GMT -4 or GMT -5 ???

Discussion in 'General Topics' started by Rmus, Jul 1, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rmus

    Rmus Exploit Analyst

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    3,943
    Location:
    California
    It's not consistent here o_O

    Sometimes is GMT -5.

    -rich
    ________________
    ~~Be ALERT!!! ~~
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Rmus

    Rmus Exploit Analyst

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    3,943
    Location:
    California
    Other times it's GMT -4. :mad:

    -rich
    ________________
    ~~Be ALERT!!! ~~
     

    Attached Files:

  3. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
  4. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,875
    Location:
    New England
    Obviously, different members are going to see different time zones based upon their settings in their member profiles.

    Actually, you need to decide on the time zone in your profile. You are listed there as "Automatically detect DST settings" = "Yes", but, you have not confirmed the setting... "Is DST currently in effect" = "No". That means you may be blocking scripting here, so it never confirms, or you have not responded to the query.

    If you like, I'll answer that question for you, and let the forum know that you accept the change to daylight savings time. Otherwise, you will always see variations in the time zone setting.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Rmus

    Rmus Exploit Analyst

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    3,943
    Location:
    California
    I couldn't find anything in Profiles, but I found a time zone setting in Options, but it doesn't look like what you displayed. I changed mine to GMT -8 and checked accordingly. Will this stick??!! :cool:
     

    Attached Files:

  6. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,875
    Location:
    New England
    The screen shot I posted was from the Admin interface, and it showed that you had never actually set a time zone in your profile before since you were set to the forum's default (Eastern Time Zone) even though you are actually in CA, ie. PST (PDT). Now that you've set a specific time zone, yes, it should stick.

    This is the view from the Admin interface on your profile's time zone setting since you adjusted it, which is correct since it is your time zone, and it shows that daylight savings time is in effect (which it is, of course).
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Rmus

    Rmus Exploit Analyst

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    3,943
    Location:
    California
    I see that now. thanks :cool:

    -rich
    ________________
    ~~Be ALERT!!! ~~
     
  8. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,875
    Location:
    New England
    Of course, one other thing folks need to keep in mind is that when they view the forum while "logged out" (ie. not signed into their member name where their profile settings are effective), they will see the default time zone from the server. (The server is located in the Eastern time zone and is currently showing GMT -04:00 to guests.)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.