Hacker Hits Kaspersky Website

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by ronjor, Oct 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,755
    Location:
    Texas
  2. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    was just literally about to post this..
     
  3. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    I was just thinking "This isn't the first time Kaspersky's www's have been hijacked " and there it is in the link :D

    Amazing that Any AV vendors www could be compromised, but twice :eek: that's just sloppy & careless, and their IT etc people need some serious talking to and retraining ASAP :p

    I wonder if Kaspersky will compensate any/all affected ?
     
  4. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    It,s broken record ... this one,s or that one,s site compromised. Like any OS can be compromised, similarly any site can be compromised by targeted attack. It,s no surprise IMO.
     
  5. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    @ aigle

    Not really !

    We might expect a one person or smallish company www with not much clue to get compromised, as they do every day as seen in for eg MDL etc. But not medium to large companies etc with dedicated IT depts, and Especially companies who are "supposed" to be at the leading edge of understanding malware exploits etc etc :eek:

    What kind of an example is that ! and the've let it happen again :D I would have thought the embarrasment of the first time would be enough to make certain it never occurred ever again !

    The rogues who did it must be ~ Snipped as per TOS ~ themselves laughing.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 19, 2010
  6. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    very true lol:D
     
  7. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,531
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
    This is not good for them :blink:
     
  8. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    true that:thumb:
     
  9. Kyle1420

    Kyle1420 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Posts:
    479
    This is another example of why site advisors\ranking systems are not 100% effective.

    Isolate your web browser :thumb:
     
  10. steve1955

    steve1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Posts:
    1,384
    Location:
    Sunny(in my dreams)Manchester,England
    the way kis 2011 works at moment users may have less problems if they DID install the rogue!
     
  11. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    It like seeing a Fire Station on Fire...
     

    Attached Files:

  12. tookerjeff

    tookerjeff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Posts:
    90
    OMG! Haven't looked at the Kaspersky forums yet, but I wonder if the Mods are working triple time regarding this?

    Btw, wasn't one of Bitdefender's security branches breached during the same time that Kaspersky was the first time? I thought people using Bullguard were also affected since it used the Bitdefender engine (of course other AV's do to)

    If I remember correctly, I think F-Secure had some kind of problem within so many months before the first attack on Kaspersky. Also, Symantec was injected too though they kept stating nothing was compromised (around the same time Kaspersky was hit the first time, though I don't know if it was the same hacker?)
     
  13. tookerjeff

    tookerjeff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Posts:
    90
    One wonders how many of these things probably go on though on a daily basis that an AV vendor's customers don't know about! :p
     
  14. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,049
    Location:
    USA
    I could excuse it the first time but each additional time it happens... :ouch:
     
  15. Baz_kasp

    Baz_kasp Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    593
    Location:
    London

    It was the US site both times...one wonders if the people in charge of the US website are competent.

    Also on a side note, even the mighty Microsoft got owned recently: (albeit with penis pills) theregister.co.uk/2010/10/12/microsoft_ips_hijacked/
     
  16. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Oh, I would say as competent as the people who hired them.
     
  17. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,049
    Location:
    USA
    I'll give credit for the fact that it is difficult to keep up with a site in another country from the main company but if they care about their image they had better make sure someone very competent is put in charge of that site real fast. ;)

    Not good on Microsoft's part either. They way people are leaving there I hope the last one remembers to shut down the servers on their way out.
     
  18. InfinityAz

    InfinityAz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Arizona
    :thumb: :eek:
     
  19. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    sites are based on servers where you have to open ports for clients to download which make them 24/7 visible and vulnerable on net also they have static ip which is second big problem even you are behind gateway hackers know your ip and also know that you are up(ie online) so they keep trying for jackpot :D

    its like bunch of guys playing in Vegas some time they win and it could happen any where is las vegas :D

    same rule with sites so no big deal it could happen to any site :D

    but in home pc things are different you get all ports closed secondly most of us have dynamic ip which keep changing there is no such things as user is up until you are infected or bad firewall/router configuration .....etc

    so in short jackpot are very less chances to happen as compare to server until you done something foolish.

    at end i like to add i like KIS very much al thou i use linux most but when even i use my windows i still relay on KIS this stunt doesn't make me change my mind. :D
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2010
  20. smage

    smage Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    377
    LOL:)

    Hmm I wonder which AV company will fall in this trap next!
     
  21. markcc

    markcc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    185
    Location:
    Michigan, usa
    My laptop has GData on it & it would not let that site load. I thought it may have been a fp, guess not!
     
  22. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    hate to say but i agree...
     
  23. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    lol very sadly true
     
  24. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    USA
    Dumped KAV 2011 after it was very buggy on my computer. Now using Emsisoft AM and happy I made the switch.
     
  25. ace11

    ace11 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Posts:
    98
    I also dumped KIS 2011 due to its bugs and bad service.
    Now I use NIS 2011 and i'm very happy with that choice.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.