HDM 15 Suite scheduled tasks overwrites previous backup

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by John2222, Oct 31, 2014.

  1. John2222

    John2222 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    140
    I'm trying to use the HDM 15 Scheduling function to create a system image each Friday at 5pm.

    I went through the backup wizard to define the backup to PVD, then clicked the Save to Scheduler function, and adjusted the settings to run each Friday.

    The first backup triggered and executed just fine. The next Friday the backup triggered again and executed just fine. However, the second backup used the same subfolder as the previous week. And it OVERWROTE the backup image files from the previous week. So I only have one complete system backup image, not two.

    I want the scheduler to create a new subfolder with each week's date, so I can have several weeks of backups, in case one is corrupt.

    Is this possible?

    EDIT: I found the script file. One section in it is:
    vd_store_options
    raw process
    label = "Backup_image_20141031_1924"
    cmp normal
    mfs = 4193280
    vd_store /path = "J:/Paragon HDM15/" /name = "Backup_HDD0_20141031_1924" /vendor = "PVHD"

    But I see the year/month/day is hard coded. Isn't there a symbolic syntax I can substitute so older backup won't get overwritten?

    I believe the older format backup prior to PVD created a separate subfolder each week, without any intervention by me.
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2014
  2. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,283
    The PBF format is still available, you could try using it.
     
  3. John2222

    John2222 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    140
    The PBF format is what I used in HDM 14. And each week it created a new folder with date.
    The PBF tab is not there in HDM 15. Looks like Paragon removed it. HELP! We need date/time brought back.

    Here's HDM 14 with Backup & Restore tab AND the New Backup Format tab:

    HDM14.jpg

    I can't find PBF here at all:

    HDM15.jpg
     
  4. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,283
    I haven´t used HDM 15 Suite (I think the changes are minor and the "upgrade" should have been free for HDM 14 registered users). But I checked the Preview, and, as I remember, the icon that is in the top right, between the arrow and the "?", presents the interface with the options related to the PBF format.
     
  5. John2222

    John2222 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    140
    You're right. In HDM 15 just to the left of the question mark icon, is a screwdriver/wrench icon. Two choices: General view (default) and Legacy features (which enables the old PBF format).

    However, Paragon shouldn't go backwards with the new pVHD format and drop an essential feature. Agree? I guess I should open a tech support case? It doesn't seem like there is any active Paragon tech support moderators monitoring this forum. Maybe the German one is more active (mine deutsch ist sehr schlecht.)
     
  6. John2222

    John2222 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    140
    Here's an year/month/day example I found (from 2009) of the Paragon scripting language, which appears to be PBF format:
    // Backup
    img = "H:/arc_200809232900204/arc_200809232900204_$(YEAR)_$(MONTH)$(DAY)_$(HOUR)$(MINUTE).PBF"

    Here's what I see in the scripting language for HDM 15:
    vd_store /path = "J:/Paragon HDM15/" /name = "Backup_HDD0_20141031_1924" /vendor = "PVHD"

    Any suggestions from any scripting experts on what I should (or can substitute) for HDM 15?
     
  7. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,283
    I think they didn´t drop that feature. If must be a bug. Of course you should open a tech support ticket.

    You could also post the problem in the other forum, the so-called "Community forum", http://community.paragon-software.com/forum/english-community-forum, although it shows almost null activity since it was established several months ago.
     
  8. John2222

    John2222 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    140
    I just now opened a tech support ticket. Until there is a fix, it seems like the only solution is not to use the Scheduler-scripts, and instead manually run the wizard each time to define and run backup each week. Not very ideal with multiples licenses.
     
  9. John2222

    John2222 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    140
    Here's the reply I got back from Paragon tech support ticket:

    Unfortunately unique names now are available in Retention Wizard in Professional version.

    In your case please edit script – change name line to following type.
    arc_name_$(YEAR)_$(MONTH)_$(DAY)_$(HOUR)_$(MINUTE)

    So the line should be like:
    vd_store /path = "D:/Arcs/" /name = "arc_11_$(YEAR)_$(MONTH)_$(DAY)_$(HOUR)_$(MINUTE)" /vendor = "PVHD"

    Personally I don't think that is an acceptable answer. What good is a scheduled function if it wipes out what you did last day or last week etc.?
    Paragon, please fix this!
     
  10. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,283
    Paragon_Capture.PNG

    Personally I don't think that is an acceptable answer. What good is a scheduled function if it wipes out what you did last day or last week etc.?
    [/QUOTE]
    Yes, unacceptable. Especially if it´s so easy to fix the problem.

    Edit. About the Retention Wizard, when I compare HDM 15 Pro and Suite in http://www.paragon-software.com/features.html, in both cases it´s marked as "Obsolete".

     
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2014
  11. John2222

    John2222 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    140
    Look under the "Automation". "Scheduler" is checked as available for both HDM 15 Professional and Suite. That's good. BUT, "Scripting" is checked only for Professional.

    P.S. I asked for free or discounted price to upgrade my licenses to Professional, while they work on a fix. Support sent me to sales, but sales said no, but would "refer" the technical problem to development (whatever that means). I'm trying to nicely cooperate, but we have to have both sides see the issue ..... Sigh.

    I'm not trying to do something exotic -- just reasonable.
     
  12. John2222

    John2222 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    140
    UPDATE: I modified the script file as suggested by Tech Support. Two weeks later I verified that Paragon IS CREATING a NEW folder with the current date/time in it each week. Thank you Paragon for the information. This simple change doesn't require a user to know or purchase full scripting support found in the Professional version.

    Now, how about making this minor change in your next release as the default?
     
Loading...