Google to launch a new Browser

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by tradetime, Sep 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nomarjr3

    nomarjr3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Posts:
    502
    Fastest browser I have ever tried!
     
  2. Sportscubs1272

    Sportscubs1272 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Posts:
    341
    So Chrome uses some form of sandbox technology so I need another sandbox to protect me from exploits? o_O
     
  3. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,214
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    As noted: didn't take long...exploit city ...for a while: beta baby, beta
    http://blogs.zdnet.com/security/?p=1843

    @Ilya:
    Amazing..:)
    ( whatever you are on I want some..:D )
     
  4. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    I just fully finished with it. So, if you "want some" right now- mail me and I'll send you a link back.
     
  5. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
    it's rather odd but Java is not working and not listed under plugins in my Google Chrome.
    Why ?
     
  6. Espresso

    Espresso Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Posts:
    976
    If you mean javascript, yes, I noticed that too. Some javascripts do work, and others not (the Quick links drop down menu doesn't work here.)
     
  7. tetsuo55

    tetsuo55 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Posts:
    126
    If you mean full java then you need the newest version

    You can report this bug straight from the website, it can even make a screenshot for you

    click on the page button and then the bottom option, broken or non woking website
     
  8. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Re: Google Chrome

    Quote xellos from over at SB's Forum
     
  9. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    From the End User License Agreement:
     
  10. Bensec

    Bensec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Posts:
    177
    Location:
    China Changsha

    Great Gear with Blazing speed. Nice.
    BTW:there is one more code I wound add - about:crash
     
  11. HungJuri

    HungJuri Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Posts:
    104
    Location:
    USA
    I am suspicious. Why is this thing installing into Documents And Settings and not into the normal Program Files? That plus the End-User agreement I don't trust.
     
  12. Bensec

    Bensec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Posts:
    177
    Location:
    China Changsha
    as to privacy, one thing rised my concernv:

    today, for the first time, i post a post in the google code project , and Surprisingly, I found my post addressed under my real name !! I cant find any related info in my google profile. and at last I recalled that I once joined a reunion group in Google Groups. and my nick there is my real name. This has frustrated me so much. I begin losing confidence in my privacy on google. too many profiles without a unified option panel.
     
  13. Bensec

    Bensec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Posts:
    177
    Location:
    China Changsha
    I guess, google take it as a real service program just like GoogleGears:blink:
     
  14. oddworld

    oddworld Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Posts:
    82
    Is there an auto complete in Chrome?

    How do I get it to work?
     
  15. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
  16. emperordarius

    emperordarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1,218
    Location:
    Who cares
  17. Bensec

    Bensec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Posts:
    177
    Location:
    China Changsha
    thx for the link emperordarius. it offers a good read.
     
  18. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,845
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    I am so sorry, I was utterly wrong. I must have gotten confused somehow (must have had both firefox and chrome open at the same time)
    I just installed it again and Roboform is not there.
    Sorry.

    (jeez, whats the matter with me)

    Now chrome works for me (it was Looknstop that for some reason block chrome, must´ve given it just session permisson)
    Chrome is really, really fast in rendering pages, we´re talking K-meleon speed here :)
    I just hope we will in the future be able to use extensions in it, I must have the ability to move the tabs where ever I want and have mouse gestures :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2008
  19. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    957
    Its great,but i have a problem reading pages like Wilders.Is there a way to stop web sites setting there own font size.I can increase current page size but is there a way to keep all web pages bigger
     
  20. ambient_88

    ambient_88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    854
    It's normal for programs to sometimes install themselves in the AppData/Documents & Settings folder. For example, the latest version of Yahoo! Messenger for Vista installs itself in the AppData folder (hidden).
     
  21. PROROOTECT

    PROROOTECT Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Posts:
    1,102
    Location:
    HERE ...Fort Lee, NJ
  22. virtumonde

    virtumonde Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    504
    :thumb: Well it's fast on my machine.Much faster than firefox or opera without any addons.All bookmarks ware imported succesfuly from FF.Luckily my Internet download Manager (with a few exceptions),can integrate & take over the downloads.Spent a couple of minutes on deviant art browsing images ,no slowdon noticed.So all i want is something like ad block plus,and to work with sandboxie(i've seen a couple of incompatibilties already reported ,in sandboxie forum but it's only the 1st day).
     
  23. kwismer

    kwismer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Posts:
    240
    Re: Google Chrome

    i'm with xellos, i don't like it... chrome is not sandboxing plugins, reducing the security of sandboxie to make it work defeats the point of running it in sandboxie in the first place (to cover the deficiencies in chrome's own sandboxing)...
     
  24. virtumonde

    virtumonde Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    504
    Re: Google Chrome

    I've seen this ,i hope Tzuk will be able to find a solution that doesn't compromise the security,although if Chrome really loads a driver it will be a difficult one.
     
  25. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    957
    The web pages render in the author's font and font
    size. In Firefox I was able to override the font type for all web pages
    which enables me to read them much easier and without eye strain and
    headaches. I would like to see this override feature in Chrome. Until it does i cannot use it even though i would like to
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.