help for NOD32!

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Jones, Jan 18, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jones

    Jones Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Posts:
    42
    Hi, I'm sorry my inexperience.
    I use NOD32 latest version and I'd like to scan my HD "C" but I don't like to scan one folder. In that folder, its name is "sotware", there are many programs and the scan takes much time.
    Can you tell me what I have to do precisely, please?
    thanks Jones
     
  2. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    You'll have to wait for version 3, which I hope will have some kind of exclusion option.
     
  3. Jones

    Jones Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Posts:
    42
    Have I to wait for two years?
     
  4. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    2 months would be my bet, at least for the beta.
     
  5. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    i cant verify this at the moment but at the bottom of the Scanning Targets tab in NOD32 On-Demand, cant u specify exclusions there?
     
  6. Eldar

    Eldar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    2,126
    Location:
    Vilvoorde (Belgium)
    Hi Jones,
    Don't use NOD32, but I wouldn't want to exclude the Software folder. :eek:
    It may take a some time to scan, but it's not a reason not to scan it.
    I would understand if you would exclude a picture folder, but not programs.
    Just my opinion. ;)
     
  7. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    its turns out the bottom box is for inclusions not exclusions.

    i agree with Eldar, NOD32 is pretty fast neways. u may also want to figure out what files are causing the long scan noty just which folder.
     
  8. mikkl

    mikkl Guest

    Jones,

    Though I agree that not scanning a folder titled "sofware" seems inappropriate, I believe you may be ablto to accomplish your goal using a command line scan with the /exclude=*\software* option (or something similar).

    Run NOD32.EXE /help at a command line to see the full set of command line options.

    mikkl
     
  9. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    I agree - better to scan the folder, but in case you still want to skip it, heres the usage for the exclude switch.

    /exclude=<LIST>Excludes a single particular file from scanning, multiple files can be selected using wildcards
     
  10. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    Unless that folder 'software' is simply a folder that was *created* to put in any software which may have been downloaded by the user as I too have such a folder for that purpose, and another with over lots of zip files, which I have excluded from scanning as it takes a long time for me.

    I am only going on the wording 'software'... maybe it is 'The' Software [Program Files] folder in another language :doubt: but if it was created by user, than excluding such from further scans would be ok, as I am sure the user would have auto scanned each time a download was done anyway. :)

    Maybe Blackspear can help on this, he's the NOD guru :cautious: try a PM to him ;)

    TAS
     
  11. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I don't resemble that remark :rolleyes: The only Guru around this neck of the woods is Marcos and ol Mr Shock Rocket himself ;) :D I’m good at taking the mystery out of things that look hard, just give me some time, a PC, SnagIT and a keyboard, and hic, out pops a tutorial... ;) :D

    In regards to excluding, it is not advisable to exclude anything within the scanner at this point in time.

    Cheers :D
     
  12. mikkl

    mikkl Guest

    I agree that it is not advisable, but sometimes you must. I am having false positive issues with my email inbox. The cleaning function of NOD essentially deletes all of my email since 1998 in response to a false positive. In this case, I exclude my inbox from AMON and NOD32. The good news is that I use Pocomail which can not run embedded code and strips out all attachments so that they are scanned when saved to the hard drive. It is not the best, but I feel this is a low risk, high return option.

    Which is why I learned how to use the /exclude option.

    mikkl
     
  13. Jones

    Jones Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Posts:
    42
    Yes, you are right! They are downloaded files. Now I know what I have to do.
    Thanks
     
  14. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    The /exclude command is for testing purposes only, by Eset, as it doesn't do what you would expect it to do.
    What it does is unknown to me however.
     
  15. alglove

    alglove Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    I have been told the same thing by Marcos himself.
     
  16. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Agreed, and as such it is NOT recommended for use by the general public.

    Cheers :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.