Hard Disk Manager Error when Restoring to New Drive of Different Size

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by LizS, Sep 29, 2014.

  1. LizS

    LizS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014
    Posts:
    5
    I created a complete backup (along with MBR and Recovery partitions) of my RAID0 drive (1.3Tb capacity with 400gb of data), with the plan to restore to a single 1 Tb drive . Was referred to use Paragon BR Free from a tech site that had done this process with RAID0>>non-RAID and Paragon successfully.

    I created a boot drive on USB thumb drive and the complete backup on a USB external hard drive. When I go to restore (after erasing RAID array and installing new hard drive), there is one folder called arc_310714191732627 which contains all the backup items, the files in the folder total about 400gb, which is how much data I had.

    IN Paragon Recovery program and the master archive has 3 different choices of what to restore, and the hard drive C: portion says that it is 1.3TB in size with only 400gb of data, why am I unable to restore this 400GB only, am getting a hard disk manager error ox 0x1001b.

    Surely there is a way to get system to accept and restore this 400gb of data, tricking the system somehow?
     
  2. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,278
    In general, it´s not possible to restore to a smaller disk space, although sometimes it can be done. It depends on several factors, including the software used, the distribution of the used sectors in the partitions, and how the disk is prepared before creating the image. I would try to restore to the same original disk configuration, and then plan carefully the operation.
     
  3. LizS

    LizS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014
    Posts:
    5
    Robin,
    I backed up the RAID0 volume with Paragon Backup and Recover Free, then erased the RAID volume which erased all the data on the RAIDED disks. Then installed my new single drive which has plenty of space for the 400gb of data that was backed up. I never dreamed that somehow the new drive would need the same amount of space as the RAIDed drives. So I cannot go back and repeat the backup.
     
  4. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    Hello LizS;

    Try this;
    Restore the image you have made using Paragon to the original 1.3 TB hard drive.
    Provided the restore is successful, shrink the active partition on the 1.3GB hard drive containing the 400GB of data to something under 1TB (say 500GB).
    Image the newly sized 500GB partition. Image everything, including the MBR.
    Restore the image of the 500GB partition to the new 1TB hard drive.
    If successful, resize the 500GB partition to the size you require.

    Good luck !
     
  5. LizS

    LizS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014
    Posts:
    5
    I like the idea, crossing my fingers that it'll work.
    So I need to put the 2 - 750gb drives back into my computer and recreate the RAID0 array, that is what made the 1.3Tb drive. (And one of those kept intermittently failing, which is why I was cancelling the RAID and bought a new single drive, so I kind of hate to rely on it again).
    When you suggest shrinking the active partition, do you mean to go into a partition management program (Like Paragon) and change the size of the partition? what does that do to the data that I've just restored? What is to be done with remaining unpartitioned space, do I need to make a partition of the remaining space too?
     
  6. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    Based on your original post, I thought you were dealing with a single 1.5 Terabyte hard drive- not two 750GB drives.
    I assume that you have data on both of the 750GB drives.
    It should be possible to move all of the data you will want to image onto just one of the 750GB drives.
    Provided all of the 400GB of data has been consolidated onto one 750GB drive, it should then be easy to image that drive and then restore the image to the 1 Terabyte drive. This method will eliminate the need to change the original partition size as mentioned in my first post.

    One more thought;
    what operating system are you imaging ?
    Is the imaging software you are using fully compatible with that OS ?

    As long as you are not encountering any software compatibility issue, the above should work.
     
  7. LizS

    LizS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2014
    Posts:
    5
    My original configuration is a pair of 750gb drives in a RAID0 array, I have Windows 7 Home Premium - 64bit.
    With RAID0, the two drives are treated as one, so I can't copy all the data to one drive while in an array. If I delete the array, it deletes the data.
    We are in the Paragon Backup and Recovery forum folder, so that is the imaging software I am using. I am assuming that it is compatible with Win7-64.
    I have reinstalled the 2 drives and recreated the RAID0 array, am ready to start recovery with Paragon Free to get back to where I started.
    From there ... well, I guess I'll have to see what happens, if I am unable to change partition size.
     
Loading...