HELP Can't connect XBOX360 to Media Centre

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by nathalie27, Dec 7, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nathalie27

    nathalie27 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    Hi, I've been up for days trying to get my XBOX360 to connect to Windows Vista Media Centre, with no luck. I already allowed UPnP, by unchecking the boxes where it says UPnP.. and thats what finally allowed my XP machine to be detected on the XBOX, but not Media Centre

    On the XBOX it says it can't connect to Media centre PC and to ensure my PC is on and connected to the same network, which it is.
    when I go into Media Centre on the media centre PC it says that it can't find the Xtender and to make sure UPnP discovery is allowed, which it is!.
    Iv'e tried to go into settings in media centre and add an Xtender manually, it didn't work..said it couldn't locate the XBOX360.

    I also disabled ess firewall and enable windows firewall on my XP PC..and STILL couldn't get XBOX to connect to media centre, why is this??.
    Prior to installing ESS I have never had this problem with Media Centre not working. On my media centre PC, which is wirelessly connected to
    my home network, I have Vista Premium running, AVG free and Windows firewall. Everything else works..my Vista PC's files,music etc shows up on XBOX, but Media centre won't work..very strange!!..and my XP PC is detected as well.

    I heard there is many bugs with this new ESS, and Group Policy Editor is NOT available with Vista Home or Premium!!..so should I give up and uninstall ess all together and just take AVG free and stick with windows firewall to solve this mess?. Even after disableing ess firewall and enableing windows firewall..media centre STILL won't work..so im left confused and tired of dealing with this. There is no basic functionality with ess.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2007
  2. moonshadow

    moonshadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    I had the same problem, the only way I could solve the problem was to change the firewall from automatic to interactive. I hope the terms are right as I am trying to remember from memory the actual terminology.

    After you change to interactive mode accept the request from media center. If you put the mode back to automatic media center will stop working so you will always need to leave it in interactive mode.

    Hope this helps.

    Doug...
     
  3. Kielty

    Kielty Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Posts:
    139
    Location:
    The Emerald Isle
    I have the same issue, in automatic mode the firewall sems to block not only this but media sharing in vista and a print server i use on a home network. The only workaround is to use interative mode as discussed.

    The firewall needs a bit of work still...
     
  4. KFBeaker

    KFBeaker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Posts:
    33
    To the OP, no you are not alone. See here:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=190868&highlight=xbox
    I thought the issue might be resolved, but no.
    ESS seems to be a great app - for those tiny few people who are on no form of LAN :-(


    ?? Anybody know if the media streaming in the Trusted Zone / UPnP issues are fixed in this new version they just released?



    Two months ...... hope ESET did more than just make the GUI prettier and fix a tiny OE bug. :-(
     
  5. sjgore

    sjgore Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Posts:
    66
    Location:
    UK
    There is a hotfix from Microsoft (that is now also part of Vista SP1) that resolves a lot of issues with Vista firewalls and XBox 360s acting as Media Center Extenders. Search the forums for "XBox 360" and see the link in my thread. The issue fixed by the hotfix is related to changes made to networking in Vista since XP.

    Steve.
     
  6. KFBeaker

    KFBeaker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Posts:
    33
    I'm not sure we have the exact same issue as not only do MPEG2s not stream with ESS on the computer, nothing streams or connects. Disabling all of ESS makes no difference. Uninstall ESS and go with another firewall or Windows Vista Firewall - everything is ok. Put ESS back on the computer and the problem returns.

    But I'll contact Microsoft about getting that patch and see how it goes.
    Fingers crossed.
     
  7. sjgore

    sjgore Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Posts:
    66
    Location:
    UK
    True.

    This part is the same, though. My theory is that is has something to do with a network filter installed by ESS, which only removing the software completely will disable it.

    Got to be worth a try!

    BTW, if you google the KB article number, you should be able to find a site to download the hotfix from, rather than having to wait for Microsoft to e-mail you a link.

    Good luck! :)

    Steve.
     
  8. KFBeaker

    KFBeaker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Posts:
    33
    Thanks. Maybe I just caught a break but I was able to get the patch from Microsoft by email in under two hours!

    I have the patch installed and ESS reinstalled. I will report back with results in a few days as my TV just died and I cannot use the XBOX 360 now.

    I'm still a bit skeptical though as all streaming and the very Media Center connection itself to the XBOX 360 would not always stay connected. It almost seems to act more like the problem everyone is reporting with ESS and staying connected to Workgroup computers.

    But if you're right on this one, you may want to announce this patch over in that thread as well.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.