HDDExpert : Hard Disk Drive health & performance made clear

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Kyle_Katarn, Oct 3, 2013.

  1. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,556
    Dear all,

    After SUMo (Wilder's post), KCleaner (Wilder's post) and Zer0, i'm coming with a brand new free software called HDDExpert

    HDDExpert give you a cristal-clear vision on your Hard Drive health and performance and translate S.M.A.R.T. attribute into readable indication. Recommends maintenance (fans upgrade, spare purchase, backups,...) depending on amount of failures detected on your hard drives.

    Screenshot : http://kcsoftwares.com/images/HDDE_screen.png

    Web page : http://kcsoftwares.com/?hdde
    Change Log / Bug report : http://kcsoftwares.com/bugs

    Download link : http://www.kcsoftwares.com/files/hdde.exe
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2013
  2. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,242
    I like it. However it tells me I may need to replace my hard drive soon when HDDScan says everything if fine.

    Just one suggestion, increase the size of the screen shot you linked to in your post as it is too small to see clearly.
     
  3. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,956
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  4. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    I wonder what a brand new HDD would show ?
     
  5. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,281
    I also noticed this. It´s somewhat "alarmist". The report must be checked with other programs. In my case, several critical SMART values were different (worse) to those reported by Hard Disk Sentinel.

    And it put several unrelated links in the Desktop, which I don´t like.
     
  6. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,556
    Done, thanks !
     
  7. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,556
  8. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,556
    How does yours looks like in HDDExpert ?
     
  9. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,556
    Modification request logged here : http://www.kcsoftwares.com/bugs/view.php?id=2172 Will be implemented soon.
     
  10. jnthn

    jnthn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Posts:
    185
    This, on a fairly new WD Blue drive and on a somewhat old Seagate with some bad blocks. Btw, I can't resize the program window properly.
     

    Attached Files:

    • wd.png
      wd.png
      File size:
      45.6 KB
      Views:
      829
    • sg.png
      sg.png
      File size:
      44 KB
      Views:
      823
  11. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,556
    Thank you !
    Your WDC seems new.
    Your old seagate shows strange decoding issues ...
     
  12. jnthn

    jnthn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Posts:
    185
    The WD drive is a few days old. The Seagate one has suffered from a bunch of power outages so I kinda expected it to have a bunch of bad blocks and errors.

    Here's the resizing issue I have with the program window..
     

    Attached Files:

    • a.png
      a.png
      File size:
      78.8 KB
      Views:
      781
  13. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,556
  14. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,556
    New issue : http://www.kcsoftwares.com/bugs/view.php?id=2179
     
  15. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,956
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Kyle_Katarn, you're welcome! Take care.
     
  16. jnthn

    jnthn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Posts:
    185
    Here you go.. Bottom screenie is the full one for the Seagate. I only included the bottom part for the WD.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. mlauzon

    mlauzon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Posts:
    107
    Location:
    Canada
    I have two drives -- C & D -- in my system, however, I cannot tell from your app which is which, the app should show what drive it is.
     
  18. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,556
  19. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,556
    Good feature request !
    http://www.kcsoftwares.com/bugs/view.php?id=2181
     
  20. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,242
    The following screen shots are from the same drive with your software and HDDScan
    HDD.png
    HDD2.png
    As you can see, HDDScan says the drive is okay, whereas HDDExpert says there are problems.

    Which one is right?
     
  21. Kyle_Katarn

    Kyle_Katarn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,556
  22. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,242
    I know they're both showing the same data, but is HDDExpert correct in showing I have problems with my drive when HDDScan says everything is fine?
     
  23. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    Interesting situation and shakes my faith a little bit in these programs.
    Incidentally defraggler has something similar.

    Just out of interest what are the solutions for any problems found.?
    I mean these programs can give some insight into possible problems,but what solutions would be advisable.
     
  24. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,242
    The solution is to buy a new hard drive if problems are being shown. As the problems usually indicate that the hard drive is failing.

    Once you have a new drive, you can clone your current failing drive to it, and then replace the failing drive with the new one.
     
  25. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    Thank you roger.
    Problem is which program do you believe.?
    Your screenshots clearly show a big difference in results.

    People may falsely believe there drives are failing and needlessly purchase new ones based on inaccurate information.
     
Loading...