GUI closing on bootup/BBlean shell

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by fred22, Dec 29, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fred22

    fred22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Posts:
    229
    Hi, i'm using this shell replacement for some time now

    its called blackbox/bblean

    the only problem is that Look'nStop's GUI closes on bootup when i hover the mouse over it in systray
    its still running in the background(taskmanager)

    note: im also using processguard and "Secure message handling" ticked

    then i restart look'n'stop and all is working good

    is there any log? or something to check whats causing this error?

    im using latest 2.05p3 beta

    here some links,info on bblean shell

    http://bb4win.sourceforge.net/bblean/
    http://browse.deviantart.com/skins/themes/blackbox/
    http://xoblite.net/plugins.html

    im guessing look'nstop has problem with skin replacement?

    anyway.. Happy holidays and happy newyear to all
     

    Attached Files:

  2. fred22

    fred22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Posts:
    229
    heres pic from event viewer,it shows an application error
    i have no clue whats wrong though lol..
     

    Attached Files:

  3. fred22

    fred22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Posts:
    229
    i reinstalled lns 2.5p3

    so far so good but check the screenshot and notice that the skin apears diff as previous screen .. same settings,msstyle
     

    Attached Files:

  4. SimonW

    SimonW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Posts:
    115
    Location:
    Leicester, UK
    Hi Fred22,

    I also use bblean (and have done for about the last 6 months) with absolutely no problems with LooknStop.

    Have you tried turning off the skinning part of bblean just for LnS ? You can edit the bb exclusions.rc file and add looknstop.exe. Although I note that when I open my copy of LooknStop from the tray it is not being automatically skinned and it is not in the excelusions.rc file. I did have to add nod32kui.exe to this file for example to stop gui problems being caused.

    BTW I think bblean is great once you've tweaked it to your own requirements and has a smaller memory footprint than the standard windows explorer shell.

    SimonW
     
  5. fred22

    fred22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Posts:
    229
    hey, good tip about the exclusions.rc, although noprobs atm after reinstall LnS

    also nod32 works good whitout adding it to exclusions.rc .. its using its own skin though

    happy newyear m8!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.