Ghostpress - Free AntiKeylogger

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Tyrizian, May 19, 2016.

  1. hsdev

    hsdev Developer

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    Posts:
    101
    @lucd At the moment we do not officially support VMs. This may change in future releases.

    Version 2.1
    +ÜÖÄÜüöäß? protection for German layouts (except for Switzerland)
    +RAM erasure for critical content
    +RAM encryption for key press injections
    +Protection off timer via notify icon menu
    +Notify if autostart creation failed
    +New hidden feature to show Ghostpress in taskbar
    +Target window screenshot protection 60hz support
    #Improved hiding of own window handles
    #Privileged restart crash fix
    #Minor automation improvements
    #Widget can enable/ disable protection bug fix
    #Warning if no data folder is present (running from zip without unpacking all files via Windows .zip explorer)
    #New UI icons
    #Minor UI improvements
     
  2. lucd

    lucd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Posts:
    445
    Location:
    Island of Woman
    the older ghost press worked for me with no issues as far as I remember
    keep working on it, its great project
    best
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2019
  3. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,226
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    The main page posted here took me to some scam site.
     
  4. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    60,442
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  5. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,226
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Got it now JR.
     
  6. lucd

    lucd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Posts:
    445
    Location:
    Island of Woman
    @hsdev under no VM ghostpress keeps switching numbers with special symbols on Chrome, beta, canary or default

    I tried to switch off language correction feature, prediction and hardware acceleration and the problem seams gone
    I suspect the default language correction

    with Caps lock on (big case letters) I experience no issues with default chrome settings
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2019
  7. liba

    liba Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2016
    Posts:
    344
    Are you thinking of improving OW Shredder?
     
  8. hsdev

    hsdev Developer

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    Posts:
    101
    @lucd At the moment the public version of Ghostpress is the only program we offer which is not officially supported in VMs for now.

    @liba OW Shredder 7 is in development since more than one year. New UI, new security related features, proofable erase reports, ... If all tests are successful it might get released in Q4 '19.
     
  9. lucd

    lucd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Posts:
    445
    Location:
    Island of Woman
    @hsdev

    I am trying to say that the same happens without a VM
     
  10. hsdev

    hsdev Developer

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    Posts:
    101
  11. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,226
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    When enabled I can't play some computer games, my character can't move or change weapons or anything.
     
  12. hsdev

    hsdev Developer

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    Posts:
    101
    @cheater87 Simply add an exception to play normally.
     
  13. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    36,422
    Ghost Press v2.2 (January 2020)
    Website
    https://schiffer.tech/software/ghostpress/changelog.txt
    Version 2.2
    +Winlogon support
    +Added warning for invalid language data folder
    +Settings file manipulation warning (importing settings from v2.1 or earlier will trigger a false detection once)
    +New hidden feature to force basic support only
    #SearchUI (pressing Windows button) is no longer detected for whitelisting
    #Improved bug handling
    #Possible restart bug on ultra high-end devices fixed
    #Whitelist switch delay reduced
    #Notify icon elevate duplicate fix
    #Removed Windows Vista from manifest
    #Updated global exception handler
    #Fixed handling with disabled Aero
    #German translation improved
    #Fixed reenabling issue
    #Minor UI improvements
    #Whitelist no longer enforces lower case characters
    #Fixed crash clicking in the whitelist tab
    #Fixed rare key press crash
     
  14. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,283
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Downloaded from MajorGeeks, too many 'complaints' from dev's site ...
     
  15. lucd

    lucd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Posts:
    445
    Location:
    Island of Woman
    @hsdev

    hi I have a problem in that the ghostpress screen protection does not protect multiple monitors configs very well, it protects whatever windows appears "active" while leaving the passive one on which nothing is being done unprotected
    on the contrary the screenwings does the job really well protecting all monitors it detects easily
    for this reason I think it should be possible for you to fix the multiple monitors not being protected against screen grab with ghostpress product too
    best
     
  16. hsdev

    hsdev Developer

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    Posts:
    101
    @lucd Ghostpress is meant to protect the current window only in order to protect e.g. e-mails for log-ins.
     
