Getting Windows Updates without IE

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by luciddream, Sep 24, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,497
    Is there a way to accomplish this? I'd like to uninstall IE altogether, but am afraid I won't be able to get Windows Updates anymore. It's the only reason I ever use IE anymore.

    After doing a search I saw this site recommended to do it:

    https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/default.aspx

    But I don't see where you can actually accomplish it here. When I click on "Windows Updates" on that page it says you must add it to your trusted sites in IE. But... I won't have IE to do that.

    Then it says to allow scripts, because that's the only way it can determine what updates you already have, and therefore which ones you need. But if I do that, again, it simply states that you need IE5 or above for it to work. Then gives you a link that takes you right back to that page I linked above.

    So is there a way/place I can get all future critical updates, with the assumption that I already have all of them up till now (which I do)? Using Firefox. Something besides enabling automatic updating. I don't want that running all the time in the background. I guess I could just enable it on "update Tuesday", get my updates, then disable it again for the next 30 days. But I'd prefer another solution.

    Any advice is much appreciated.
     
  2. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    The first thing I do when I format my laptop is to uninstall IE through the Control Panel, sure that might not be really uninstalling it but rather disabling it, but at least I never see it again.....EVER....

    Firefox pwns IE an Chrome due to its interface, much better bookmarks manager, better extensions

    I love Chrome's speed but the fact that its bookmarks manager sucks so bad I stopped using it. Take for instance, if you have a long list of bookmarks, try scrolling with your mouse wheel to the bottom of your boomarks list and see how slow it is :(

    In Firefox, it just flies, that is just one example of the reasons I hate Chrome's interface
     
  3. Mman79

    Mman79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    2,016
    Location:
    North America
    I..don't believe anyone was asking what browser was better, Berryracer. Lucid, I'm not entirely sure you can do that in XP, at least not for any future updates (the very few that may be released that is.). I do know you can use something like NLite for offline updates, but I'm not sure how that really works anymore as I haven't been on XP in ages.

    I personally think it'll be easier just to keep IE around and, as you already are, only using it for that.
     
  4. allizomeniz

    allizomeniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    904
    First, I think you'd need Active X for Firefox. FF doesn't normally use AX but there's a recommended plugin called Esker ActiveX Plug-In. I did a brief search to see what I could find out about it but didn't find much. It might work if you can find it and learn how to use it. I think there might also be a couple of other files you'd need. Whenever you use the Windows Update website it says "checking to see if you have the latest updating software for use with this site." I don't know what it is or how to configure FF so it could use it though. I think the two keys for making it work are the updating software and AX. I'd just use IE. :D
     
  5. Mman79

    Mman79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    2,016
    Location:
    North America
    My very brief looking around on Google for Active X and Firefox is showing me that Active X is simply a no-go in current versions, and this Esker solution seems to be long dead going by its Yahoo group.
     
  6. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,497
    I really appreciate the feedback. I wonder if automatic updating would even work with IE uninstalled? It may depend on internet options for IE to connect that would then be non-existent?

    If automatic updating does still work without IE, I think I will remove it and just turn auto update on on "update Tuesday", let it give me what I need, then turn it off again for the next 30 days.

    I'm just kind of anal about only having things on my box that I need/use. OCD about it, even ;)
     
  7. Mman79

    Mman79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    2,016
    Location:
    North America
    This may not be the exact answer you were needing, but http://www.msfn.org/board/topic/154809-xp-loaded-without-ie-will-auto-updates-still-be-available/ talks about the possible risks of not having IE there. Again, I've not tried to do updates without IE, but it's looking to me like it's just not something worth the effort and possible mess-ups. I completely understand not wanting excess programs installed, but this particular situation looks like one of those times you may just have to deal with it. :)
     
  8. MikeBCda

    MikeBCda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Posts:
    1,627
    Location:
    southern Ont. Canada
    Unfortunately, since even after all these years of complaints IE is still heavily integrated with the Win OS (at least up to and including XP, I haven't yet played with any of the newer ones), you're probably stuck with doing what I do, opening IE only for MS Updates and using a different browser for everything else.

