gotomypc.com

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by LenC, Jul 24, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LenC

    LenC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    CT, USA
    I have been testing this program to remotely access my son's computer when he is back at college. (He's home for the summer:eek: )

    Program works like a charm and exactly as advertised - I can remotely access his computer and operate it as if I were sitting in front of it. This isn't meant to be an advertisement, but it really is impressive.

    Here's the problem - I was told by the tech desk at his school that they block programs like this from accessing computers on their network. I am not one to understand the technical issues here, but I can understand the potential security issues. So, if I try to sign on to his computer, I will not see him as active/available even if he is in fact connected to the internet.

    Anyone have any thoughts on this - any other possible solutions? I would like to access the computer to run backups, scans etc - all the things I know my son will forget to do.

    Thanks,
    Len
     
  2. Fontaine

    Fontaine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Posts:
    245
    I'm no expert, but I would think they could only block the port the program uses to communicate over. For example, you could try remote desktop, but it uses port 3389 (typically, unless configured otherwise) and is subject to being blocked...especially if the admin sees traffic on that port and knows no one should be communicating over it.

    What you can do, and it's a bit of a process but works well, is look into ssl explorer. I created a domain name through dyndns (it's free) and then created an account with 3sp to use ssl explorer. I have a site that i log into, for example mysite.dyndns.org and it takes me to the ssl explorer front end. From there, I can use remote desktop plugins. The beauty of it all, is that ssl explorer uses HTTPS which is port 443 and when it gets to the target computer it routes through to the remote desktop port. It's a heck of a project, so you have to be serious about wanting to get into his computer. ;)
    The key is that it uses port 443 so it's masked as HTTPS traffic. School block that port and they block all sites that secure logins (banks, school accounts etc).

    Other than that, don't really know of a way, assuming they are blocking the remote desktop port. You could always change the port for RD, but they will see the traffic and most likely block it.
     
  3. KookyMan

    KookyMan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Posts:
    367
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    You could also try VNC, or as I have started using UltraVNC. It allows outgoing connections (Son would hit the button to send the connection to you). Downside is you would need to have him sitting at the PC to establish the connection, though I doubt that is much of an issue as I'm presuming that it is to allow you to help him with computer troubles.

    And you can set it to use virtually any port, so port based blocking wouldn't work.
     
  4. axial

    axial Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Posts:
    477
    CrossLoop i s another one, it uses TightVNC. It's very, very, very easy to set up.
     
  5. LenC

    LenC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Fontaine - I'm not the swiftest around a computer. I Know I can't do what you have described - wish I could.:doubt:

    KookyMan - I'm going to look at UltraVNC.

    Axial - I will look at Crossloop also.

    Thanks for your help!
     
  6. LenC

    LenC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Axial -

    Are you suggesting Crossloop to access my son's computer? If yes, I don't see how it would work for that purpose.
     
  7. axial

    axial Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Posts:
    477
    oops, sorry, Len, I realize now you were meaning that your son wouldn't have to be available to initiate the connection with you. You're right, CrossLoop wouldn't work in that scenario.
     
  8. Coolio10

    Coolio10 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,124
  9. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
  10. caspian

    caspian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Oz
    I'm a little confused. Why would you want to access your son's computer remotely? Does he know that you are doing this?
     
  11. LenC

    LenC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Yes, he would know. I would just want to check the status of the computer to be sure it is being scanned, backed up, and updated.

    I have these processes all set to run automatically overnight, but would still like to check it. We're talking about a dazed and confused liberal arts major - and I'm his tech support.

    I know, I'm a hovering parent who worries to much.:oops:
     
  12. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,912
    So Coolio10 & emperordarius, teamviewer sounds most interesting (and free)! So about once a month we travel to Boston from PA to visit the kids. I take a notebook pc with me. Say I'm in Boston for three days and on day one, "Giveaway of the Day" has some app I'd really like to install on the desktop in PA. To remotely access the desktop, do I need teamviewer installed on the notebook in Boston or on the desktop? It also states you can remote boot. That would really be great, then I wouldn't even need to keep the desktop on.
    Thanks for replies!
     
  13. Coolio10

    Coolio10 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,124
    Teamviewer would need to be installed on the desktop. And can be run without installation on the notebook. I think your confused about the remote boot. It allows remote reboot not boot. I don't think any software in the world can turn your computer on when its off :D. But you could atleast unplug all the componenents such as monitor, mouse, keyboard, to save energy.
     
  14. LenC

    LenC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Posts:
    846
    Location:
    CT, USA
    Teamviewer does look impressive - and a lot cheaper than the $20/month charged by gotomypc.com (with similar functionality)!

    I will definitely give it a try.
     
  15. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,912
    Your correct, my mistake! Another question, since you can wake a pc from standby by just moving the mouse, would you be able to wake it from standby remotely?
     
  16. Coolio10

    Coolio10 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,124
    I would think so, but you should still try it out before leaving.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.