Having trouble installing a new system to a different Drive

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by catman915, Oct 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. catman915

    catman915 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Posts:
    105
    Can someone point me to a step by step tutorial for installing a new system to a different drive? I've tried numerous times and get as far as the new system's first reboot during the installation. When the machine reboots it asks whether to boot from the CD and if I say yes it begins the install again. If I allow the OSS menu to come up and select the new system and reboot it goes to black screen and hangs. I know I'm doing something wrong but can't figure it out and the manual isn't specific enough for my knowledge level. Also if I look at the drive I set as the install drive the system directories are there. Thanks
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,480
    Location:
    California
    If you're installing an OS through OSS, then on the first reboot of the installation, you'll either have to select the new OSS menu entry for the OS you're installing to continue the installation (if it's been created) or if the computer boots back to the installation CD/DVD with the "Press any key to boot..." message, DON'T press any key, let it boot from the hard drive to finish.

    It sounds like you're not really doing anything wrong with that part of the installation. The problem may be before this point.

    What OS are you trying to install?

    What OS's are already on your computer?

    When you started installing the new OS, did you right-click on the OS CD and select Properties and set the new OS partition Active and Hide other OS partitions? If you're installing Windows, did you make sure to set the Disk that you're installing to as the FIRST disk in the Disk Order list?
     
  3. catman915

    catman915 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Posts:
    105
    I have XP and vista32 installed and working fine. I'm trying to install Vista 64 also. I set partiton active but didn't hide other os partitions, didn't know I had to.
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,480
    Location:
    California
    If you want an "isolated" install, then it's best to hide the other OS partitions during the installation.

    Also, check the Disk Order and make sure it's correct. That may be what's causing the problem. Windows will only boot from the first hard disk (the one selected in the BIOS), so you will have to change the Disk Order properties for the Vista 64 menu entry/CD entry to set the Vista 64 hard disk as first in the list.
     
  5. catman915

    catman915 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Posts:
    105
    I finally got it installed but now when I select it from the OSS menu it goes to a windows boot manager menu listing two vista choices itself and the "32 bit" install. I looked at the two drives and found that the bootmgr file is on the "C" drive(with the Vista 32 install) and the system files are on the "G" drive as they should be. Can I edit the bootmgr file or copy it to the "G" drive with the 64 bit system so when I select the "64 bit " installation from the OSS menu it just boots it up without going to the windows boot manager? the "32 bit" system operates that way. Thanks
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.