Google Earth & ekrn.exe

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by jedi_m, Apr 26, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jedi_m

    jedi_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Posts:
    93
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Hello,

    Lately when I use Google Earth, I've noticed high CPU usage for both googleearth.exe and ekrn.exe. I was wondering if I should add Google Earth to the exception, or wait for ESET to sort it out? Any opinions?
    Thanks,
    Jedi_m
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    Add it as exception and see if it helps
     
  3. jimwillsher

    jimwillsher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    668
    Just for ref, I've just fired up Google Earth (Win 7 x64, 8GB) and GoogleEarth.exe is using 35% to 47% and ekrn.exe is using 30% to 40%. So I'm seeing the same. I suspect it's the network traffic being scanned.



    Jim
     
  4. yongsua

    yongsua Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Posts:
    474
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Did you try to restart your computer after excluded Google Earth's files from ESET?
     
  5. jedi_m

    jedi_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Posts:
    93
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Thanks Cudni, I will do it tonight after I'll get home from work. I'm pretty sure it will work if it's added as exception, but I was just hoping that ESET could take care of this, so we don't have to keep adding to the Exception list every time there is an issue.
    I'll keep you posted.
    Thanks,
    Jedi_m
     
  6. jedi_m

    jedi_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Posts:
    93
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Updates:
    I've added googleearth.exe to the exception and restart the computer, start Google Earth again and as soon as I look for a location, ekrn.exe starts to get crazy (goes up to 40%). In other words, there is no change by adding the file to the exception list.
    Jedi_m
     
  7. yongsua

    yongsua Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Posts:
    474
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Try to disable the real time protection of ESET and see it helps or not.
     
  8. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Does excluding the kmz extension from scanning in the real-time and web protection setup make a difference?
     
  9. jimwillsher

    jimwillsher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    668
    Hi Marcos, yes that resolves the issue for me.
     
  10. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    That's weird, an average cpu utilization by ekrn when moving the map on my Win7 x64 is < 1%. Jim, could you please create a Process monitor log from the moment you observe higher cpu load and drop me a pm with a link to the log ?
     
  11. jimwillsher

    jimwillsher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    668
    PM sent. ekrn.exe peaked at around 35% when scrolling over densely populated terrain (in this case, Carlisle in the English Lake District).


    Jim

    PS EDIT: This is after reverting to "scan all files" setting that I normally use, rather than pressing the "default" button, and then rebooting.
     
  12. jedi_m

    jedi_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Posts:
    93
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Thanks Marcos, yes if I exclude kmz extensions from scanning, ekrn.exe is quiet.
    Just for curiosity, because I have two licences for NOD32, I've tried my other laptop and I don't have the same issues. The diference between these 2 systems are:
    PC: XP Pro 32, NOD32 v 4.2.71.2, PrevX (full)
    T61 Laptop: Win 7 32 , NOD32 4 4.2.71.2, PrevX (full)
    The only setup difference that I've noticed was on Web access protection/HTTP, HTTPS/Address Management/Web Browser (on XP), googleeart.exe was checked. On Win7 I don't have a list with web browsers.

    Thx
    Jedi_m
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.