Google home page problem..

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Hugger, Nov 29, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hugger

    Hugger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Posts:
    1,003
    Location:
    Hackensack, USA
    For the past 1 or 2 days I've been getting Google SSL beta on my screen.
    I didn't ask for it and I can't seem to get rid of it either.
    Under the word Google, it gives me a link to classic Google. But the link doesn't work.
    Any suggestions?
    Thanks.
    Hugger
     
  2. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,917
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Hugger, if you are still using Firefox, look in Tools > Options > General Tab. Does it show https://www.google.com?
     
  3. Hugger

    Hugger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Posts:
    1,003
    Location:
    Hackensack, USA
    Hi, JR.
    No. It's showing 'http://www.google.com/'.
    But the screen shows me the SSL beta.
    Which means I've lost the links on the top right side for stuff like the news.
    Thanks.
    Hugger
     
  4. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,917
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  5. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    a lot of sites have recently changed their logons and home pages/domains to https because of that firefox script that could see the authentication token that is passed in the clear once an https session has begun. it meant on a LAN you could take over anyone's facebook/twitter etc session. maybe they made the google search https for the same reason??

    http://www.schneier.com/blog/archives/2010/10/firesheep.html
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Firesheep
    http://codebutler.github.com/firesheep/

    but you could check any addons you have like customise google or greasemonkey scripts and any userjs you might be using, or http proxyo_O

    edit i found this http://www.google.com/support/websearch/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=173733. i haven't read it, but maybe if you block https://encrypted.google.com and https://google.com it might revert to http? whos knows. (i probably should have read the article though before commenting :p)
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2010
  6. Hugger

    Hugger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Posts:
    1,003
    Location:
    Hackensack, USA
  7. Hugger

    Hugger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Posts:
    1,003
    Location:
    Hackensack, USA
    iceni60,
    Thanks for trying.
    I'm in over my head with this stuff but have been trying different combs.
    However, the browser keeps going to encrypted mode no matter what I do with it.
    I'll keep digging around.
    Thanks.
    Hugger
     
  8. Hugger

    Hugger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Posts:
    1,003
    Location:
    Hackensack, USA
    SOLVED.
    I had installed HTTPS-Everywhere, an add-on for Firefox to prevent the problem of seeing the authentication token.
    What I didn't realize was that HTTPS-Everywhere locked me into encryption mode. Which is a good thing when you want to be extra safe.
    Thanks to both of you.
    Hugger
     
  9. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,917
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Aha! Great info to know, Hugger. :thumb: Thanks for posting the solution. Take care.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.