Having Boot Problems with NOD32

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by FireDancer, Aug 22, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FireDancer

    FireDancer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Posts:
    316
    Hi all,

    In a previous post I stated that I was having problems booting Win98SE occasionally and I wasnt sure that it was NOD causing it. jan kindly replied and asked a few questions and added some instructions which I followed.

    I posted back that problem seemed to dissapear.
    :( There back... On booting Win98SE seems to boot to desktop.. and again I can hear the music load but nothing else. Desktop wont come up. I have a cursir..BTW which moves freely.. so the system isnt locked up but will not respond to a CNTL ALT DEL I have to physicaly hit the reset button on the front of my machine to get it to boot.

    After this happened I uninstalled NOD32v2 and removed any files/folders reminants of Eset/NOD32 and proceeded to reboot. Win98SE came up bueatifully and very fast as well.. no problems. I then rebooted the system on and off for 30 minutes to try to confirm it was NOD32 causing the boot problems. I have had none since the removal.

    In my mind I belive that it is NOD32v2 causing the boot problems. I belive NOD32 is a very powerfull AV and I do like it but am stummped as to why the problem. I was ready to plunk down the Ol' Credit card today to purchase my NOD32v2 but am now hesitant as I do not want to have reoccuring problems after spending the hard earned dollars I had to con out of my wife for this AV :) Can someone offer some suggestions or opinions?
    as I want my NOD32v2 soon.

    EDIT : I am not getting any error promtps with this problem!!

    Regards,
    FireDancer
     
  2. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    FireDancer,

    This is an issue for the Eset staff. Since it's weekend, Jan most probably address your issue upcoming Monday.

    regards.

    paul
     
  3. Samaritan

    Samaritan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    New Zealand
    May I make a suggestion?

    After installing Nod32 v2, my computer failed to restart to complete the installation.
    In safemode I could scan for viruses, and a couple were mentioned, files were cleaned but some couldn't be cleaned until a restart.
    Guess what, I still couldn't restart and those important "in Use" windows files couldn't be cleaned.

    Suggestion:
    Scan everything using the dos version, download it, unpack it and scan it in dos outside of windows.

    This is what I did...

    On a clean computer, I downloaded the dos version of Nod32 and unpacked it. I copied the unpacked nod32dos version files straight onto a cd which made it write protected.
    I didn't know how to make a bootable cd, this would have started automatically, scanning in dos before windows was operating.

    Anyway... with the resumed infected Windows running, I then copied these files from the cd onto the c:\ and they were still read only. I restarted the computer with a startup floppy disc and changed drives from A to C and ran c:\nod32dos.exe.

    eg. When the Startup disk present you with the command prompt for the floppy drive A:\>
    type this cd c:\ [enter]
    C:\nod32dos.exe [enter]

    It worked, and cleaned EVERY FILE including the kernel32.dll, this then allowed me to install Nod32 for windows finally uninfected.

    Worth a crack I think.
     
  4. FireDancer

    FireDancer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Posts:
    316
    Paul,

    yes you are right and I am sure Jan/Eset will reply like they always do. Thanks for the responce
    Regards,
    FireDancer

    Samaritain,

    Thanks for the responce, In as much as you have givin me another alternitive I am not sure thats the problem. I am squeaky clean and NOD32 so far has ran flawlessly. This problem only seems to happen on a reboot and I get no Kernal errors.. or errors of any kind when it happens.

    I use NOD32v2 along with TDS3, and a whole compilation of spayware software.. AdWare, SpyBot, SpywareBlaster and find nothing with each scan. I am pretty anal about not downloading junk onto my puter and dont allow alot to be stored. (Security Concious) ROFL :) maybe to concious but I am happy with that. I will keep your suggestion as it sounds you did well with it and I am very glad it worked for you :) I am also awaiting a responce from jan at Eset maybe he can throw a little light into our conversation?

    Regards,
    FireDancer
     
  5. jan

    jan Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Posts:
    804
    Hi FireDancer,

    I'd suggest you to try the Samaritan's advice too, if you don't mind.

    Thx., :)

    jan
     
  6. FireDancer

    FireDancer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Posts:
    316
    Jan and Samaritain,

    I purchased NOD32v2 2 days ago and d loaded software and immediatly took samaritains advise minus a few steps.
    I unpacked all files to a CD as a fail safe for future problems. I installed in safe mode and have not had a problem with NOD32 I LOVE this AV :) I think if I have to I can run the set up samaritain explains above if I have a problem. Thanks for the advise all of you. And thanks you NOD for creating such a great AV software

    Regards,
    FireDancer :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.