spiegel.de - together with ScriptNo and Vanilla Cookie Manager. They're working well together and are relatively easy to maintain.

    Blocker
    http://www.chrome-plugins.info/detail/epdedalbkhcbhcmcpfglmhngjpgimcmm

    ScriptNo
    http://www.chrome-plugins.info/detail/oiigbmnaadbkfbmpbfijlflahbdbdgdf

    Vanilla Cookie Manager
    http://www.chrome-plugins.info/detail/gieohaicffldbmiilohhggbidhephnjj
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2012
  19. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
    By itself, isn't Mozilla's DoNotTrack currently just symbolic ... ?
     
  20. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,152
     
  21. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    It asks ads not to track if that's what you mean. Not every ad has to comply.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.