HDMI problems

Discussion in 'hardware' started by Decapad, May 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Decapad

Decapad Registered Member

Hello - I just got a new Acer pc, the X1200 running Vista. It's a low priced model but it had an HDMI port I planned to use so I could connect my pc to a nearby TV. Sadly it didn't work - here's what happened. When I first connected to the TV I got NO picture or sound. So I disconnected the small monitor at my computer desk by unscrewing it from the back of the pc. Once I did that, the picture came to life on the TV. But still NO sound at all. So I was only able to get video on the TV at the expense of disconnecting my computing monitor and unable to get any audio at all no matter what I tried. Now I did this with 2 pairs of HDMI cable with the exact same results - so it's not a cable issue.
    I'm a little new to Vista - so maybe I'm missing some Monitor/Sound setting that may correct this - but I did go to Control Panel/Sound & tinker with some various settings but nothing helped. In this window it did show this Realtek HDMI Output Icon & it showed "working" as it's status.
    Now I suppose I could get some pc audio out splitter to RCA in adapters for the sound to run to the TV & use the HDMI for the video only. But this seems like a crappy option since I'll always have to disconnect the computing monitor & of course HDMI is supposed to push audio & video.
    Sadly this pc also has very few manuals available & tech support was absolutely useless...Please help if you can:thumb: Thank you!!! D:)

2. TairikuOkami

TairikuOkami Registered Member

Did you try to set Realtek HDMI Output as a default audio device and then to launch program?

3. Decapad