GreenBorder Pro Comments

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Rilla927, Nov 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,710
    Hi folks,

    I'm trialing GreenBorder and would like to hear from past and present users experiences whether good or bad.

    It's running 60-65K at an idle with no windows open, this seems like a lot.

    Does anyone know of anyone getting infected while running this software?

    When your in one of these virtual sessions and you have filled in passwords and such and then you encounter malware will they be able to see/steal the information before you clean/reset.

    Thanks
     
  2. brekmeister

    brekmeister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    I am running the latest version of GreenBorder and it comes in around 25K, with multiple GreenBorder protected windows open. In any case, 65K does not seem like a lot to me in this day and age. You are not running this on an Intel 386, are you? :D :p (Symantec's rtvscan.exe alone is about 25K and that's not counting their UI component and their other exe's).

    So far I've been very happy with GreenBorder.

    As far as the virus question goes, I found the KeyLabs report (a 3rd party security testing company) to be an interesting read. They evaluated version 2.8 of GreenBorder's Enterprise Edition (which is basically GreenBorder Pro plus protection for Outlook and a server component to manage the clients). KeyLabs subjected GreenBorder to their full virus database and found that nothing made it through; "perfect system integrity was maintained".

    You can find a copy of the report here:
    http://www.greenborder.com/resources/GreenBorder_KeyLabs_Report.pdf
    Just remember, in this report you'll see GreenBorder's Outlook protection tested also, which does not apply to the consumer version that is available on download.com (Outlook protection is not available in the consumer version of GreenBorder).

    This guy also put eight differrent security virtualization software to the test:
    http://www.techsupportalert.com/security_virtualization.htm
    His conclusion was that out of the eight products he tested, only GreenBorder passed with flying colors.

    I hope this is useful to you.
     
  3. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,710
    It's run on an AMD 64 Athlon. I keep getting the k mixed up with the megabyte when I look in the task manager. So I thought it was actually 60-65Megabyte.



    Thank you very much. I do like the program.
     
  4. brekmeister

    brekmeister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    No biggie. I just couldn't resist pointing it out - sorry. :p

    But seriously, you can actually streamline it a little bit...

    For example, if you click on View Activity Monitor (from the tray menu), and uncheck "Show alerts when programs start" you get rid of one process (GBShow.exe) which on my machine is about 14+ MB.

    There might be other optimizations, but I'm not too worried about it... :)
     
  5. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,710
    No problem!

    Thanks for the tip.

    I find this program quite amazing.
     
  6. bs259

    bs259 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Posts:
    141
    Location:
    Queens, NYC
    Does anybody know if greenborder is compatibile with AOL and Microsoft Office 2007?

    I have installed the greenborder trial and attempted to see if i get the green border around aol and office 2007 components and I do not. I do however get it around everything else i have tested (I havent tested too much else though)
     
  7. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,710
    I just had GB help me out with a problem they fixed immediately with Firefox and I told them I had a problem also trying to get Outlook 2003 to work with GB and they don't support it as of this point, only in the enterprise edition.

    But he did tell me it worked with all web based email, so it should work with AOL. If your having problems with it contact support@greenborder.com they will take care of it.

    Hope this helps,
     
  8. bs259

    bs259 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Posts:
    141
    Location:
    Queens, NYC

    Thank you for the reply and the information you provided but i did not mean AOL on the Web. I meant AOL 9.0, I am still waiting for an answer from greenborder support but im pretty sure i will not get one before monday at the earliest.

    Billy S.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.