Hacking Team hacked

Discussion in 'privacy general' started by mirimir, Jul 5, 2015.

  1. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,825
    Location:
    Outer space
  2. caspian

    caspian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Posts:
    2,311
    Location:
    Oz
  3. dogbite

    dogbite Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Posts:
    1,184
    Location:
    EU
    I guess they carry on trying until success.
     
  4. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,869
    Re - Florida Cops et al

    It doesn't matter what/who sends etc you malware etc. If you have methods/apps etc in place to prevent stuff running without your permission, you're safe ;)

    I got hold of Finfisher .Gov spyware a while ago & tried to run it with Admin on my comp. But the measures i have in place stopped it DEAD :D
     
  5. caspian

    caspian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Posts:
    2,311
    Location:
    Oz
    Just out of curiosity, what do you use to prevent these things? Are you running Windows?
     
  6. deBoetie

    deBoetie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,247
    Location:
    UK
    I wouldn't be too complacent just on the basis of stopping Gamma or Hacking Team. This is not an area where there any guarantees of safety, only relative degrees of protection against the amount of money and time your adversary has. And they only need one weakness in your defences (or in those around you).
     
  7. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,869
    @ caspian

    Re - NOT getting infected

    Yes i'm on XP/SP2 with NO MS updates, & very happily been infection free since installing, & reinstalling on newer PC's, for over 10 years !

    Well first off you're using SD, so that's a Big plus. But who wants to be infected anyway whilst in SD or VM mode ? Because even though we can reboot etc & start afresh, we could have lost valuable work etc we were doing in the interim. Also however much time was involved in doing that work.

    So, you need a good Anti/EXE/SYS installed which prevents any of those running, unless you allow it/them. You can also set it to prompt/block things such as, CMD.exe/regedit.exe/regedt32.exe etc etc, & ONLY allow them to run on a case by case basis, for eg if you were installing something.

    And a good AntiKeylogger with Key/Password scrambler. This could be included in a HIPS, or vice versa, or a seperate HIPS.

    A decent bidirectional FW, even if you have a router.

    Get a Windows Script etc etc prompter/blocker, & i Don't mean a browser Script blocker, but one of those is advisable too. WSB = sdefend.exe - Add in as many extra ,extentions as you like.

    Look up these & see if they will work on your PC. BugOff.exe - DCOMbob.exe - UnPnP.exe - wwdc.exe - dsostop2.exe - htastop.exe - Plus get Autoruns.exe & see what's running & disable or delete what you don't need.

    There any numerous other things i've disabled in Windows, but i can't remember everything i did !

    I'm Fully aware that nothings perfect, & other people do things differently, but i ain't complaining after All these years :D

    Let me know how you get on
     
  8. caspian

    caspian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Posts:
    2,311
    Location:
    Oz
    Thanks for all of the tips. That's a lot. I am using SD and sandboxie. I have recently added EXERadar Pro. I guess that's an antiexecutable. I have Malwarebytes Pro. I am going to add a firewall. I'll have to look into some of the other things you mentioned. Thanks.
     
  9. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,869
    I'm glad you got back to me, as i thought you had forgotten etc !

    You're well covered already, but adding a good FW won't hurt. Plus if you find & use any of the things i mentioned, it's a bonus.

    All the best
     
  10. caspian

    caspian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Posts:
    2,311
    Location:
    Oz
    I apologize. I am not on here like I use to be. I've had a lot of family issues and all sorts of things going on. But I value your input very highly and I appreciate all that you have shared here over the years. Thanks so much!:thumb:
     
  11. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,869
    @ caspian

    Thanx for your Thanks :) I don't post as much either these days !
     
  12. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    6,133
Loading...