Heimdal Free and Pro

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by JEAM, Jun 30, 2015.

  1. Andra Zaharia

    Andra Zaharia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Posts:
    150
    Hi there,

    It's true that I haven't been active here in a while, but, in spite of it being holiday season, things have been moving quite fast at Heimdal. I will make sure to ask one of my colleagues to replace me if there's every a time when I can't reply here.

    But do know that you can always contact us via support or on our social media channels and there's always someone to reply there in 24h or 48h the most.

    Thank you for your patience!
     
  2. Andra Zaharia

    Andra Zaharia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Posts:
    150
    Hi there,

    It's true that I haven't been active here in a while, but, in spite of it being holiday season, things have been moving quite fast at Heimdal. I will make sure to ask one of my colleagues to replace me if there's every a time when I can't reply here.

    But do know that you can always contact us via support or on our social media channels and there's always someone to reply there in 24h or 48h the most.

    Thank you for your patience!
     
  3. Andra Zaharia

    Andra Zaharia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Posts:
    150
    The engines behind Heimdal PRO are DNS-based and rely on intelligence about cyber criminal infrastructure, not just a host and IP list. the same intelligence powers both Heimdal PRO and Heimdal CORP, so, yes, PRO users are benefiting from technology that protects endpoints in companies and institutions of all sizes.

    As you can imagine, we cannot share the inner workings of the product. If you have additional questions, just let me know.

    Thanks!
     
  4. Andra Zaharia

    Andra Zaharia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Posts:
    150
    Hello,

    If you have been using Heimdal V1, we have started announcing In March 2016 that this product version would reach end of life this summer and that a migration process would follow.

    Heimdal PRO gets a new version almost every month, advancing the product, fixing known bugs and improving performance and user experience.

    I'm sorry you gave up on it and that it caused issues, but I do hope you had a chance to talk to our support team before that. I'm sure they could've helped you enjoy Heimdal and solve your issues with it.
     
  5. Andra Zaharia

    Andra Zaharia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Posts:
    150
    Hello!

    Heimdal does work alongide VPN products, but you'll have to add an exception for it to work. You just need to set an exception called split-exclude: 104.46.51.121 (this is the IP address of our cloud services).

    Let me know if it worked. Thanks!
     
  6. Andra Zaharia

    Andra Zaharia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Posts:
    150
    Hello,

    Please know that Heimdal does not slow down the network. It either sets the DNS to 127.0.0.1 and if you use a certain network structure that uses a static IP or a certain DNS , it will just cut the network connection. OR it set's the DNS and because you use a dynamic IP and you do not have a modified and "personalised" network structure (no proxy, VPN, or other programs that modify the way you connect to a network), it will allow the access to the network and you can enjoy browsing without problems.

    If internet being slow or connecting and disconnecting are the issues, I am afraid we do not have a certain answer as both situations are variable and not constant. Heimdal is designed to reach only the extremes (it cuts the internet connectivity if the DNS as explained above or it allows the access to the network) it does not have a middle ground where it goes back and forth. The question is: Why does sometime works and sometimes does not? What happens between working and not working?

    The middle ground here seems to be a third party culprit, a software or the way your network is created, that contradicts what Heimdal is trying to do. To provide a realistic response, it is impossible to know what does what since we have no idea what else you have installed on the computer and how you manage your networks. And even if we would know what you have in-stalled we do to know how it works alongside Heimdal. We would have to test the compatibility between Heimdal and all software ever invented and generate a conclusion: This works alongside or this does not work.

    That is a scenario that is impossible to finish. Form experience we can tell you that this has been reported before and turned out that some users either had a software that was changing the DNS and was competing with Heimdal on who will set the DNS and there were customers that had the network bombarded with rules, exceptions VPNs and other configurations that will hide the IP etc. In that situation not even the computer knew what needs to be done and what policy needs to be applied.

    Hope this explained the situation.

    Thank you for taking the time to read this!
     
  7. Andra Zaharia

    Andra Zaharia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Posts:
    150
    Quick update here about my activity and reporting issues with Heimdal:

    I've answered questions from the beginning of June until now. I've stopped there, because we've released multiple fixes and many of you have already talked to my colleagues from support.

    If you do have an issue that I've overlooked, please tag me and we'll take care of it.

    Since I can't go online and read the posts here every day (although I will try my best to do it every week, at least once a week), the best option to get clear, up to date answers about Heimdal is to contact the support team.

    You can either email us at support@heimdalsecurity.com or submit a ticket using the website form: https://support.heimdalsecurity.com/hc/en-us/requests/new

    My colleagues reply in 24h at most, except the weekends.

    What's more, you can find us on Facebook or Twitter, if you use the platforms.

    We've also keeping a changelog on our website, in the support knowledge base, at this link: https://support.heimdalsecurity.com/hc/en-us/categories/200861439-Announcements

    The knowledge base is packed with useful information and it's constantly updated: FAQ, Known Issues, Product Guides.

    When reporting an issue to support, please include as many details as possible, so my colleagues can identify the issue fast and help solve any issues the speediest way possible. Printscreens are useful, as well as activity logs, license key and product version.

