Green and Blue Tabs

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by Tarnak, Sep 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    This is confusing...I have previously reported problems with Ad Muncher and Prevx not working together. I have also emailed Joe, recently about it.

    Presently I have two versions of Opera running, v9.27 and v10.10. One has the green tab and the other the blue. See screenshot.

    It has me perplexed.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    I would suspect that the Prevx copy which is blue is not able to identify the URL accurately. If you click on the browser tab, does it say "Unknown" for the addresses?

    If this is the case, I know a few members here have found solutions but I don't use Opera enough to say why it would be happening.
     
  3. Scoobs72

    Scoobs72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Posts:
    1,108
    Location:
    Sofa (left side)
    Try disabling Defensewall (or rather, running them as trusted) and see what results you get.
     
  4. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    Been away for the day, and not in this snapshot at present. I will check, soon. ;)
     
  5. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    I also have a doubt related to this same topic.

    If I open SafeOnline in IE, for example, there's some pre-configured stuff, and https has everything covered while http does not.

    But, if I enter a http website, then it says maximum protection in it, and it even displays a green icon.

    Could someone shed some lights on this?


    Thank you


    Edit: Sorry for hijacking this thread, but considering the doubts are kind of similar, I think it would be stupid to start a new thread. I apologize for any inconvinience.
     
  6. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    I'm easy...more the merrier! :)
     
  7. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,766
    Location:
    Outer space
    Are you sure that the http website is not pre-configured or added to the list of protected sites?(Opening the configuration while visiting a site also automatically adds it for max protection.) Also, to clarify about the small tab, a checkmark is for HTTP sites and a lock for HTTPS sites. The green color means protection is medium or higher, and everything lower is blue.
     
  8. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    My doubt is not with the green and blue checkmarks.

    SafeOnline has pre-configured settings for both HTTP and HTTPS. HTTPS has maximum security settings applied. HTTP doesn't.

    When protecting a HTTP site, I can see that, according to SafeOnline it has maximum settings applied.
    Shouldn't, according to the pre-configured HTTP security settings, every site I add with HTTP have the same security settings applied?

    That's what is confusing me.
     
  9. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I find it easy I have all HTTPS set to max which is default and all HTTP set to High without issues which gives Green Tab on all web pages!

    HTH,

    TH

    Capture23-09-2010-1.56.59 PM.jpg Capture23-09-2010-1.56.27 PM.jpg
     
  10. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,766
    Location:
    Outer space
    Ok like that. Every HTTP site you visit is already protected by those pre-configured HTTP settings, so you don't need to add them. If you do add them, then SafeOnline will apply maximum settings for that site.
     
  11. Creer

    Creer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,345
    Hi,

    I've noticed the same issue under Opera 10.62 (latest version). It's very odd because after installation PrevX SO everything works well until I ran CCleaner - after that I see blue (Host name and IP address: Unknown) PrevX SO tabs only under Opera.
     
  12. Creer

    Creer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,345
    This doesn't help. Still I see blue tabs under Opera browser.
     
  13. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  14. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Hello,

    I had done that. But, I found it odd, when I saw that HTTP sites would be fully protected, when the pre-configured settings had far less features on to be protected.

    :)

    Cheers
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.