GlassWire

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Feandur, Aug 23, 2014.

  1. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,422
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  2. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    I tried that version in Quietzone but lots of programs do not want to run right while Quietzone is active. I might try it again without Quietzone but from past experience when I do that I end up with issues and have to revert back to an older Marcum image.
    Triple? are you using the free version? AND is it worth 49 bucks?
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2016
  3. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    This might have already been addressed but when you click virus scan, What scan engine is being used? Glasswires own, some sort of cloud?

    Thanks
     
  4. Logethica

    Logethica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2016
    Posts:
    53
    Location:
    UK
    I use Glasswire Free,and I really like it..
    I do not use it's Firewall component though as I use ZoneAlarm.
    Glasswire is useful to monitor traffic and use as a kind of standalone HIDS.
     
  5. haakon

    haakon Guest

    GlassWire 1.2.73 (Not beta- It's about time!) now available

    https://blog.glasswire.com/2016/08/05/glasswire-1-2-73-now-available/
     
  6. haakon

    haakon Guest

    Glasswire Lifetime Licenses
    https://www.glasswire.com/buy/
    50% off coupon code: August
    •Thanks to MalwareTips member misior!

    Verified deal...

    GlassWire50%.jpg

    Can't wait to check out the new skins. :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 17, 2016
  7. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    703
    Location:
    Southern California
    I wish I could afford it for 5 computers.

    Oh, how I will miss Outpost Pro.:(
     
  8. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    2,571
    Location:
    The etherlands
    And thanks in turn ...
    Just bought a second license.
     
  9. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    9,883
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Can you explain why you think it's so great?
     
  10. Moose World

    Moose World Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    513
    Location:
    U.S. Citizen
    Salutations/Greetings!

    Any Security that will not work with Glasswire like Sandboxie and/or Shadow Defender?
    And does Glasswire slow the PC down any?
     
  11. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    2,571
    Location:
    The etherlands
    Nice interface to monitor what's going through the (Windows) firewall.

    Paid version has 'Ask To Connect' for outgoing connections.
     
  12. francisw19

    francisw19 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks for posting this, just pulled the trigger on a license! :)
     
  13. haakon

    haakon Guest

    Me too. But for Online Armor, sorely missed going on for years now.

    You're welcome. I'm glad I bumped into misior's post on MalwareTips.

    Seeing how the Free version totally rocks it, I really never had any need for the paid features.

    The mic and cam aren't plugged into the desktop unless I need them. Can't do that on the laptop, but I have other methods to protect that. And I run Zemana AntiLogger 1.9 on both. Which is not to say the cam and mic monitor won't have value down the road.

    The network device monitor is fine but wasn't worth $50.

    Ditto the Glasswire remote connections monitor.

    As well, on both systems I'm running the BD firewall. So no added functionality there.

    But I am running GW Free on my Windows 10 test system and find GW's hook into Windows Firewall to be exceedingly handy.

    When my BD licenses expire next year, I just might abandon the Internet Security suite model and go with an AV-only.

    Or just go with MS Security Essentials and its Network Inspection System to carry me through to 7's EOL in 2020.

    So, 50% off for lifetime licenses is a screaming deal.

    Should this deal resurface I'll snag another license if I can plug it into my budget. I just renewed Adguard for Android and I have another program to renew on the 26th.

    The Sand & Bricks theme not found in Free is so nice. :thumb:
     
  14. Poppey

    Poppey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Posts:
    33
    Location:
    Germany
    For the 50% discount I have bought Glasswire. At the beginning I had some problems with the firwall, because I had the free version for a long time on my computer. The firewall should you ask if a program can connect to the internet or not. But when you had for a long time the free version on your pc, all programs are recognized in Glasswire so you don't get an pop up with yes or now for the connection of the program. So you have to delete first all programs in Glasswire.
    Ok the Firewall is very simple. When a version of a Internetprogram changed you get only an information about it, but you don't get an pop up to give it a permission to connect the internet, when you do it before with the old version. But I hope that they improve the firewall features.
     
  15. haakon

    haakon Guest

    The observations are correct, the conclusions are not.

    When upgrading from free to paid, it is not necessary to delete all programs in GlassWire. Well, you can if you have nothing better to do.

    The upgrade does not reset GlassWire. Any program listed under the Firewall tab is already subject to an allow or block rule so there won't be an allow/block popup.

    GlassWire doesn't need any "firewall improvement."

    - - - - - - -

    @ everyone... A GlassWire "firewall" primer:

    (FYI: GlassWire also has awesome network monitoring, a bunch of other security alerting features and valuable logging.)

