GlassWire

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Feandur, Aug 23, 2014.

  1. ankupan

    ankupan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Posts:
    510
    I am thinking to Buy Pro, but it is not having a discount.

    Any idea to get 50% discount, which is on higher versoon.
     
  2. RioHN

    RioHN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2017
    Posts:
    113
    Location:
    Here
    No idea if these coupons are still meant to be valid, might be worth asking them before buying.. but you could try:

    https://store.glasswire.com/1309/?scope=checkout&cart=159642&coupon=summerpro
    https://store.glasswire.com/1309/?scope=checkout&cart=159644&coupon=summerelite

    Alternatively contact them and maybe they can help you out as a first time purchaser.
     
  3. henryg

    henryg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Posts:
    306
  4. ankupan

    ankupan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Posts:
    510
  5. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    880
    Location:
    USA
  6. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,029
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  7. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,953
  8. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,953
    I don't understand why this outgoing connection...Never seen it before. New one on me.

    Glasswire 2.2.201_07.JPG
     
  9. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,029
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    It's always been there buddy!
     
  10. Surt

    Surt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Posts:
    286
    Location:
    USA
    Yep. I haven't yet figured out why it connects to google.
     
  11. Surt

    Surt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Posts:
    286
    Location:
    USA
    @ Tarnk
    Sometimes I get this:
    error.jpg
    :D
     
  12. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,953
    Do you mean this ?
    [When checking it out, that was what came up]
     
  13. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,029
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  14. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,356
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Glasswire Elite user on two machines.

    Just be aware, this update contains the following in the release notes:
    GlassWire now uses an improved remote access system for remote monitoring.
    This system is not compatible with our previous system so you'll need to update your client and server software both with this new version. If you do not have access to your remote server due to quarantine or for some other reason, you should not upgrade this version. If you need our old version it is available here for download.

    My update took a long time, seemingly stuck at step 'Starting database conversion', and I was about to give up, thinking I may have a problem, when it completed.
    It could have been Process Lasso ProBalance restraint, I don't know ...

    Another observation: I would've thought GW would have an auto-update, or at least check for update, option (by now)?
    Unless I am missing something.
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2020
  15. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,953
  16. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    37,872
    Glasswire v2.2.210 Released (June 18, 2020)
    Download
    Changelog
    Version 2.2.210 - (June 18, 2020)
    Hash # F21E4B3D3FF4C97B8E1C61208E243775A4646E05007C2D81F8C04A7C5B30D1DE
    • Fixed a bug that caused "ask to connect" to not work in some unusual situations.
    • Fixed a bug that could cause Incognito to keep data in the GlassWire user interface temporarily, even after being cleared.
    • Modified the "Evil Twin" detection feature so it works in a more useful way. It will now only alert whenever it senses a completely new mac address, but not every time your mac address changes. Some routers use multiple mac addresses in some situations and the alert can be annoying.
    • Fixed a bug that caused some host names to be kept in the database when the history was cleared.
    • Fixed a bug with RDP connection detection where it would not detect RDP connections in some situations.
    • Fixed an issue with Italian translations.
    • Fixed an issue that could cause GlassWire's service to crash in some situations.
    • Optimized the firewall to avoid an unusual scenario with some games that could cause GlassWire to experience high CPU usage.
    • Fixed a UI issue that could cause parts of the GlassWire window to flash with some OS versions.
    • Fixed an issue where counting could be wrong in some situations with our usage screen, after updating from a previous version.
    • Fixed an issue where some DNS host names could be wrong in some situations.
    • Many other small fixes and enhancements. We would like so say thanks to our GlassWire fans that reported these issues and helped test new versions to solve them.
     
  17. Surt

    Surt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Posts:
    286
    Location:
    USA
  18. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,356
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    If you go to the site, it looks like all plans (Basic, Pro, Elite) offer the discount at the moment. (Or use 'ghacks' coupon code ...).

    I previously acquired an Elite license at a bargain price; it is expensive, but I wouldn't be without it now if only for the 'First Network Activity' alerts, also 'Ask to Connect', VT features etc. ... and OK, eye candy! :D:shifty:
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2020
  19. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,356
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
  20. Surt

    Surt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Posts:
    286
    Location:
    USA
    Install over 2.2.210 completed without issue, Win10 1909 Pro.

    I read somewhere in the GW forum where 2.2.241 would improve on the Things scan speed.

    With nine devices full time on my LAN, having six IoT devcies with WiFi guest IPs, it took 1:20 to complete a scan. Now it's 0:40. :thumb:
     
  21. mag1c

    mag1c Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    41
    I am thinking to Buy Elite, but there isn't a discount.

    Any idea to get 50% discount,
     
  22. Surt

    Surt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Posts:
    286
    Location:
    USA
    Hope you find that. Given 10 PCs and unlimited history & remote connections and the gear and you'd have to have requiring that level of maintenance, are you inquiring on behalf of a charity or institution in need? Contact GW for discounts..

    Otherwise, if you scroll about and click of few things on the "buy" page for a minute or two and leave the page, there's an overlay that opens offering 25% off for either of the three versions. If that's good enough. Cheers.

    WildersGW-25off.jpg
     
  23. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,843
    Location:
    KEEP USA GREAT
    Hi..is this a firewall ?
     
  24. Surt

    Surt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Posts:
    286
    Location:
    USA
  25. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,843
    Location:
    KEEP USA GREAT
    OK...I have disabled Windows firewall many moons ago..still worth it?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.