Good Bye ZA, Hello Comodo

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Albinoni, Jun 23, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Albinoni

    Albinoni Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Posts:
    709
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Well after many years of using ZA firewall both free and Pro version, I've decided to say goodbye to one of my favourite FW's and move on to Comodo, after hearing so many good things about it.

    Dont get me wrong while alot of people did not like ZA, to me it was one of the best FW's out there. The only small thing about it that let me down was that I found it to be a slight resource hog, though it really wasnt that bad.

    But as we all like to more forward in our lives and with technology, I decided to go Comodo this time, and if worse comes to worse and I dont like it, than I will switch back to ZA Pro. Well who knows, perhaps I've made the right move perhaps I havent, time will tell.
     
  2. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    FWIW,I used ZA free before I started using Comodo and I haven't regretted switching yet. ;)
     
  3. Chappy

    Chappy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Posts:
    69
    Same here. I used Sygate till the Symantec juggernaut ran it over and promptly killed it, then ZA Beta, then Eset's Smart Securtiy Suite Beta 1a, and now have decided that Comodo Firewall + Eset NOD32 2.7.32 AV is what I'm going to stay with.
    Comodo was the only firewall to pass the Mantousec Firewall tests completely, and that says it all right there. I tested the firewalls in ESS (Eset) & ZA Beta and they both failed the Mantousec tests that I d'loaded.
    Comodo didn't fail one of them, so Comodo....here we come!! Still an Alpha release for now, but it didn't fail testing so obviously it's Alpha is better than anyone else's Beta's or RC's.
     
  4. Engelhardt

    Engelhardt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Posts:
    38
    Location:
    Georgia
    Wellll I just installed ZA on my Vista business edition and it's runnin smooth as silk. I forgot how much I liked this FW.
     
  5. yahoo

    yahoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Posts:
    290
    Location:
    nowhere
    I tried Comodo 2.4, and just found out that its GUI can not display properly on a widescreen laptop. And also, the size of its GUI can not be changed either! On the other hand, firewalls like Look'n'Stop, Jetico, ZoneAlarm do not have such a display problem on a widescreen at all.

    Well, what can I say?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.