    GLASSWIRE IS NOT A FIREWALL. IT IS A USEFUL "FRONT END" FOR WINDOWS FIREWALL, presenting one alert, logging, clickable allow/block for individual programs and firewall on/off toggle.

    One can still build specialized rules in Windows Firewall for ports, protocols, LAN device connectivity, etc.

    A "First network activity" tray notification will alert once only for any program that connects to the network for the first time and is logged under the Alerts tab.

    The paid versions have a once only allow/block popup at this moment.

    In the free version the program will from then on be allowed connection (but can be blocked manually at any point in time).

    In the paid versions the program will from then on will be subject to the decision made with the popup (but can be changed at any point in time).

    Under the Firewall tab:

    Any first activity program will appear listed.

    In the free and paid versions, any program can be blocked or unblocked by clicking on the program's little flame icon or using the drop-down.

    After a while (seven days, I think), programs that have had no network activity will be moved to the "Inactive Apps" list (collapsed by default). Upon another connection, a program will move to the Active list. The purpose here is monitoring, not firewalling.

    Any program can be removed from either list by hovering the cursor over its name and the clicking on the X that appears to its right. This is handy for culling installers and removing the truly inactives (i.e. programs you've un-installed.)

    Any program that is removed from either list will result in a "First network activity" (if that occurs) with a tray notification in free and paid versions and with the allow/block popup in paid versions. Good for troubleshooting.

    Windows Firewall can be toggled by clicking the On/Off button.

    •• SO FAR ALL OF THE ABOVE IS ONLY IF WINDOWS FIREWALL ONLY IS IN USE. ••

    If Windows Firewall is not in use:

    The only relevant point is the sentence above beginning with A "First network activity" tray notification.

    Under the Firewall tab all monitoring, mouse hover and click features are functional.

    GlassWire has absolutely no effect on any stand-alone firewall in use and the firewall on/off will show Off. The programs' allow/block toggle is without purpose. If one clicks the firewall Off button, there will be an information popup that Windows firewall needs to be enabled.

    If there is no other firewall in use and Windows Firewall is disabled, then there is no firewall. Because... GlassWire is not a firewall.

    Disclaimer: If you are running any other Windows Firewall manager or an Internet Security Suite dependent on Windows Firewall, one's decision strategy regarding those and GlassWire need informed consideration. Given the multitudes of availability in the categories, discussion is beyond the scope of this posting. There is GlassWire support and their forum for that.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 20, 2016
  16. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    2,571
    Location:
    The etherlands
    Thanks. Learnt one or two things there, even though I am a user.
     
  17. Poppey

    Poppey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Posts:
    33
    Location:
    Germany
    Haakon thanks. Now I unterstand something better.
     
  18. Gein

    Gein Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013
    Posts:
    83
    I'm a little confused about the remote access settings. The gui seems to indicate that it uses 7007 as the port for that, but if you don't have that setting enable glasswire is still listening on 7007. Is that typical?
     
  19. Since You are. Webroot product advisor I am assuming You also use WSA. When I used WSA it had an option to alert for outgoing connections. So I am a bit confused why you would need glasswire.
     
  20. SHvFl

    SHvFl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Posts:
    817
    WSA firewall is subpar so it makes sense to use something else if you want to control what connects and what it does.
     
  21. haakon

    haakon Guest

    Because that's just ONE of the multitudinous things it does. And if WFW is in use, in/outbounds can be blocked (and unblocked) at will with one click for individual programs.

    GlasswireSecurity.jpg

    GlasswireSecLog.jpg

    • Glasswire's networking monitor and logging are unique and exceptional.
    Check it out:
    https://www.glasswire.com/
    Nice BIG pictures to help end your confusion. ;)

    Yeah. That too.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 8, 2016
  22. @SHvFl and @haakon thanks for the explanation.

    I always use Windows event manager to log Audited WFW blocks, so I never tested WSA firewall.

    To be honest I think that blocking outbound in WFW (what I have been doing since VISTA), is fake security. Most nasty malwares takes over a trusted process anyway, so using glasswire as an IDS makes sence (considering hassle of default block versus added security level).

    I might have another look at glasswire again.

    Thanks
     
  23. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,422
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    WSA doesn't have any Granular control within it's firewall for Windows 8, 8.1 and 10 users but it will be coming back at some point in the near future: https://community.webroot.com/t5/Id...tions-fw-control-in-Win-8-Win-8-1/idi-p/60003

    HTH,

    Daniel
     
  24. lordraiden

    lordraiden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Posts:
    3,473
  25. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,422
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Correct and maybe sooner rather than later as no one is reporting issues with the Beta.