"Good, old" apps, under XP PRO?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by SG1, Jun 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SG1

    SG1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Posts:
    430
    I was fairly certain that I'd run CorelDraw 4.0 in XP PRO in the past, tho' if I don't recall that correctly, it was last run under WIN98 that I'd had prior to XP PRO for an OS.

    Seems even that trying compat. mode isn't a help, in that CorelDraw maintains that a GB or so of free space isn't 'nuff room to save anything in. Fixes/workarounds, for this?

    Similar query I had in the past concerned old games, but I don't know if proposed fixes for that apply here too, as I can install/run CorelDraw but it won't save files.

    Ideas appreciated, as always.
     
  2. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
    Hello,
    What's the GB space thingie?
    Maybe therein lies your issue.
    Mrk
     
  3. SG1

    SG1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Posts:
    430
    Mrkvonic;

    I'm guessing that, as you suggest, CorelDraw (being an older app) can't deal with concept of a gig or more of free space in which to save its file/s. That is what you're saying, correct?

    Yet, oddly, I have other apps about same age as CorelDraw that function just fine.

    Best,
     
  4. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
    Hello,
    On the contrary, I think you didn't give it enough space.
    That's what I understood from your first post.
    Mrk
     
  5. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    I am not aware of such a limitation with free space. FAT will not work with files over 1GB, but I don't think this goes for free space too.

    That sounds like a Corel trial limitation. When trial expires, Corel will have the "Save" option (and other outputs, like "Print") greyed-out.

    On a side note, I recently installed Photoshop 4 on Vista. It is working like a charm.
     
  6. SG1

    SG1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Posts:
    430
    Mrkvonic - If it ran under 95 and 98 w/tiny HDs and smidge of system RAM, should run (I'd think) with GB of system RAM and more than a GB of HD space left for saving.

    Seer - all 3 HDs are NTFS; and, this is not trial ver., as I have the reg/ser # entered in to the app, as always.

    Best,
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.