Getting OS Selector to discover an already existing OS

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by Hartelius, Aug 4, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hartelius

Hartelius Registered Member

I'm new to Acronis programs so you have to excuse me if my question seems a bit basic.

In earlier versions of OS Selector there was a OS Detection Wizard "for manual addition of operating systems that Acronis OS Selector could not detect automatically". (At least this is what the documentation says, I haven't actually used any earlier versions).

The OS Detection Wizard may or may not have been replaced by the following information in the documentation "DiskDirector.pdf", I honestly can't tell.

...and a bit further down...

I'm not sure that I understand the text above and even if I did I don't think it's the way I would like to perform this task.

I think there are several problems with the manual's suggested way.

1. It seems to deal only with Windows OS installations.
    2. It seems to assume that the installation of an OS will be a continuous and problem free process which it, at least in my experience, seldom is.
    3. It does not take into account an already installed OS.
    4. It does not, as a consequence of 3, take into account a cloned OS.
    I'll give you a short description of how I go about things and what I want the OS selector to do.

• When I install a OS I prefer to do it in a "minimized environment", i.e. I disconnect all other hard disks and place the remaining one as the master on the primary channel. This might not be necessary, but at least I think few OS will refuse to be installed with that configuration.
    • Then I install the OS, which often takes more than one attempt.:)
    • When I'm happy with the installation I reconnect the other hard disks to see if there are any conflicts or problems with the new setup.