Hard drive failure!?

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by esteven, May 19, 2015.

  1. esteven

    esteven Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Posts:
    6
    While I was shutting down my desktop the power went out. Ugh! I've been getting failed hard drive errors ever since. I've been pulling my hairs out trying to find a way to get to my files since I made no back ups. Everything I've tried ends in the same way: NOTHING RECOGNIZES THE HARD DRIVE. I tried using a usb version of linux to see if I can mount the hard drive but it wasn't recognized so there was nothing to mount. I already tried using a ton of commands to see if the drive would show up and nothings shows up. At this point I'm thinking about spending the $90 for spinrite but all I've been getting is mixed reviews and I'm not too sure about it.

    I'm just wondering if any of you think there's any hope for my hard drive and whether or not there's anything left I can try before I spend all that money on spinrite :(
     
  2. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,045
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Esteven, your PM system is turned off... turn it on if you want some help with this issue.
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2015
  3. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,045
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    The bigger question is... when you bring your system up in its SETUP screen (BiOS settings), does the BiOS see your hard drive when it's plugged in?

    If it doesn't, it's probably toast... if it does, you may have a chance.
     
  4. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    829
    Location:
    UK
    also does it even spin?
    If it doesnt then it looks dead
     
  5. esteven

    esteven Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Posts:
    6
    It says I'm allowing conversations from members only. I took off the case and touched it and it was warm and I felt it vibrating.
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Does the HD show in the BIOS?
     
  7. esteven

    esteven Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Posts:
    6
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    SATA-0 [Not Detected]

    It doesn't look good. Have you tried unplugging and replugging the HD? Both cables at both ends. Check the BIOS again.
     
  9. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,558
    @esteven
    - do as Brian suggested above (unplug-replug both the sata and the power cable of the ssd).
    if it does not work, try also the following steps (they are very rare bios bugs but have seen them happen once or twice)
    - plug another hdd on another sata ( an Asrock mobo could not recognise the sata hdd unless I pluged-in a second one and could not install windows. After the OS was installed the bios "remembered" the hdd even if the second one was permanently removed)
    - turn off the power supply of the system and press the power button 1-2 times to clear the static electricity that remains. Reset the cmos turn the power supply on and power on the machine again (in some mobos I have seen controllers disappearing from the bios after sudden power loss. In one had "disappeared" the realtek lan chip, on another the audio chip and on the third a marvell sata controller).

    Panagiotis
     
  10. esteven

    esteven Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Posts:
    6
    I had already replugged the sat and power cable's and it didn't do anything.
    I just did this and it said "cmos checksum error" on startup. It let me reset to the default values though so I guess the reset worked. It still doesn't recognize the hard drive though.
    Okay, this I haven't tried because I don't have another hard drive. I guess I'm going to have to go buy one anyway since this hard drive is corrupted so I'll go out and buy one from bestbuy and then try this out.


    Also just wondering, but if this hard drive is dead. I can't recover the files at all, even with a USB universal drive adapter? I was thinking that it was just going to be that the data was simply corrupted because my shutdown was interrupted so there was still a way to retrieve the rest of the data, but it's starting to sound like my computer was "fried" or something and every single byte is gone.
     
  11. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,517
    Is you drive a HDD or SSD? The other thing you can try is to unplug the power cord off the outlet, unplug from any surge protector/socket, then replug every power cords again. This happened to me once. Everything else I tried failed (clearing CMOS, drain the statics by pressing power button etc) but unplug and replug all power cords worked.
     
  12. esteven

    esteven Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Posts:
    6
    It is an HDD. I'll try to replug every little wire I see then lol
     
  13. esteven

    esteven Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Posts:
    6
    Yay! I was able to get my hard drive recognized by running "windows startup repair". After about an hour or two the hard drive was still corrupted but at last linux was finally able to see the drive and I was able to grab all my files. Thank all of you for helping so so very much.
     
  14. Keatah

    Keatah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Posts:
    853
    Spin rite does nothing more than rewrite/reformat sectors which weren't written correctly due to glitches. And those "repaired" sectors are fresh full of zeros.

    Do you think this incident taught you a lesson to be more diligent about backups?
     
Loading...