    There's a fair bit of software around (including, e.g., avast a-v) in which some of their functions use parts of the IE "engine", even though the browser's never actually opened. So totally aside from removing IE, if possible, being messy and a pita, its removal could result in improper functioning of some other software.
     
  9. lotuseclat79

    lotuseclat79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,097
    I used to run WinXP Pro w/SP2, and there used to be a website where you could download the updates - but, I think M$ stopped allowing them to be distributed by any other way than through the use of M$ Explorer at the Windows Updates web page.

    -- Tom
     
  10. PhantomPhenix

    PhantomPhenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Posts:
    29
    Windows Updates Downloader

    -http://www.windowsupdatesdownloader.com/Default.aspx
     
  11. lurker20

    lurker20 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Posts:
    53
    Can be done by M$ way

    1) After performing a fresh install of xp, Install the latest windows update agent for xp either from
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/949104
    Or via Internet explorer windows update page and restart pc

    2) IE can be removed now;)

    3) control panel->Automatic updates->Automatic (recommended) and set the current time

    wilders.PNG

    4) Click apply and change it back to notify me and dont download to get the list and choose the updates to install.

    Note: Look for yellow shield in the system tray

    Hope this helps
     
  12. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,497
    Thanks Phantom & lurker. I figured there had to be a way. I'll look into both methods and test them out over the next 2 update Tuesdays to see if they work out for me. If so, it's bye bye IE on this box...
     
  13. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  14. lurkingatu2

    lurkingatu2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Posts:
    22
    Location:
    Oregon
    in firefox 15.0.1 i can get to Microsoft updates using this IE Tab extension


    Firefox add-in runs Microsoft Update like IE

    Scott Dunn’s article asserted that IE 7 is a requirement in order to run Microsoft Update. (MU is a Windows Update superset that patches Microsoft Office in addition to Windows itself.)
    However, Ramona Lane sends this useful tip:

    “There is an ‘IE Tab’ extension that lets Firefox users update with the Windows Update feature. The IE Tab extension is located at the Mozilla add-ons site.”

    The IE Tab extension lets you switch between Firefox and IE rendering. Once installed, I had no trouble using the IE Tab add-on to run Microsoft Update.
    According to Mozilla’s Web site, the IE Tab works with Firefox versions 1.5 through 3.0a5. I used it with 2.0.0.6.

    http://windowssecrets.com/known-issues/how-to-run-microsoft-update-using-firefox/


    :)
     

    Attached Files:

  15. lurker20

    lurker20 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Posts:
    53
    Does ietab for firefox works even after removing ie from xp?
     
  16. lurkingatu2

    lurkingatu2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Posts:
    22
    Location:
    Oregon
    ok i made a virtual machine of Win Xp Home Sp3 all up to date installed Firefox 15.0.1
    added IE Tab's

    uninstalled Ie 8 from add/remove in control panel then from add/remove windows components
    i removed Ie 7

    then went to Windows update with Firefox to get updates and it works it lets me get updates

    it also has security updates listed for Ie 6 so you must still need to patch it

    :)
     

    Attached Files:

  17. lurker20

    lurker20 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Posts:
    53
    Thanks lurkingatu2 for your effort in testing this. I hope the op appreciates this too.

    I think the op would want to remove the ie6 too.

    Removing ie6: Oh boy! :eek: atleast disabling ie8 in win7 is easy.

    I think the ie-tab for firefox uses the ie related dll files. I d rather block ie with whatever security software I have
     
  18. garry35

    garry35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Posts:
    329
  19. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,497
    This is what I love about this site. I start this thread half expecting there to be no remedy to the situation, and not only fine one, but several. I knew that if there was a way, a Wilders member would know it.

    Major props to everyone that contributed to this thread.
     
  20. Dundertaker

    Dundertaker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Posts:
    385
    Location:
    Land of the Mer Lion
    As of the moment this is what I do also.

    Is there a setting to chose what to download and what to install using this app?

    Thanks to lucid for this post. Actually some office friends are asking also.
     
  21. garry35

    garry35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Posts:
    329
    yeah when you install the WDU program it points you to the website where you can choose which version of windows you want updates for, install a small file which when run opens WDU and grabs a list for the windows version you selected.

    from there you can choose which you want and press the download button to download your selection. these can then be either installed or copied to an external drive etc....
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.