Have SS, but Cluelessly Updated NOD32 Only...

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by Bizadi, Jan 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bizadi

    Bizadi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Posts:
    79
    Location:
    Tulalip, Wa.
    A few weeks ago I updated NOD32 to v3.0.684.0 (I had been using v3.0.657.0). It just occurred to me that my ESET "[taskbar] interface window" was showing NOD32 only whereas before the update it gave me Smart Security. What do I need to do to change back to Smart Security but still keep v3.0.684.0 of NOD32? Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    You're pretty much screwed. In my experience it would not let me install ESS after that, ended up using windows firewall on that PC, until I get the time to wipe it at least. Also, yes, I did try everything under the sun to fix it.

    In my opinion it is REALLY bad ESET allows you to install EAV over ESS. No warning, nothing. After all the main reason for an AV is to cover human stupidity (in most cases) from getting infected. Where's our cover from stupidity here? :(
     
  3. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
  4. Bizadi

    Bizadi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Posts:
    79
    Location:
    Tulalip, Wa.
    Is it not possible to simply uninstall NOD32 and then d/l and reinstall ESS?
     
  5. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    That might work, not sure. Try it.
     
  6. Bizadi

    Bizadi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Posts:
    79
    Location:
    Tulalip, Wa.
    OK, great - it worked. I first uninstalled NOD32 using the wonderful Revo Uninstaller in its Advanced mode. I then downloaded SysInspector from ESET and scanned for any leftovers (none were found). Then I restarted and downloaded ESS and installed it and, boy howdy, am back in business - - to a point, that is.

    The reason for my upgrading NOD32 to the latest version was b/c I was annoyed that ESET didn't inform me that a new version was available (related thread, my posts begin at #37). Mickhardy showed me how to enable "update program components" (Post #43) for NOD32 but I have not yet found this setting for ESS.

    Any enlightenment would be warmly welcomed.*puppy*
     
  7. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    I'll keep that in mind. :)
     
  8. Bizadi

    Bizadi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Posts:
    79
    Location:
    Tulalip, Wa.
    Sorry, wha? Do you know of a way to enable "update program components" (for NOD or Smart Security) within ESS?
     
  9. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,852
    I wasn't answering your question, I was talking about the uninstaller.

    Here is the answer to your question:

    PCU.jpg


    Keep in mind you won't receive a PCU unless ESET decides it should be pushed.
     
  10. Bizadi

    Bizadi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Posts:
    79
    Location:
    Tulalip, Wa.
    Thanks for your help!
     
  11. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.