Google Chrome and MyPrevx access

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by lol_84, Jan 10, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lol_84

    lol_84 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Posts:
    43
    Hi guys!!

    I'm a new entry and I would you ask a prevx support question.
    I've bought a full protection license and registered my subscription at myprevx.
    Now, when I try to enter myprevx page with google chrome, prevx 3 sends an alert with this message: "Hisk risk pishing Alert". Firefox instead works very well!!

    It sounds strange and I would know if someone has encountered this problem.

    My chrome version is 3.0.195.38.

    Thank you for your time.
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  3. lol_84

    lol_84 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Posts:
    43
  4. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    That is quite strange - I haven't heard of this before but if you click Ignore on the phishing warning and then Yes to allowing it to be added, you should be able to visit the website properly.

    If you could send me the full address you're trying to visit when receiving the warning, I'll get it fixed centrally :)

    Thanks!
     
  5. lol_84

    lol_84 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Posts:
    43
    Thanks for the reply.

    The url is:
    "http://www.prevx.commy.prevx.com/default.asp"

    If I try to open this link with firefox, prevx sends the same pishing alert o_O
     
  6. guest

    guest Guest

    What happens if you try the correct link?
    Yours is clearly wrong and suspicious, isn't it?

    Try myprevx.com or my.prevx.com and see what happens.
     
  7. lol_84

    lol_84 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Posts:
    43
    I don't know..With chrome the link https://my.prevx.com/ works well.

    When I connect to myprevx, i first surf http://www.prevx.com/ and then MyPrevx (this link appears in the top navigation bar). It Is the same procedure that I use with firefox, in this situation the login procedure works well and I'm able to enter in my login area.
     
  8. lol_84

    lol_84 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Posts:
    43
    It looks strange, infact when I try to enter with chrome, even if there is an opaque screen, I can see my login area and my menu controls.
     
  9. guest

    guest Guest

    I read your posting 3 times and frankly don't understand where the problem is. So it works fine now? Problem solved? - I haven't my SafeOnline feature on because of other problems with it but for me the link you mentioned on prevx.com (MyPrevx) works fine as it works without any problem if I enter myprevx.com to URL field.

    p.s.: I switched SafeOnline ON, just to be safe, and it works also without any problem in firefox.
    Chrome I don't have installed.
     
  10. lol_84

    lol_84 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Posts:
    43
    But when I try to enter with google chrome - safeonline is on - prevx stops my request and alerts with this advice:
    And I don't know why...o_O

    Are you able to surf this link?
     
  11. guest

    guest Guest

    No ... it's funny actually, I have never seen this before. There is a warning screen from Prevx and then my browser (FF) shuts down.

    Maybe chrome has some problem forwarding the link? Because the link is wrong (syntax) which is the reason why prevx thinks it's a phishing link. - But as I said, I can't (won't) test with chrome. This google thing is not getting on my system. ;)
     
  12. lol_84

    lol_84 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Posts:
    43
    I've just tried it with safeonline off and it works. I'm able to enter my logon area. So, this behaviour looks strange for me!! :eek:
     
  13. guest

    guest Guest

    Which version of Prevx do you use? The actual beta one, 3.0.5.48 as I do?

    And I assume you have this problem only with chrome browser? If you would use IE or FF and enter URL myprevx.com DIRECTLY in browser field (or if you try getting there from within prevx.com) all would be fine even with SafeOnline ON I guess. But because you are not very clear in your statements one never knows what exactly you are talking about. ;)

    However, glad you could enter your MyPrevx. - Btw: One thing you probably didn't know because no one told you: in the moment you created your MyPrevx account your status regarding prevx changed from anonymous to user-made-of-glass! ;) - They now have the link between your email, your license, your name ... and all malware they find on your system. Just look into your account to see what informations and statistics they gather. ;) - But if you are not paranoid this should be no problem. On the other hand you are wsf user ... sooo :D
     
  14. lol_84

    lol_84 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Posts:
    43
    3.0.5.40

    Yes, I have this problem with chrome, but not with firefox!! I haven't tried IE yet.

    Can you explain me this? What's a wsf user?
     
  15. guest

    guest Guest

    http://info.prevx.com/download.asp?grab=edgebeta for 32bit
    http://info.prevx.com/download.asp?grab=edgebeta64 for 64bit

    Try one of these, just install it over your version.
    Then you'll have .48 ..

