Hardening Windows Applications/User permissions

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Gijs007, Nov 2, 2017.

1. Gijs007

Gijs007 Registered Member

I'm looking for a tutorial/guide or book which explains how to harden the Windows Operating system.
    Specifically I'm looking to run certain applications in hardened user accounts, for example by setting their NTFS permissions so that they only have access to what they should.

I'm still learning about hardening Windows. l'm currently looking for abilities to:
    • Find effective permissions for a certain user on a partition, including all folders and subfolders. (To get a list of folders a user has access to)
    • What's causing the user to have these permissions (e.g. groups, default permissions of a user)
    • Other settings which can be used to harden the user account, application or OS.
    I've found a book called Windows Hardening, but it's 10 years old ans based on Windows XP/Server 2003. I'm looking for something which is up to date and can be used on Windows Server 2016.

2. summerheat

summerheat Registered Member

Still the first and best step is using a standard account + Software Restriction Policy (SRP). Use this excellent guide which also contains a section (step 6) about closing loopholes regarding specific folders.

If you're using Windows 10 Fall Creators Update there are additional hardening options covered, e.g., in articles on gHacks - see here and here and here. There have also been discussions in this forum.

Last edited: Nov 2, 2017
  3. Minimalist

Minimalist Registered Member

You can find good guide about hardening Windows 10 on this link: http://www.hardenwindows10forsecurity.com/
    Some of it can be applied to Server 2016, but you should check and test what will work and what not.

4. Gijs007

Gijs007 Registered Member

Thanks, I'll look into these.