Google Chrome Browser Issues and Questions Thread

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Rasheed187, Mar 16, 2019.

  1. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    54,268
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  2. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,060
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  3. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,073
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    The Secure DNS feature, meanwhile, includes DNS over HTTPS (DoH) that encrypts your Domain Name System (DNS) lookups with the aim of protecting you against a host of threats to your privacy and security. Chrome will either upgrade you to DNS over HTTPS automatically if the option is supported by your internet service provider, or you can configure it by using a different secure DNS provider. You can even disable the option completely. This update comes after Firefox turned on DoH by default for US users earlier this year while giving the rest of the world the option to flip it on manually in the browser’s settings. Chrome's Secure DNS feature uses DNS-over-HTTPS to encrypt the DNS communication, thereby helping prevent attackers from observing what sites you visit or sending you to phishing websites. To enable DoH in Chrome, start by typing or copy-pasting “ chrome://flags/#dns-over-https ” into the address bar and press Enter. Open the drop-down menu to the right of “Secure DNS Lookups” and select “Enabled.” Click the “Relaunch” button at the bottom of this page to restart Chrome and activate these changes. ...... My flag is set to default in Chrome. Should i disable this flag because i use Quad9 DNS now and don't want Chrome to change anything.
     
  4. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    54,268
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  5. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,060
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Guys are you also getting to see a 100% usage of the CPU on this site? It's from a Dutch supermarket. I just see that I have this problem on Chrome, Vivaldi, Firefox and Edge. Perhaps some faulty script on the site?

    https://www.ah.nl/bonus
     
  6. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    692
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    No problem here, but there are 6 scrips blocked for me by uBlock Origin and my filters:
    https://www.googletagmanager.com/gtm.js?id=GTM-WQK8NCZ&l=gtmdataLayer 3x
    https://www.ah.nl/__ssobj/ard.png?6850851266697061203_1-4-1595088110&n=1 1x
    https://www.ah.nl/__ssobj/core.js+ssdomvar.js+generic-adapter.js 1x
    https://www.ah.nl/ruxitagentjs_ICA27SVfhjqrux_10195200709173710.js 1x
     
  7. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,060
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Thanks for checking. Should you see this in the logger? It happens also when uBlock is disabled. And it only happens when the tab becomes active. To clarify, it uses one full CPU core this will show up as 25% in my CPU monitoring app named TinyResMeter. My "global" CPU will show me usage of 30 to 40 %, but this includes other apps also.

    http://pesoft.com/trm/us_trm.html
     
  8. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    692
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes I saw that in the logger.
    It uses a lot of CPU and settles doen to +/- 23% but I don't know why.
    I get an anti adblocker message and will report the site to AdGuard maybe they have a clue?
    https://github.com/AdguardTeam/AdguardFilters/issues/59606
     
  9. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,060
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK cool, so it's not just me, thanks for checking.
     
  10. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,073
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
  11. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,073
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    In chrome settings, how do i use a custom dns under the security setting. It says to enter a custom provider. What am i supposed to type in there if i want CloudFlare 1.1.1.2 Malware filter and 1.0.0.2 secondary DNS.
     
  12. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,477
    Is there any way possible to completely prevent Google Chrome from installing updates to the software reporter tool? Maybe SRP, AppGuard etc? If so, will it just cause the update of the browser to fail?
     
  13. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,520
    Location:
    USA
    Disabling it using file permissions seems to be the preferred way to go. You'll find those steps in method #1 in the linked article. AFAIK, the other methods work fine as well, but I did it via file permissions, and the article's author prefers that too.

    5 Ways To Disable/Remove Google Software Reporter Tool (Software_reporter_tool.Exe)
     
  14. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,866
    Location:
    USA
    The installer will likely override whatever you do and if it doesn't then yes, the browser update would fail as well. I've seen multiple claims but no actual working solution to this issue. It may be possible, but I haven't seen it yet.

    Edit: After looking over the above referenced article I am reminded of many reasons why this is a losing battle. First the version number folder. Sure, you can disable or delete the existing one, but the update will create a new path with a new number. The amount of effort it would take to stop this before the fact is unreasonable. Also, the waste of time it is to even play with file permissions when first it won't use the same folder anyway and second the installer is almost guaranteed to override whatever you set anyway, you'll probably have to live with just updating, finding the tool, and blocking it from there until next time.
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2020
  15. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    2,089
    @Trooper
    chrome portable and disabling inheritance is a permanent solution. updates do not alter it.
     
  16. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,866
    Location:
    USA
    Sounds more promising than anything else I have seen. I may have to look into it myself.
     
  17. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    2,089
    i've been using it this way for years. never had any issues. the only caveat is you need to update chrome manually as you noted above.
     
  18. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,477
    Thanks guys guess I will have to use portable Chrome.

    EDIT: Just installed it using the PortableApps software setup.
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2020
  19. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,520
    Location:
    USA
    You make a lot of good sense, Jack, and frankly, I wasn't aware for a long time that a new software_reporter_tool.exe was being created with each new update. But since I update Chrome manually, it's not a hassle to delete the executable every month or so. I used to believe it was a very intrusive tool and did not want it running, but sometimes I think it's not all that bad. You're correct, however... it is very much like a losing battle.
     
  20. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,866
    Location:
    USA
    My complaint with it is that I have a laptop that if Chrome is installed this tools runs for hours on end at 100% CPU while throttling up the fans the entire time. I tried all of the proposed fixes and none of them worked, at least not for long. I just leave it off of that device. Not a huge deal. It beats the frustration of trying to deal with it. Some folks never have an issue with it. If you do, it will likely fight you until you give up.
     
  21. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,060
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Let's face it Chrome sucks big time. I call it "Crappy Chrome". The only reason this topic was started because I asked general questions about Chromium based browsers in the dedicated Chrome thread. So the mods moved them to over here. :p
     
  22. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,866
    Location:
    USA
    Actually I am surprised by how much they all still suck. Most people (in general) have had a PC since Windows 95. 25 years to make this stuff really good. Why isn't any of it better? I guess if it all worked well nobody would ever upgrade. o_O
     
  23. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,477
    Agreed with this statement. I don't like any browsers any more. That is why I have a bunch installed normally. Sucks but it is what it is. Currently have been trying to just use Chredge, but find myself at times using Chrome and in rare events Firefox.
     
  24. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,520
    Location:
    USA
    You asked them not in a "dedicated Chrome thread", but in the Chrome Stable Channel Update thread, wherein any posts not pertaining to updates are off topic. It makes perfect sense to have a Google Chrome Browser Issues and Questions Thread separate from update announcements. The mods did right.
    Chrome is just alright with me.
     
  25. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,130
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    Idem here, I've never had any issues with Chrome on three machines.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.