    I am not convinced that these versions are 'more' beta
    than the so called 'released' version you are using.
    So that should be really no problem. ;)

    O.K. - As I said: chrome is putting something in your URL field which isn't right. Seems to be a bug with chrome, especially if all other browsers work and don't get you a crippled link (which then is detected as 'phishing', of course it is just a syntax wrong link and no danger at all).

    WSF - Wilders Security Forum. - We users here tend to be somewhat paranoid about computer security. ;)

    And I explained it already: Prevx (cloud based software) knows not only what is on your system (through it's scannig and reporting to the cloud, especially malware or things it believes them to be) but all this data is through your registration on myprevx now linked to your license and so in the end to you as customer. - Not registered there it was quite 'anonymous'. That's all. - However, when I first saw all the statistics and informations they gather I thought immediately about a certain book from Orwell. ;)

    The cloud knows it all! :D

    But nothing to worry about ... if you let google on your system all is too late anyway! (typical paranoid sentence from a wsf user just for example :D )
     
  16. lol_84

    lol_84 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Posts:
    43
    Ok thank you!Now I'm worried about this behaviour!
    What kind of data does prevx send "to the cloud"?

    I've just tried to enter the logon area with IE8 and it works.
     
  17. lol_84

    lol_84 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Posts:
    43
    Is there a solution for this problem? The strange thing is that for a second I'm able to see my Logon Area.
    I'm waiting for a reply. thank you for your time.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2010
  18. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    No that is a bad link for sure!

    TH
     

    Attached Files:

  19. lol_84

    lol_84 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Posts:
    43
    So, is the link safe? Is the problem that you had encountered with firefox? Is a google chrome problem?
     
  20. guest

    guest Guest

    That is for sure no 'bad' link (malware, evil) - no, it is just a 'wrong' link. Don't you see that? To links merged together. - And Prevx finds this suspicious. But I guess there is no danger at all involved. Why you get this link is mysterious though.

    The solution is simple: use a browser that works and surf manually to myprevx.com and it *should* work then.

    :)

    No, you don't have to be worried. - In-the-cloud-antivirus (fancy thing ;) ) just works in another way then 'old' av-software where virus definitions were updated and dowloaded to the client. The database of prevx is not on your computer (definitions) but at their servers ('in the cloud').

    What exactly is sent to prevx servers you have to ask PrevxHelp if it bothers you. But I am sure it was mentioned here sometime ago. This topic isn't new.

    There's nothing wrong having a MyPrevx account. I have one also but I just didn't know before that I gave up my 'cloud anonymity'. ;) - A good thing is, if you have multi-user-license and wife or children are using one license on their hardware you can now see in MyPrevx what is going on there ... if they are infected for example. And you can let Prevx send you warning mails if something is detected. So it has positive things also.

    Don't worry. - But if you really do -> then in-the-cloud-antivirus isn't maybe the right thing for you. Then you should take something with that old 'definitions' concept where you 3 times a day get the newest ones delivered and the detection is strictly local. And not in a fancy cloud. ;)
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2010
  21. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    That's what I meant that the link is no good! Keep using this one and things should be fine! https://my.prevx.com

    TH
     
  22. lol_84

    lol_84 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Posts:
    43
    But I use https://my.prevx.com. Google Chrome searches that link. o_O

    I can't understand your english: "No that is a bad link for sure!"

    Coul you explain me this sentence? thank you.
     
  23. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    The link TripleHelix posted should work properly - the link you are using is malformed, it has a different domain at the front. The correct link should just be:

    https://my.prevx.com/default.asp

    Let me know if you have any other questions!
     
  24. lol_84

    lol_84 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Posts:
    43
    When I connect to myprevx, i first surf http://www.prevx.com/ and then https://my.prevx.com/ (this link appears in the top navigation bar into http://www.prevx.com/ page). It Is the same procedure that I use with firefox and IE, in these situations the login procedure works well and I'm able to enter in my login area.

    Thank you for your time. You are very helpfull!

    Edit: The key point I want to focus is this one:

    First scenario: SafeOnline is Off. Chrome, FF and IE work well

    Second scenario: Safeonline is On. FF and IE work, Chrome doesn't.

    So, to summarize, is there a bug in Safeonline when I use Chrome v.3.0.195.38 ?
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2010
  25. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    It's possible that SafeOnline could be affecting your Chrome installation - if you could send a scan log to report@prevxresearch.com by clicking Tools > Save Scan Results, that should let us investigate further.

    Thanks! :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.