Grrr Prevx uninstalled itself

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by pling_man, May 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    465
    Location:
    UK
    I turned my laptop on this morning and noticed prevx was not running again.

    This time the desktop prevx icon had also disappeared (it has never done this before).

    When I investigated further, I found my C:\Program Files\Prevx folder was not there and prevx was not listed in add/remove programs in the control panel.

    In short, prevx has uninstalled itself again. Something is doing this; i'm not making it up. I don't have time to re-install now as I need to go to work. Will look tonight.

    Are there any logs I should look in before I reinstall tonight? I would quite like to get this fixed. I had a quick look in windows event viewer but don't know what i'm looking for to be honest.

    Edit: I just found this: \DRIVER\KBFPX blocked by Kaspersky. But why does this uninstall prevx??
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    try to establish when and how it was removed. There should be a trail in the logs
     
  3. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,544
    Ask for a remote support ticket.
    Let them take look. :thumb:
     
  4. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    I experienced the same thing last night. I thought it was connected with some malware I removed which required a reboot. After reboot Prevx was no longer on my computer.
     
  5. leofelix

    leofelix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Posts:
    171
    Location:
    Italy
    Hi all
    it happened to me too today in the early morning.

    I thought I was still sleeping.:eek:

    PREVX (full) completely disappeared while I was surfing (main browser is Firefox 3.6.3).
    As I use MBAM Pro as well, I had also thought MBAM could have deleted it, but it was impossible since MalwareBytes' AntiMalware would have prompted me.

    I had to download a new copy, reinstall and activate PREVX again,

    O.S Windows 7 Home Premium x64


    Cheers
     
  6. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    I am using Windows 7 Ultimate x64. That's very odd. Three of us experiencing it. :eek: Thought I was crazy for a while and had uninstalled it somehow by mistake. :s
     
  7. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Joe is aware of this issue as it happened to me Sunday evening and I sent him a PM as I didn't see any other post on the issue hopefully they will be looking into it now! Ever since I reinstalled Prevx 3.0.5.140 RC version because it is my preference all has been fine! And mine disappeared during a Prevx scan and there was no sign of it anywhere!

    HTH,

    TH
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2010
  8. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    this sounds then like a interesting bug, if it can be described like that ;)
     
  9. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    Ok, so now four of us have experienced it. Imagine how many that could've experienced this bug globally. Hopefully, it's a rare glitch. :)
     
  10. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    We're investigating this further and should hopefully have some answers soon - thanks for the information :)
     
  11. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    465
    Location:
    UK
    I will re-install now - I know the prevx team will do their best to sort it out.
     
  12. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    465
    Location:
    UK
    I just found this in my KIS 2010 HIPs filter. This REMCSI.BAT ran at the time the incident happened this morning.
    (the ForceUninstall.exe entry is from this evening's prep for new install)

    PS. I have re-installed now, and friends with prevx again :D
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I use Prevx with NOD32 and I had the problem so it's not necessarily KIS! And I'm using Win 7 32bit so it's not a just a 64bit issue either! But they will find the problem and fix it as usual :thumb:

    TH
     
  14. SvS

    SvS Security Expert

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Posts:
    57
    Had a look at this thread, checked my system - and yes, PrevX apparently uninstalled itself here too.
     
  15. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    465
    Location:
    UK
    I'm not saying its KIS2010!.

    KIS is telling me that something called REMCSI.BAT ran to do the uninstall. I don't know if this is a prevx file or something malicious.

    In this instance KIS is being helpful.

    (when do we get the beer btw ;) )
     
  16. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    No it's true any info that we can supply would be helpful as I checked all my Event viewer logs and NOD32 logs and nothing was reported on my system!

    (And your Guinness is on it's way :D)

    TH
     
  17. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    So at least 5 of us on Wilders had Prevx uninstalled. They must be overwhelmed with e-mails from customers around the globe. I bet we'll see a new release within a day or two! Prevx-team is epic.
     
  18. Baz_kasp

    Baz_kasp Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Posts:
    593
    Location:
    London

    Remcsi.bat is a standard cleanup script that prevx runs when the uninstaller is invoked.
     
  19. pling_man

    pling_man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Posts:
    465
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks. I'm hoping the new 3.0.5.143 release fixes this problem. If so we can break out the champagne (and I have my Guinness ;) )
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2010
  20. kingaljr

    kingaljr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Posts:
    22
    Same here. I fired up the old computer and Prevx was gone and I did a reinstall. XP-SP3 also with KIS10.
     
  21. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    Booted up about 15 mins ago, and after Prevx connected out the tray icon dissapeared ?

    v3.0.5.140 XP SP2

    Right clicked on Start/Programs/Prevx and it launched, connected out, and is now running o_O
     
  22. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Update to the newest version 3.0.5.143! http://info.prevx.com/downloadprevx.asp

    TH
     
  23. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    @Triple Helix

    Thanks 5 Stars ;) I prefer to wait until the dust settles, and let Prevx update itself. As i was able to restart it, i'll see how it goes.
     
  24. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Click on "Check for Updates" via the GUI! ;)

    (Did you receive your Beer? :D )

    TH
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2010
  25. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Hello all :)
    We've corrected this issue - due to a proactive antipiracy measure we had put in place in new installs of .140. The overall scope is relatively small but as the Wilders community generally runs the RC versions and updates extremely quickly, you all will likely be hit worse. Globally the problem only affected about 500 users and we're instructing everyone to reinstall with the new version .143 which is now released. .143 is also out for automatic upgrade so no other users will run into this.

    Thanks for the fast reporting and assistance with this problem! :thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.