Harddisc clone

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Volker Loges, Feb 5, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Volker Loges

    Volker Loges Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    I have a Dell Diemsion System and want to clone the system HDD (Drive C: )

    Unfortunately the Acronis program doesn't allow to select a language in which it appears, so i have to use the german language in which the OS is installed.
    After i selected the clone operation the computer reboots, only a black screen with a blinking cursor is shown, no progress is displayed, windows doesn't show up, nothing happens. I pressed the power button and that let me login to windows again, but the HDD isn't copied nor a message appears about the incomplete operation.

    How could a Dell System harddisc with all it's partitions cloned in such a way that the created HDD could be used as the new boot HDD? The new HDD has a size of 80GB the old one has 40GB.
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Volker Loges,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please make sure that you use the latest build (2337) of Acronis True Image 9.0 which is available at: http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/support/updates/

    To get access to updates you should create an account at:
    http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/my/
    then log in and use your serial number to register your software.

    Please uninstall any previously installed build by following Start -> Settings -> Control Panel -> Add or Remove Programs -> Acronis True Image, prior to installing build 2337.

    Note that you should create new Bootable Rescue CD after installing the update.

    Please also check each partition of your hard drive by Windows utility:

    - For Windows 9x please use Windows menu Start\Run
    then enter the command "scandskw" and test all drives;

    - For Windows XP please use Windows menu Start\Run, then enter the command
    "chkdsk c: /r" "chkdsk d: /r" for every partition of your hard drive.

    Note that you will need to reboot your computer in order to scan the system partition.

    If the problem still persists after installing the update and checking the hard drive then please download the latest version of Acronis drivers, install it with disabled logging and see if the problem still persists.

    If the problem still persists then please also try to perform the disk cloning process when your computer is booted from Bootable Rescue CD created using the latest build (2337) of Acronis True Image 9.0 and see the result.

    If you still unable to clone your hard drive or want to perform the disk cloning process when Acronis True Image 9.0 is running from under Windows anyway then please create Acronis Report and Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Please also make a screen shot of the Device Tree application:

    - Download and unpack the Device Tree application;

    - Run the application;

    - Completely unfold the \Driver\Disk and \Driver\FtDisk branches;

    - Move the margin to the left in order to see all the items;

    - Make a screen shot;

    Please note that the application may crash the system when you exit, so we recommend you to save all your work and close other programs prior to running it.

    Please submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  3. Volker Loges

    Volker Loges Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Hello,

    I have now registered and fetched the update. Need some time to check all the stuff from below. After registering i realized that i have a german version, is it possible to get an english version? I don't remember to have the possibility to select the language at checkout process and would like to use the english version.

    thanks,
    Volker Loges
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Volker,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    If you want to get an English version of Acronis True Image 9.0 instead of the a German version, you should submit a request for technical support containing the information confirming your purchase of Acronis software (order number, e-mail, where did you purchase our product, etc.) and the link to this thread. We will help you as soon as possible.

    Thank you.
    --
    Tatyana Tsyngaeva
     
  5. Volker Loges

    Volker Loges Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Hello,

    i have changed my german version to an english version, which is running ok. The Version from the about dialog is 9.0 (build 2, 337). I just want to clone my system harddisc. So i select Clone Disk/Next/Automatic/Next. I allow to delete partitions at the destination disk and a reboot was then required and done. The reboot happens, but only a black screen with a blinking cursor is shown, no XP-Splash, no login, nothing. After several minutes i pressed the power button and than XP comes up again. No message about the pending clone disk operation. If i now again select clone disk, the delete partition operation seems not be neccessary, only copying partition and copying MBR is left. but i do not know if the partitioning was done correctly. Are there some screendumps here to show a correct clone operation (not only the dialogs, also a description what happens if reboot is required and how long it takes).
    Could someone give me a hint about how to do this task?

    Thanks,
    Volker
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Volker,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please create the bootable rescue media with Acronis True Image 9.0, boot your computer from it and try to clone your old hard drive to the new one in rescue mode.

    Please note that we recommend you to unplug one of the hard drives right after the disk cloning process has been finished, since keeping both original and cloned hard drives connected might cause different boot or drive letter assignment problems.

    If the problem still persists, please create Acronis Report as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Please keep both source and destination hard drives connected while creating Acronis Report.

    Please create an account, then log in and submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Tatyana Tsyngaeva
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.