GlassWire

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Feandur, Aug 23, 2014.

  1. Alkajak

    Alkajak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Posts:
    124
    "The GlassWire service stopped running. Restart GlassWire."

    Alongside WSA Complete, HMPA and VS. I've made sure that WFW is enabled and the services for WFW and GlassWire are started. GlassWire "starts and then stops the service because it is not in use".

    Edit: Fixed.
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2016
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,424
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    New Glasswire version 1.2.88

    Version 1.2.88 - (December 27, 2016)

    Hash # 9033F95A30097ED4ECEEFD5486FB1C4D

    • You can now scan manually for devices under GlassWire's "Network" tab. Basic, Pro, and Elite users will have an automatic scan every 30 minutes, while free users can scan manually by pressing the "scan" button. We made this change because GlassWire was scanning so often in our previous update that some types of network hardware were giving false positives about GlassWire causing a network problem.
    • To disable Network auto-scanning completely create a text file called glasswire.conf and place it in the c:\programdata\glasswire\service folder. Add this string to the text file: enable_network_scan = false then restart the GlassWire service. We plan to add a setting for this in the future.
    • Fixed a bug that was causing some users to crash.

    Download: https://www.glasswire.com/download/
     
  3. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,403
    Location:
    North Of Thee Border..Gringo!
    the proverbial question...does this work on XP..looked around the site did nit see anything
    just windows?
     
  4. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
  5. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,403
    Location:
    North Of Thee Border..Gringo!
    boredog, thank you!!

    Minimum

    Microsoft Windows 7, 8, 10 (x86,x64)
    Intel Celeron 2GHz
    1 GB RAM
     
  6. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
  7. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,288
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Ghacks Deals: GlassWire Pro or Elite: Lifetime License (70% off) - gHacks Tech News
     
  8. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    3,106
    Glasswire v1.2.202 Released (May 25, 2017)
    Download
    Previous Changelogs:
    Version 1.2.100 - (April 4, 2017)

    Hash # F3448068ACD6BA33A9B1DC1A1296724B47384F9AB7F0E0715137873F2570F109
    • Fixed a problem that caused some users with some types of audio drivers to crash.
    • Fixed some typos for some languages, reported by users.
    • Fixed a text overlap in the Network tab.
    • Solved a problem where some users received false host/lmhost file change alerts.
    • Fixed a problem reported on HackerOne.
    • Stability and resource usage improvements.
    Version 1.2.96 - (February 13, 2017)

    Hash # B8505E56EF2B3148BA1A4051061C86C7
    • You can now change firewall modes from the GlassWire Windows tray menu. Right click the GlassWire icon in the bottom right Windows tray to change modes.
    • The year is now added to the GlassWire network tab.
    • Three security upgrades were made due to HackerOne bug reports.
    • Fixed a problem where a network scan could cause the GlassWire service to crash.
    • We added protection so third party DLL files can no longer interact with GlassWire and cause it to crash.
     
  9. jaypeecee

    jaypeecee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    79
    Location:
    UK
    Hi,

    GlassWire's use of the word "firewall" certainly threw me. But I note that the developers refer to it as "GlassWire Firewall & Network Monitor". At least, that's what it shows at the top of their web pages. But I can see an alternative interpretation, namely:

    GlassWire Firewall Monitor & Network Monitor [my italics]. So it isn't a firewall in its own right but a firewall monitor.

    I have no affiliations or associations with GlassWire, the company. But I do find their application useful - at the moment.

    JPC
     
  10. gorblimey

    gorblimey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Posts:
    147
    Location:
    West Oz
    This would be a perfect complement to VoodooShield, but while Dan has enabled multi-user, where's GlassWire?

    Seriously, hacking the registry in all user accts to start the GUI, then booting into Admin just to get GW, then switching to all other user accts and finally logging out of Admin just doesn't cut the mustard. There has to be a better way--which I'd be more than happy to pay for.
     
  11. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    3,106
    Glasswire v1.2.109 Released (July 12, 2017)
    Download
     
  12. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,403
    Location:
    North Of Thee Border..Gringo!
    mood thank you :)
     
  13. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    3,106
    You're welcome ;)
     
  14. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,436
    Ditto....I got the update a couple of days, ago. :)
     
  15. _CyberGhosT_

    _CyberGhosT_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    MalwareTips "Your Security Advisor"
    Recently purchased Glasswire Pro and am loving the "ask to connect" option.
     
  16. Tarantula

    Tarantula Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Posts:
    384
    Glasswire free makes no sense at all. Why would anyone install third party app to monitor traffic when task manager does the job?

    http://i.imgur.com/vQjrOwX.png
     
  17. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    2,576
    Location:
    The etherlands
    Pretty GUI :). I have paid version though, agree with @_CyberGhosT_ .
     
  18. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    9,890
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Seriously? Back in the days I also wanted to be alerted about outgoing connections, but nowadays almost all apps need to connect out, so now I prefer auto-blocking.

    I believe GlassWire gives a bit more info and also records history, that you can use for investigation.
     
  19. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    3,106
    Glasswire v1.2.118 Released (September 05, 2017)
    Download
    Changelog
     
  20. Circuit

    Circuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    523
    Location:
    Land o fruits and nuts
    Not a firewall, only a monitor.
    The fact that they obscure it, turns me off.
     
  21. alawyer

    alawyer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2017
    Posts:
    35
    Location:
    the final frontier
    Unimpressed with this.
    Please recommend a proper firewall. Thanks.
    Must be light.
     
  22. _CyberGhosT_

    _CyberGhosT_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    MalwareTips "Your Security Advisor"
    I use Glasswire along with the WFC snap-in, the only issue I have with Glasswire is their Licensing Model, it sux.
    If you ever have to re-install you will be waiting a couple days for Support to reset your key.
    Other than that it is a great software.
    Glasswire I use for monitoring, and WFC for creating rules, its a great combo.
     
  23. alawyer

    alawyer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2017
    Posts:
    35
    Location:
    the final frontier
    What is the WFC snap in you mention please.
     
  24. _CyberGhosT_

    _CyberGhosT_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    MalwareTips "Your Security Advisor"
    WFC= Windows Firewall Control ;) "Snap-In"
    Its a better, more user friendly Cpanel for Windows Firewall, and so much more.
    I only use Glasswire for its monitoring, and WFC for rules and toggling off my net when necessary. PeAcE
     
  25. _CyberGhosT_

    _CyberGhosT_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    MalwareTips "Your Security Advisor"
    Is a Glasswire Rep on here ?

    I have what I think to be a simple and logical request that would serve to make the product more "user" friendly for all of us.
    With WFC you can right click on an .exe from within file explorer, and if enabled in the *WFC Snap-In *Windows Firewall Control
    and select weather or not to allow internet for that particular software or program.
    Would love to have this for Glasswire as well. See SS below:
    SS_349585.png
    I right clicked on the "Easy Anti-Cheat" and as you can see I have the options in (1 & 2) to allow or block the software
    from outbound connections. I can't do this with glasswire and as you can see in(4) on the top right I am only running Glasswire, we can see the settings still because WFC is sleeping for now while I test Glasswire all by itself without the help of WFC.
    I will post more on that later when I have enough skill with it to form an educated opinion. But I digress, I think having that ability would benefit all Glasswire users both present and future.