Have you problems with Avira Antivir free updates?

Discussion in 'polls' started by ako, Oct 16, 2009.

?

Have you problems with Avira Antivir free updates?

  1. never

    21 vote(s)
    22.8%
  2. sometimes

    35 vote(s)
    38.0%
  3. often

    29 vote(s)
    31.5%
  4. did not work at all

    7 vote(s)
    7.6%
  1. ako

    ako Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Posts:
    627
    I'm doing poll this to get an idea is Avira really good for our Wizard.
     
  2. NoIos

    NoIos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    607
    Avira servers have reached their limits and it seems the company does not want or cannot invest more money for more bandwidth and traffic.
     
  3. NoIos

    NoIos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    607
    I would say often or it does not work. "Sometimes" was valid before Sept 2009. In Sept and Oct 2009 happens often.
     
  4. bollity

    bollity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Posts:
    179
    yes often, but i will not change avira.
     
  5. Nebulus

    Nebulus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1,582
    Location:
    European Union
    Often is my answer. And no, I won't switch to another AV :)
     
  6. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    id use avast as a recommendation simply because its reliable.
     
  7. ako

    ako Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Posts:
    627
    I installed it today. let's see...
     
  8. Yanix

    Yanix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    Switzerland
    I never had problems to update Antivir on the 3 pc I have in my house (in switzerland).
     
  9. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    I have had problems updating the free version in the past.
     
  10. acuariano

    acuariano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    786
  11. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
  12. guest

    guest Guest

    A while ago I experienced this problem too (had to dl the big ivdf_fusebundle_nt_en.zip - THAT worked fast to my amazement! ;)) but then I decided to buy premium license (special pricing: 25 months for < 20 EUR) ... and look - if you even can! :D - how FAST update servers NOW are!! :D

    So there clearly is something besides the webfilter you get for your money!
    ;)
     
  13. progress

    progress Guest

    Often - I deinstalled it due to this problem :oops:
     
  14. swami

    swami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Posts:
    167
    Seldom and actually it doesn't matter if they're a couple of days behind. I can't remember when Avira last time caught anything. I think the most important protection is firewall, updated programs and common sense.
     
  15. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,434
    Location:
    Europe
    " Sometimes ".
     
  16. swami

    swami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Posts:
    167
    I can do without a antivirus but not without a firewall.
     
  17. Jadda

    Jadda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    425
    Had it very often, and it's the only reason I removed it.
     
  18. ako

    ako Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Posts:
    627
    I added this to my list (my Avira has updated once a day....)

    The update servers of the free version of Avira Antivir are undersized. For this reason the first update may take a long time, even an hour or so. As the install package comes with very old virus definitions, one is not well advised to continue surfing without the update process being finished. One can speed-up the first update by downloading the latest Avira updates here, then double-clicking the Avira system tray icon and choosing Update > Manual update, and searching the downloaded file with the file manager thus opened. You may occasionally meet update problems also in the future, but Avira should update itself on its own approximately once a day.(As Avira has market-leading heuristics, small lags in updates are not as fatal for Avira as for most of its rivals.)
     
  19. Keyboard_Commando

    Keyboard_Commando Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Posts:
    690
    I haven't been able to update for two days now - I'm in UK. I guess it could be just mine. But anyway it did the same with me about a month ago, or so.

    I might now switch to something else. I am only using Avira on demand so no biggy. Maybe this is a more aggressive approach at manipulating their free users to purchase a license.
     
  20. progress

    progress Guest

    Does this issue still exist with Avira Free 10? :doubt:
     
  21. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    I've experienced on-again/off-again updating problems since summer of 2008.

    For about two-thirds of 2009, Avira updated for me without incident but still, there were several isolated periods of time when updating was a problem.
    It was sometime around October of last year that the updating problem became (to now) permanently manifest, ranging in severity from a bothersome two + minute delay before the download started to periods of time when I couldn't get signature updates at all.

    My experience is almost exclusively with the "Classic" (free) version.
    During the past two years, I did take advantage of six month trial licenses for both Avira Premium AV and Avira Security Suite.
    While running those trials, updating never seemed to be a problem.

    As recently as yesterday, the updating problem remained for me.
    Following the download and installation of the New Avira 10 (beta) Personal AV, the updating process was exactly as with the free version of Avira 9; the update module would report that it was scanning for updates and it was over two minutes before the updates began to download.
     
Loading...