Getting cursor freeze on fairly fast machine.

Discussion in 'hardware' started by kennyboy, Dec 5, 2014.

  1. kennyboy

    kennyboy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Posts:
    404
    Machine specs:- Intel i5 Quad Core. 8GB Ram. 128GB SSD main drive running Win 7.

    I am running a trading platform on the above machine, with little else running apart from security stuff.

    When running just 1 chart or 20 charts the CPU usage is 10-20% and Ram stays about 50% used.

    Problem is mouse cursor freezes or lags behind mouse movement by an unusable amount - a question of ~5 second between moving mouse and cursor following. Same with clicking on an icon - big delay between click and action. There do not appear to be any spikes in either CPU usage or RAM, so the figures above should be a good guide.
    All other software is running well, with no delays, so this particular platform seems to be the problem, but as it is important to me, I would like to find a solution.

    Any help appreciated.
     
  2. subhrobhandari

    subhrobhandari Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    708
    Look at the mouse manufacturer's website to see if there are any driver/software for your model. If available install and see what happens. Do you have this mouse recently installed?
     
  3. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,046
    Location:
    USA
    Agreed. Check for driver updates. Sounds like a bad driver or bad RAM.
     
  4. kennyboy

    kennyboy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Posts:
    404
    Thank you both for the replies. I will look into those things.

    Same happens with different mice, but it is worth a try.
     
  5. Veeshush

    Veeshush Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Posts:
    643
    Oh, I think I know. It could be your hardware idling. Just to see, set it your Power Options to High Performance: http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/9090/learning-windows-7-manage-power-settings

    What happens sometimes is your machine will downclock when it's idle (so it'll be "slower", the cpu will downclock, ram will downclock, etc) and then when you move the mouse it has to rev up again. Worth a shot to see if changing that helps.

    Else could also just be that trading platform, or maybe it doesn't run great with whatever security settings or software is running while its running. Could also try disabling other software/settings and see.
     
  6. kennyboy

    kennyboy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Posts:
    404
    Many thanks for your postings. I will look into all the options you have offered.

    Appreciate your input.
     
Loading...