Good .tib Becomes Corrupt?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by seekermeister, Oct 31, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. seekermeister

    seekermeister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    153
    Fortunately, I had used this .tib previously to install MCE as a test to a spare drive, and it seemed to work just fine, but when I just tried to use it again to recover to a new harddrive, TI said that it was corrupt. I guess that all is not lost, since I can creat another image from the test installation, but I'm very curious as to why a good file can go bad? It has never been defragged or touched in any other fashion. The only thing that I can think of is that I eneded up having to move some other .tibs into the same partition with it, leaving only 9% free space, but that shouldn't have been a factor. What ever did go wrong, I would like to avoid the same situation again...any ideas?
     
  2. Aussie42

    Aussie42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Posts:
    64
    If you create your TIB files on an external hard drive then check that the USB cable is in firmly. I have had problems like this a couple of times and had to go out and buy a better enclosure for my external drive, which solved it for me. After checking the cable reboot the system to be sure. Hope this is of help to you.
     
  3. seekermeister

    seekermeister Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    153
    Thanks, but the .tib was made both from and to internal harddrives, so that wasn't a factor.
     
  4. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Your problem only goes to further illustrate the idiosyncrasies of the True Image software. Here's another that happened to me quite a while ago.

    Using version 9 build 3677 Rescue CD I started to restore an Image to a second drive that was internal with an Image that was also on an internal drive. Since both were internal I figured that I wouldn't have to use the Full version so I chose the Safe version. True Image brought up and error - forgot exactly what it was. So I went back and restarted with the Full version and the restore was successful.
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup software

    seekermeister
    could you please clarify if this image is reported as corrupted both in Windows and Rescue Mode?

    Thank you.

    --
    Michael Levchenko
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.