    I honestly appreciate your patience and the fact that many of you took the time to help other Heimdal users with information from their own experience.

    The fact that it's been a very busy time for me, personally, and for us, as a team, does not excuse my absence, but I urge you to contact support if you see that I don't reply here as fast as you'd need it or expect it. The harsh reality is that there is only so many things I can fit in one day, as I'm sure you've experience as well.

    Last, but not least, thank you all for sharing your concerns, dislikes and praises, because you help us improve Heimdal and help you better enjoy it!

    Andra
     
  8. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,090
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    good to see you back and all is going well with Heimdal
     
  9. Andra Zaharia

    Andra Zaharia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Posts:
    150
    Many thanks for understanding and tolerating my absence!
     
  10. XhenEd

    XhenEd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    536
    Location:
    Philippines
    @Andra Zaharia
    I recently installed Heimdal PRO after a successful OS reset due to the Anniversary Update. That time, Heimdal PRO was actually the first and only 3rd party security software I installed. As far as I can remember, I installed Heimdal PRO with no other user-installed software. My OS, in short, was "clean" of all 3rd party intervention or tweaks.

    But, it was still buggy. It worked as expected at first, but after a system restart where it updated to the latest version, it became buggy. DNS setting didn't set to 127.0.0.1 even when Traffic Filtering is still On. And so, when I visited the test page, it would state that I wasn't protected by Heimdal PRO (this also shows that I had stable internet connection).

    Another bug I experienced again was that after what was happening above, I would usually visit Traffic Filtering to see everything was set properly. Everything was set, except when I turn the main option Off. But, after turning it Off, when I want to turn it back On, it wouldn't. So, I uninstalled Heimdal PRO again.


    My theory is that there's a possibility that this is a compatibility issue with my ISP, or Heimdal PRO has incompatibility issue with some of the OEM or Windows softwares (e.g. .Net Framework) that are needed for my OS.
     
  11. Andra Zaharia

    Andra Zaharia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Posts:
    150
    Hello!

    So sorry to hear about your issues. From what you shared, my guess is that an issue with .NET framework caused this, but I can't be sure.

    Wish I could help you on the spot, but the best way to get a quick solution is to email my colleagues at support@heimdalsecurity.com. They'll identify the issue and get Heimdal working in no time, so you can enjoy it.

    Sorry it took so long to reply to your requests, but do remember that we're always within reach, even if I don't make it to the forums as often as I'd like.

    Many thanks!
     
  12. JEAM

    JEAM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Posts:
    321
    Andra, good to have you back. :thumb:

    Out of curiosity: I saw the discussion about the .NET Framework above. Does Heimdal PRO require a particular (or a minimum) version of the .NET Framework?
     
  13. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    i use adguard that has their stealth mode. so am guessing that would be a conflict with heidmal.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Andra Zaharia

    Andra Zaharia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Posts:
    150
    Hello Jeam,

    Great to be back!

    Heimdal requires that Microsoft .NET Framework 4.6.1 is installed. In the V2 version, the installer also downloads and installs this .NET version is it doesn't find it on the system.
    The tech specs are available on the website, on the product page, in case you should ever need them: https://heimdalsecurity.com/en/products/heimdal-pro

    Thanks for your question!
     
  15. Andra Zaharia

    Andra Zaharia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Posts:
    150
    That is most likely so, yes. But my colleagues from support can give you a definitive answer after looking into the issue themselves.

    As a software user, I'd also like to not bump into such conflicts, but, as much as we want to avoid them, it sometimes doesn't depend on us to get them to work together.
     
  16. JEAM

    JEAM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Posts:
    321
    Been running Heimdal Free version 1 on a Windows 7 PC. At one point, I noticed that the green "C" circle icon disappeared from the Notification Area. Next thing I know, after an unrelated reboot, Heimdal's upgraded itself to version 2.

    Version 1 still running on Vista, although after rebooting that system today I did notice that Adobe Flash for Firefox had to be updated manually. Everything else checks out as current, including Flash for Internet Explorer 8.
     
  17. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,090
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    reinstalled this a couple of days ago and working very well with no issues.l Looks like it is time for me to renew to.
     
  18. XhenEd

    XhenEd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    536
    Location:
    Philippines
    What's the current, latest version of Hemdial PRO?
     
  19. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,090
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    I am not at home to check but I think 2.2.6 or 2.2.9. If no one responds I will check for you later. Honestly I have been fairly critical in the past but have no complaints with current verison
     
  20. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,295
    Is there a link to the pro installer.
     
  21. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,090
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    Peter, I installed the free then put my license in.
     
  22. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,090
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    V2.2.9 is the current version, and best yet :)
     
  23. XhenEd

    XhenEd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    536
    Location:
    Philippines
    Thanks for the info! :)
     
  24. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,295
    Thanks
     
  25. Steven Avery

    Steven Avery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Posts:
    111
    This is a BIts du Jour special today.

    Heimdal Pro
    http://www.bitsdujour.com/software/heimdal-pro/in=todays-deals-home

    "After you purchase Heimdal PRO it may be used for 12 months and will not function after that unless you renew your subscription."

    At least you would have a very long trial for under $5. I am not sure, just skimmed part of this thread.


     
Loading...