"Good, old" apps, under XP PRO?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by SG1, Jun 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SG1

    SG1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Posts:
    432
    I was fairly certain that I'd run CorelDraw 4.0 in XP PRO in the past, tho' if I don't recall that correctly, it was last run under WIN98 that I'd had prior to XP PRO for an OS.

    Seems even that trying compat. mode isn't a help, in that CorelDraw maintains that a GB or so of free space isn't 'nuff room to save anything in. Fixes/workarounds, for this?

    Similar query I had in the past concerned old games, but I don't know if proposed fixes for that apply here too, as I can install/run CorelDraw but it won't save files.

    Ideas appreciated, as always.
     
  2. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    9,412
    Hello,
    What's the GB space thingie?
    Maybe therein lies your issue.
    Mrk
     
  3. SG1

    SG1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Posts:
    432
    Mrkvonic;

    I'm guessing that, as you suggest, CorelDraw (being an older app) can't deal with concept of a gig or more of free space in which to save its file/s. That is what you're saying, correct?

    Yet, oddly, I have other apps about same age as CorelDraw that function just fine.

    Best,
     
  4. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    9,412
    Hello,
    On the contrary, I think you didn't give it enough space.
    That's what I understood from your first post.
    Mrk
     
  5. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,927
    Location:
    Serbia
    I am not aware of such a limitation with free space. FAT will not work with files over 1GB, but I don't think this goes for free space too.

    That sounds like a Corel trial limitation. When trial expires, Corel will have the "Save" option (and other outputs, like "Print") greyed-out.

    On a side note, I recently installed Photoshop 4 on Vista. It is working like a charm.
     
  6. SG1

    SG1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2003
    Posts:
    432
    Mrkvonic - If it ran under 95 and 98 w/tiny HDs and smidge of system RAM, should run (I'd think) with GB of system RAM and more than a GB of HD space left for saving.

    Seer - all 3 HDs are NTFS; and, this is not trial ver., as I have the reg/ser # entered in to the app, as always.

    Best,
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.