  17. lucd

    lucd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Posts:
    445
    Location:
    Island of Woman
    @hsdev I understand but please re-consider if you find time, as I consider this feature to be a flaw, imagine I am logging in on 1 window but have important information on another (2nd window)
    such defence technique would work very well on mobile but on PC leaves a window of opportunity to an attacker (he can eavesdrop installed programs, documents etc.)
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2020
  18. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,806
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    FYI, Malwarebytes Browser Guard blocks the product page.
     
  19. Azure Phoenix

    Azure Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Posts:
    1,262
    You could just use Screenwing
    https://schiffer.tech/screenwings.html
     
  20. lucd

    lucd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Posts:
    445
    Location:
    Island of Woman
    I can't, I get
    "this program was manipulated by third party" and it crashes and it restarts back, I got the same on 3 pcs so I am beginning to suspect its not entirely my fault (screenwings)
    I even ruled out a virus infection since I got my pc assembled at the store with fresh OS, its probably some kind of comp. issue with other programs
    I need a free key encryption software, keyscrambler doesn't work with simplewall version 3.1+, zemana free antilogger is a bit problematic, since the cursor will spin in most applications so I am left with ghostpress
    ghostpress seams ok, I don't get the manipulated by third party error, exept some flaws mentioned in this thread, like comp. issue with kingosft office products and protecting only 1 "active" windows which is in my opinion a flaw
    that said I very thankful to the author for making this programme, as there is no such thing on the market right now, other stuff is either paid or "outdated"
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2020
  21. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    938
    Hi @ Wilders/Ghostpress

    Win 10 v1909 x64bit

    Just installed Ghostpress and ticked all the boxes for security.

    I regularly run AdwCleaner and shortly after installing Ghostpress, Adwcleaner picked up two PUP.OPTIONAL.LEGACY registry items, as per the attached image.

    I was surprised because a day earlier I had run AdwCleaner and no results, so I immediately suspected Ghostpress. I removed Ghostpress and did a registry scan to remove residual reg items. Then re-ran an AdwCleaner scan. There were no registry items related to utilman.exe.

    I then re-installed Ghostpress and re-ran again AdwCleaner. Sure enough the two utilman.exe registry items had reappeared.

    So my question to the community and to HDEV is do I have a problem?

    Or more directly, does Ghostpress have a problem. Simply put, security software should not be under any kind of suspicion like the harbouring of PUP software?

    Terry
     

    Attached Files:

  22. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    938
    Obviously not a mainstream product, no support, so I uninstalled it!

    Terry
     
  23. lucd

    lucd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Posts:
    445
    Location:
    Island of Woman
    @TerrryWood there are plenty of non-man stream products on the forum, that alone is not the reason

    I get the utilman too, but maybe because you opted for winlogon support, and utilman is responsible for passwords, Windows logons and accessibility services, the author could reply about this though to make us feel better, alot of them files here are flagged as malware which highly likely is an fp and most security products behave like malware

    file characteristics of ghostpress.exe:
    Spyware
    Hooks API calls
    Fingerprint
    Queries firmware table information (may be used to fingerprint/evade)
    Queries kernel debugger information
    Queries process information
    Reads the active computer name
    Reads the cryptographic machine GUID
    Reads the system/video BIOS version
    Evasive
    The input sample contains a known anti-VM trick
    Tries to sleep for a long time (more than two minutes)

    It can just mean it is a good antilogger, and api hooks are normal for this kind of software
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 21, 2020
  24. Rohin

    Rohin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    For some reason, whenever I press the equal (=) sign on my keyboard, ghost press blocks it and only inserts plus signs (+), this does not happen with any other special character keys, which is very strange.
     
  25. lucd

    lucd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Posts:
    445
    Location:
    Island of Woman
    Have identical problems with + = (they are shifted with ghostpress enabled) , on top of that u won't be able to play games (move your avatar) or write stuff in kingsoft office products, ghostpress can be enabled when u are about to input a password on a website and on 1 monitor since it protects only the "active" window (1 monitor)
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2020
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.