HandyBits VirusScan Integrator

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by StevieO, Dec 18, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. StevieO

    StevieO Guest

    Hi,

    Does anybody know anything about this ?

    . . .

    http://www.handybits.com/vsi.htm


    StevieO
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 18, 2005
  2. I can't seem to download this software even by googling the links are down.

    Any downloaded it? what about you Stevie?
     
  3. StevieO

    StevieO Guest

    Hi ntbf,

    That's a bit strange ! I just DL it myself from the link i posted, and scanned it at Jottis, which came back clean.

    Here's another link that works http://www.soft32.com/download_77.html

    OS: Windows 9x/NT/Me/2K

    Hope you have better luck with this one. Let us know what you think of HVI.


    StevieO
     
  4. Joliet Jake

    Joliet Jake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    Scotland
    Haven't tried it but found this on it...

    Freeware that lets you manage two Antivirus programs at the same time. Very useful if you use more than one Antivirus program, (eg. if one is better for worms and the other for Trojans).
     
  5. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    I cant remember properly but teknum systems and handybits programmes seem to ring an alarm bell.Im sure i used one of thier programmes ages ago and had do delete some .dll file from system to remove teknum systems from registry.
    ellison
     
  6. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    Read the information in this link: http://www.baltimoresun2.com/talk/printthread.php?t=871

     
  7. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    Yes thats it nadirah..it seems teknum systems uses a very protective updater that doesnt like to be removed though there is a downloadable tool to disable it hidden away in thier privacy policy section at the handybits site.I remember i had to delete an ssmenu.dll to stop it reloading.It was years ago that this happened and to be honest i didnt know about any tool to disable it at that time.Personally after that experience and seeing how much the updater intrudes on a system i wouldnt touch it with a bargepole again.
    ellison
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.