GlassWire

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Feandur, Aug 23, 2014.

  1. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,316
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Download
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,672
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Thanks!
     
  3. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    645
    Location:
    USA
    v2.0.123 all good here!
     
  4. TheErzengel

    TheErzengel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    WWW
    I was going to try it. until you look at their prices. I do not think it's better than Spysheelper premium or zone alarm pro. I prefer not to try it for now. (just for nice it called my attention)
     
  5. Gein

    Gein Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013
    Posts:
    151
    I'm getting way higher latency in games with this installed. Anywhere between 10-40ms higher than without.
     
  6. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,145
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Sounds weird, if it's simply monitoring network connections this shouldn't be possible right?
     
  7. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    645
    Location:
    USA
    Agree, that does sound weird. The network packets are running through the same WFP (Windows Filtering Platform), regardless of the firewall app that you are running. Can't understand how a network monitor could affect latency.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_Filtering_Platform
     
  8. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,672
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I'm not having any latency issues with Glasswire.
     
  9. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    645
    Location:
    USA
    Exactly!
     
  10. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,672
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I just did a speed test and nothing odd about the ping.

    2018-08-04_17-43-55.png
     
  11. Gein

    Gein Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013
    Posts:
    151
    I don't remember previous versions doing it. But I've noticed it in two games so far. It's possible my connection spazzed out, but to do it immediately after installing glasswire twice in two-different games is a hell of a coincidence. Are you guys running the default config or are any of the extra options checked?
     
  12. Gein

    Gein Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013
    Posts:
    151
    https://imgur.com/7fiZmoE

    Using DSL reports ping test. One on the left is with glasswire installed. One on the right is without. There are pretty significant ping spike issues with glasswire installed on my machine. I've done that test hundreds of times, and I've never seen a B before.
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2018
  13. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,672
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I personally don't like DSLR's speed test as mine is all over the place even via my Android phone.
     
  14. tobacco

    tobacco Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,531
    Location:
    British Columbia
    ...My thoughts exactly. I use the free version and like it very much but it's WAY over priced to purchase. If i see a reasonal sale, i'll pounce but not until then.
     
  15. Space Ghost

    Space Ghost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Posts:
    57
    Location:
    Poland
    I don't know for sure, but I think on Steam you can still buy a lifetime license for GlassWire (Basic, Pro and Elite).
    https://store.steampowered.com/app/355000/GlassWire/
     
  16. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    9,512
    Glasswire v2.1.137 Released (October 29, 2018)
    Download
    Changelog
     
  17. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,672
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  18. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    9,512
  19. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    7,976
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Is this a worthwhile for a superior running Windows 8.1?

    Recall trialing GlasWire sometime last year in 2017 and was pretty impressed but with Win 10 getting all the hoopla anymore am curious if this could be ideal for my preference of platform of Windows.
     
  20. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,316
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    If their new pricing doesn't put it out of reach ... I see there's a pop-up offering a 25% discount right now: https://www.glasswire.com/buy/
     
  21. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    7,976
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Thanks for that info @paulderdash.

    Might be a wise move to take a discount while one is up on the board right now given the market retail progress it's moving at.
     
  22. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,672
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Yea I got a Lifetime Keycode before they went to the yearly plan like most other vendors of different products.

    CA $142.76 (per year) for Elite. :gack:
     
  23. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,316
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Yes, fortunately I also made use of their lifetime Elite offer this January 2018 ...
     
  24. magictoaster

    magictoaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Posts:
    25
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Purchased the 'lifetime' basic license from Steam (at CDN$ 54.99), installed version 2.0 from the GlassWire website since it's a free update for all users (including Steam users).

    First time the application restarted (after activating it with the Steam key), it offered a one time upgrade to elite for CDN$ 28,81. Not that bad compared to the annual fee!
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2018
  25. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,316
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Yeah, not sure what they're up to with their pricing.

    Seems more like a Home tool ('pretty' GUI, etc.) than Enterprise, but with Enterprise pricing. Oh well, I do like it though ... :shifty:
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.