Going to buy NOD32 for the office, 2 questions (updates & licence)

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by bledd, Apr 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bledd

    bledd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Posts:
    60
    With nod32 business, you have a central server that downloads the updates for you, which feeds the other machines in the office

    If a user has a laptop and works from home, will it download the updates itself .. IE, if it can't see the central local server, it helps itself to the eset online updates.. (preferred server list or similar..?)


    --------------


    We have two offices, one has 10 machines in it, the other has 10 machines

    Would we need two licences to cover the central servers (we'd need two of them as the offices aren't networked)

    Or would 1x 20pc licence be ok, and having two central servers which cannot see each other
     
  2. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    Remote machines can be setup with a different profile to download their updates directly if you want.

    1x20 will work - the license is installed on each as they can not chain from each other.

    I would consider spending a TINY bit more for 25 seats - there is a price break at 25, so for about $40 more you get 25 seats which covers you for some growth in staff... the new system for adding licenses is that new seats are purchased at the price break of their number, so to add 5 seats you have to purchase 5 at the 5 seat price. To add 1 - you have to purchase 5 (the minimum for Eset Antivirus Business edition).
     
  3. bledd

    bledd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Posts:
    60
    so it is ok to have 2x update servers? -one for each office

    the laptops that sometimes work from home, would also be in the office, so can they be setup to try the servers in a list?

    ie, first try "localserver", then "nod32 server" etc..

    we're limited to a poor 1meg connection, so saving a bit of bandwidth would be ideal
     
  4. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    yes, you can run two update servers and workstations can be setup to attempt local then remote update servers using different profiles.
     
  5. bledd

    bledd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Posts:
    60
    will the end user (ie, not local admin) have to choose the profile? or will 1 profile contain all update servers set by the admin?

    the less the user has to do, the better
     
  6. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
  7. bledd

    bledd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Posts:
    60
    thanks for the responses, in reply to your pm, I'm based in the UK i'm afriad
     
  8. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    I think the 25 price break still occurs in the UK pricing.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.