help can't get rid of kazaa or grokster

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by cheater87, Oct 8, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,121
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    i scanned on the guest account and i can't get rid of these. please help. they keep coming back.
     
  2. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,121
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    oh and they aren't installed on the compuer i checked the find file thing and the add remove thing not there so i'm confusedo_O FP maybe.
     
  3. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    What program are u scanning with? o_O


    snowbound
     
  4. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,121
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    aol anti spyware the new edition.
     
  5. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    Well i don't use that app. sooooo.....

    Even though u said that it is not showing up in add and remove programs u might want to read through this thread pertaining to kazaa removal and see if any of it applies,

    http://gladiator-antivirus.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=12071

    There's a little tool there that removes Kazaa and the bundled software that comes with it. If u do use it be sure to read thoroughly before as it seems it can break your internet connection. :doubt:


    snowbound
     
  6. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,121
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    eeks i'm going with spyware doctor then i don't want to kill my internet thanks for the help though
     
  7. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    Suit yourself. ;)

    There's an LSP fix in this thread(at the bottom),

    http://www.spywareinfoforum.com/~merijn/downloads.html


    in case there is a problem with your internet connection after using Kazaabegone. U might want to check if any of that bundled software mentioned is showing up in your add and remove programs. ;)


    snowbound
     
  8. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,121
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    well spyware doctor didn't find anything i hope it was a false positive
     
  9. rawr

    rawr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    128
    Location:
    Illinois, U.S.A
    If I'm not mistaken, isn't AOL Antispyware, Aluria's Spyware Eliminator? ..if so, if you scan with AOL/Aluria's scanner, it'll find the spyware 'WebP2P' which is caused by Kazaa. You unfortunately cannnot delete it as Kazaa needs it. Is this your issue?
     
  10. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,121
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    YES thats it :eek:
     
  11. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,121
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
  12. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi cheater87, as your issue relates to removal of a program, I have moved your thread into this forum where it should receive better attention.

    Cheers :D
     
  13. rawr

    rawr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    128
    Location:
    Illinois, U.S.A
    Like I stated before, if you have Kazaa installed on your system, there is no way to delete it as it will keep adding itself into your registry everytime you run Kazaa..no matter if you clean/delete it with AOL/Aluria's scanner. Ad-Aware, Spy Sweeper, and Spyware Doctor don't seem to pick this up either because its flaged as a false or it simply doesn't consider it spyware.

    Anyways, WebP2P is usually found in your registry under..

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\software\classes\magnet
    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\magnet
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\: software\magnet
     
  14. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,121
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    the thing is its not on the add remove list so i'm confused
     
  15. rawr

    rawr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    128
    Location:
    Illinois, U.S.A
    Its not a software-type spyware, so that's why you don't see it in your Add/Remove Programs List. WebP2P adds a key to your registry (..probably one of the three I listed in my previous post) that allows Kazaa to run. I wouldn't worry to much about it, and there is nothing you can do if you have Kazaa installed. Just add the 'WebP2P' spyware to the ignore list..
     
  16. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,121
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    its not installed to my knowlage
     
  17. blazr63

    blazr63 Lurker

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    Danvers, MA
    Do you use Shareaza? That will always insert those registry keys on startup, but it's not a problem, so don't worry about it. :)
     
  18. rawr

    rawr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Posts:
    128
    Location:
    Illinois, U.S.A
    WebP2P adds itself with one or all of the registry keys I had posted before if you have Shareaza, Kazaa, or Limewire installed..
     
  19. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    try using KazaaBegone (scroll down), but also make sure u have lspfix downloaded beforehand.
     
  20. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    Ditto.

    SOFTWARE\Magnet
    SOFTWARE\Classes\magnet

    LimeWire Pro always adds these keys only after I run this P2P program:)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.